Customer Reviews for

Let the Right One in

Average Rating 4.5
( 323 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A Vampire Story with a Twist

I absolutely loved this book! The plot is gut-wrenching, funny, scary, and tragic. It is an unexpected tale of vampires, love, and revenge. I have spent hours discussing it with friends who have read it as well.

posted by Bella_Quileute on November 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Investment of time with no return

I started off liking this story of the underdog who is bullied in school. Twists, turns, too many characters who I grew not to like or care about made me anxious for the book to end. I was determined to finish this since I had put so much time into it, but didn't find...
I started off liking this story of the underdog who is bullied in school. Twists, turns, too many characters who I grew not to like or care about made me anxious for the book to end. I was determined to finish this since I had put so much time into it, but didn't find it very satisfying in the final pages. Odd, disturbing, and uncomfortable reading.

posted by ba5080 on February 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Vampire Story with a Twist

    I absolutely loved this book! The plot is gut-wrenching, funny, scary, and tragic. It is an unexpected tale of vampires, love, and revenge. I have spent hours discussing it with friends who have read it as well.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    New and Unusual, but Well Worth It

    Noted as the Swedish Stephen King, Lindgvist absolutely fits the role. A new brand of vampire traits with a refreshing dose of family discord for every character. Alternating perspectives helps the story move along (although a little confusing at first) so the author easily prevents himself from getting trapped in first-perspective like so many first-time authors do. Character development and the effects of one character on another needs just a little, teensy-tiny bit of improvement, and also some explination on Eli's past. (It hinted and gave parts, but not the whole story. And the blond gentleman after Eli drank some bad blood? Hmm ... <BR/><BR/>Worthy of a sequal, worthy of re-reading, worthy to pass on to a friend. I highly recommend this for Stephen King, adventure, and horror fans. Maybe even for the ones who like to curl with with a good thriller on a rainy night.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    thrilling

    For those of us who are tired of bella/edward/unrequited love, this book is the ultimate vampire story. Oskar is a 12 year old boy who is picked on by bullies at his school. Without friends, he relies on his imagination for entertainment. However, Oskar is about to make the best friend of his life who is an unlikely creature with a dark secret. I read this book in 3 days because I could not put it down. Due to some graphic scenes, I would not recommend this book for younger children. But Let the Right One in is definitely a must-read.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not Another Regrettable Vampire Tale

    There are far too many carelessly written vampire books with no substance available today. This book is the farthest thing from those. While we the reader know Eli is a vampire, it is barely mentioned until the last third of the book. From the first page to the last, there is never a moment where you want to stop reading. It tells the story through various lives, so you are never stuck with one viewpoint. For those of you wondering, it sticks to the classic vampire rules told in Bram Stoker and Anne Rice. No sparkling nonsense. This is the first book I have read in awhile I have been completely satisfied with. It's thrilling, dramatic and at points, utterly gruesome. Not a waste of money, if you want a good, chilling read.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Vampire Classic

    This novel should redefine the vampire genre. It is up there with Interview with the Vampire (Rice) and Dracula (Stoker).
    It is brilliantly written, plotted. Thanks to this amazing translation it flows smoothly, I'm sure due to the fact that the Sweedish author knows how to tell a tale and not get stuck in the horror of it all, but in the human element of all involved including the "little girl" Eli. The portrayal of Oskar is heartbreaking. The portrayal of Eli is so realistic you can't help but empathize with her predicament.

    This novel is so well written that the sinister aspect of it is lost in the vivid characterization and the gentle way the author has of dealing with the protagonists.

    It truly is a great novel. One of the best, if not the best novels I have ever read. As for the genre of horror/vampire it is way above the current tripe that is being peddled in this genre.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally!!

    This book was one of the best ones I have ever read. It is haunting story that tells of the life of Oskar, a twlve year old boy that is picked on in most of the novel in desturbing ways. He meets a girl who just moved in next door , Eli. Oskar sees something in Eli, a kind gentle sparkle almost, but she proves to be a vampire. Eli's arrival coincide with a series of brutal death's in Okarks suburban swedish town that twists the life of many people in the town, especially El's "father" who goes out into the night to get blood and feed Eli. Despite it all Okar and Eli share a bond that goes beyond the elements of any romance novel. The novel is written in a very real narrative that explores the bleak side of life and its triumphs, but also maintains a gripping horror novel that is unretellingly profound.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    Exciting, Intelligent, Moving

    This novel is unique. It shows the absolute worst of human nature and the best. It scares you to death, makes you think, and touches you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A thinking man's "Twilight"

    John Lindqvist has written a great vampire story, which the film of the same name was adapated from. It contains a boy's torment in school that we've all experienced and his first love, but Oskar doesn't know right off that Eli (Elee) is a vampire. If you've seen the film fist as I have, read the novel to compare, It even has a section of how Eli became a vampire which I won't spoil here. It's a brilliant novel full of real characters and has what every novel needs; conflict, action and suspense. Read it and you'll see what a great book it is. So is the film.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Let the Right one In is one of the best films and greatest horror stories that I've had the pleasure to read

    I guess since I saw the movie first there was no spoiler alerts besides the a couple plot points that hopefully the English remake to this Swedish horror classic.<BR/><BR/> Its about 472 pages and even though you might be tempted to skim alittle since it might just sag in a place or two but if your into horror, romance, and a bit of undead (who is'nt?) then this is an absolute must read. The movie was one of the best films of 2008 and I must say the the book does it justice_or vice-versa.<BR/><BR/> I can talk all day or you can just buy this peice literature that will melt your heart and curl your toes at the same time.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    Extraordinary read!

    This book was recommended by a B&N employee and I absolutely loved it. Such a different take on the vampire story. With all of the vampire books that are out now it's a refreshing plot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    suspense from beginning to end

    This book is absolutely superb. I first watched the movie after reading the rave reviews it received during the Cannes Film Festival. I was drawn to the book because some back story & character relationships were cut out of the movie. For instance, the book explored the relationship between Hakan & Eli, the local drunks, the police officer, and Eli's vampire origins. The book also delved deeper into Oskar's lonely existence & the budding relationship between he & Eli. Superb story!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My fave book of the year!

    Excellent, Excellent, Excellent! Definitely a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    awesome

    i read this because i really liked the movie. the book is just as awesome as the movie, but with some extra info. it was a bit graphic at some points, so i wouldn't recommend it for anyone younger than 16. It was an amazing book, though!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read.

    An interesting point of view of vampires. A sad and poignant story of two young people, who meet, and develop an unusual relationship.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Oohmqq

    I love this book
    its one of my fav.
    Its an oriqinal.
    its a weird book. But thats why i love it.
    I love Oskar.
    i thinkk the piss ball thinq is hilarious.
    my friend toldd me to read it.
    at first i wasnt sure.
    but i ended up lovinqq it.
    I definitly recommend this book.
    if your in to that weird, bloody, grusome, violent..sort of thinq.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Let The Right One in

    This is a GREAT book to read if you LOVE Vampires stories.
    Charters are well writing. The book is very good.

    Are you read this book go see the movie it help alot.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THIS IS THE BEST QUIZZICAL VAMP BOOK I'VE READ!!

    THIS BOOK WAS SOOOOO.... GOOOD THAT I READ IT IN ABOUT 2 DAYS. AND THEN FOUND THE MOVIE WHICH WAS AWESOME, BUT THE BOOK ANSWERS SO MUCH MORE THAT THE MOVIE DIDNT THIS AUTHOR HAS A GREAT TALENT FOR ALL THAT IS NEEDED TO MAKE YOU WALK AROUND THINKING ABOUT WHAT YOU'VE JUST READ AND HE FIXES IT SO YOU CANT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN, AND IF YOU DO YOU THINK ABOUT IT UNTIL YOU PICK IT UP AGAIN. I WOULD TELL ANYBODY TO READ THIS BOOK ON ANY TYPE OF BOOK QUEST

    MAN I LOVE THIS BOOOK AND I WILL NOT SPOIL IT FOR THE READER OF THIS ENTRY BY TELLING ANYTHING.... I READ VAMPIRE BOOKS OF ALL SORTS FICTIONAL, HISTORICAL AND TRUE... AND THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST READ SINCE I DISCOVERED MS. RICE... SO CHECK IT OUT TODAY!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Horror Masterpiece!

    After watching the superb and masterfully directed adapted film, I was intrigued as to the quality of the original source material. The reason why the film is so dazzlingly brilliant is partly due to the over-all excellence of the book (along with the film Director's creative potency and remarkable restraint). This is a masterpiece of adult horror! It's well written, intriguing, thrillingly horrific, tragic, heart-breakingly sad and at times seductively repulsive. If you're a connoisseur of exceptional horror, you'll love this book (and the film). Be prepared for surprises.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best vampire novel

    This is a very dark and disturbing novel, but the best vampire novel I have ever read. It deals with very dark themes, from pedophilia, school bullying, to homosexuality. It is about a lonely and bullied boy being drawn to what seems like a young female vampire. It is sad and may make you depressed, but it is very well-written. Gory and thrilling. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Well written

    I found the book to be really engaging. I am really into vampire books so when I found out that the movie was actually a book I was really excited to read it. The book is told in several different perspectives so when I first starting reading it I was a little confused at first. However, once all the characters are introduced it really isn't hard to follow. There were parts that were disturbing, graphic, and bit bothersome so I wouldn't recommend it if you can't handle that kind of stuff. I thought the story was creative and quite different from other vampire stories. There were some twists in the book so it really keeps you on your feet. I couldn't put it down once I started to read the book. I would definitely recommend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9