Customer Reviews for

Lethal

Average Rating 4
( 401 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Can't wait

Sandra Brown is a master storyteller. I have loved each and every book and can't wait to read the next one

posted by thecollector0 on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A Big Disappointment!

What makes a writer of romance novels think that her readers, primarily women, want to read a story about violence to both women and children with a questionable hero and a very naive and souless supporting cast. For once, I found a Sandra Brown book very easy to put do...
What makes a writer of romance novels think that her readers, primarily women, want to read a story about violence to both women and children with a questionable hero and a very naive and souless supporting cast. For once, I found a Sandra Brown book very easy to put down and hard to pick up again. The only thing that kept me reading was the assurance that the book would end somewhat happily in a Shakespearen tragedy sort ot way. Even the ending left me feeling like we were deprived of at least a decent wrap up-how were Honor and Colton going to resolve their disparate life-styles, would they marry, where would they live, would Colton completely recover etc? Next time I will wait for the reviews before I run out and buy one of her books hot off the press.

posted by 732827 on September 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 403 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait

    Sandra Brown is a master storyteller. I have loved each and every book and can't wait to read the next one

    20 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    Another One of Her Great Books

    I loved this book. It's been a long time since I have read a book that I couldn't put it down. I like most of Sandra Browns books but this one is one of the better ones. Can't wait for the next one

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I absolutely loved this book! She is one of my top ten favorite authors. She is the master of tease - that name has followed her from critics, and this book is no different. I loved it, and was kept in complete suspense mode from beginning to end. I highly recommend it. All wonderful characters and superb dialogue!!!!!!!!!! I also Loved THE CHATEAU by C D Swanson. A masterpiece of suspense and twists and turns. This fairly newcomer, Swanson is already on my top ten list! She knows how to keep the reader riveted, and kept me guessing throughout the entire book. This should be a movie! LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    LETHAL By Sandra Brown

    When Honor Gillette's young daughter discovers an injured man in the front yard, Honor runs out to help. The man turns out to be Lee Coburn... accused of murdering 7 people the night before. Dangerous, desperate & armed, he promises Honor that she and her daugjter won't be hurt as long as she does everything he asks. Honor has no choice but to accept him at his word.

    This story takes many twists and turns... many of them difficult to follow at times. Many characters evolve, some with multiple identites. If you can sit down and read uninterrupted, the story isn't quite as confusing... however I found myself re-reading several chapters. Overall, it's a good read with a nice surprise ending. A bit expensive on the Nook... just a few dollars less than buying the hardback.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    A Big Disappointment!

    What makes a writer of romance novels think that her readers, primarily women, want to read a story about violence to both women and children with a questionable hero and a very naive and souless supporting cast. For once, I found a Sandra Brown book very easy to put down and hard to pick up again. The only thing that kept me reading was the assurance that the book would end somewhat happily in a Shakespearen tragedy sort ot way. Even the ending left me feeling like we were deprived of at least a decent wrap up-how were Honor and Colton going to resolve their disparate life-styles, would they marry, where would they live, would Colton completely recover etc? Next time I will wait for the reviews before I run out and buy one of her books hot off the press.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an exciting thriller written by a writer who always delivers a bestseller

    In Tambour, Louisiana, four year old Emily Gillette informs her mother Honor that a stranger dripping blood is in their yard. Assuming her daughter's imagination is running wild, the Widow Honor checks anyway. Holding a gun Lee Coburn is fleeing from the police who believe he killed seven people on a mass murder spree.

    Coburn searches her home hoping to find a clue left there by Honor's late husband Eddie a cop who dies in a car accident two years ago. He fails to find what he seeks. Eddie's father sends the cops to check on his granddaughter, but Coburn is already gone. However, he shoots a cop Fred who he swears to Honor was sent there by the Bookkeeper who runs illegal trafficking and owns the local police, including Coburn believes her husband.

    This is an exciting thriller that grips the audience from the moment Coburn points his gun at the frightened mom and never slows down even with some intriguing subplots involving other people. The entertaining story line is character driven by the mom who must decide between believing an accused mass murder who claims her late spouse was dirty and the cops including her husband she has known all her life. Although the tale follows the anticipated course, fans will enjoy the visit to Tambour, the Gulf and DC with Sandra Brown as the tour guide.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Very Disappointed

    I was soooo disappointed with the ending in this book. I will think twice before I buy another one of her books. This is the second book that I have read of hers where the ending sucks.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Don't buy it

    Great book rotton ending. The author sold out. Do not know if I will ever buy another book from her.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    This book starts off good but falls apart with the villain in th

    This book starts off good but falls apart with the villain in the story. Okay so she doesn't have to tell you if it's a male or female character but in the end it just doesn't make sense and the author does little to make it believable ( or to me at any rate ) I expect more from Sandra Brown with stories like Rainwater ......I loved that book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Disappointing!

    This is my least favorite book I've read by Sandra Brown. Even though I hadn't figured out who The Bookkeeper was, the whole plot was just sort of anticlimactic. Top it off with the fact that the ending was just stupid. I read it twice because I was sure I had missed something, but no. The ending is just dumb and disappointing. Overall, this book is a big letdown when I think about what I expect to read in a Sandra Brown book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No surprises

    You should have everything figured out by the half way mark.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Great book but very disappointed with the Ending.

    This was a great book, unable to put it down, but has the worst ending in all Sandra Brown books. Ms Brown you are loosing your touch.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Great read!

    As expected with any Sandra Brown novel, this was a great read with lots of twists and turns.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can love be hidden like a tattoo placed where no one can see it?

    Honor Gillette has to make a split-second decision that will save her and her four year old daughter from Lee Coburn an accussed mass murderer. He says he is a victim of circumstance but Honor's only concern is their safety and what he plans to do with the gun pointed at her head. Coburn's mission is to absolve hiimself of the crimes he did not commit and find something hidden in Honor's house.

    Whatever is driving Coburn to tear her house apart and terrorize her is nothing she knows anything about. Her late husband did not leave anything worth killing for and his death was accidental but Coburn begs to differ on all her accounts including the details she believes to be true about her late husband. As time goes by and more people wind up dead she starts to wonder who is telling the truth and who is pretending to.

    Coburn has both saved Honor and terrorized her, yet as Honor asks questions his answers begin to make more sense about what he is doing. Going on the run was never on anyone's to do list but staying ahead of the local authorities and the FBI is a challenge she is showing she is up for and proving she is worth the risk Coburn is taking by keeping her with him.

    As more people become involved in the manhunt for them, Coburn and Honor tear across the state in search of the key to unlock the secrets with absolutely no idea what they are looking for. The place they keep landing is her father in law's house and it is time for a showdown with him. Coburn believes the hunt for answers began there and will end there one way or another even if it involves tearing apart childhood dreams and momentos. But will Honor be able to protect her husband's reputation or is she helping Coburn prove him to be a dirty cop.

    Meetings are set up, shots are fired, cars explode and the person behind Coburn believes is behind everything the elusive "Bookkeeper" is still lurking in the shadows. The mysterious "Bookkeeper" can't be found or identified but has been sending out the orders and running this nightmare organization from burn phones and secured emails.

    Sandra Brown has proven year after year the incredible ability she has to write thrillers that draw you in and take you on a adventure. But this book far exceeds any in the past as it keeps you guessing as to who is the shadow boss, where is the key to the answers, and what is the motive behind all of this. Unbelievable barely scratches the surface of how great this book and when it all comes together you find yourself gasping with unexpected revelations. The only downside is Ms. Brown apparently likes to tease her fans with cliffhangers - which you have to read to understand.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Implausible/nonsensical villain & terrible lack of ending

    Excellent character development for Coburn & Honor, however, no matter how great two-thirds of this book was, the villain made absolutely no sense & the ending was an insulting "leave it up to your imagination". Really? If I wanted to leave it up to my imagination, I would have no reason to read the book. Storytelling includes a complete ending! I've been a devoted fan for years. Disappointing...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Totally rotten ending

    I am a loyal reader but was so let doen by the ending in this book. Really suprised she left us hanging this way. Read the last few pages twice thinking i missed something. Guess ill reread some of my faves....another dawn here i come!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    I dropped my rating from a 5 to a 3 purely because of the disapp

    I dropped my rating from a 5 to a 3 purely because of the disappointment at the ending of this book. I expected anything, something at the end of this great read, but I was left with nothing. I'm not a huge fan of becoming a part of a story and then left to come up w/ my own ending. If a writer is going to tell me a story, get me involved as Ms. Brown did, then please throw me a bone at the end - one sentence would suffice as another reviewer put it... then he saw them.. 4 little words could have made all the difference.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    Awesome!!! If you want a book with twists and turns that you can

    Awesome!!! If you want a book with twists and turns that you can't put down, this is the book for you. Even with all the action, drama and twists, the story is still believable and draws you in until you just can't stop reading. One of her best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    I normally enjoy Sandra Brown's books but her last two Tough Cus

    I normally enjoy Sandra Brown's books but her last two Tough Customer and Lethal have been a disappointment. The endings in both these books are terrible. I hope some future book holds a closure for these characters. I will be hesitant to buy another book written by Sanda Brown for fear she will leave me
    deprived of a decent ending once again..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Who says the end is bad???

    Loved it and I'm glad I didn't listen to the reviews I read. The book kept me reading all night and the end took nothing from it. Instead the end says, "anything is possible".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 403 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21