Customer Reviews for

Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls

Average Rating 4
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Sedaris with a twist

David Sedaris is at his usual level of fantastic with this book. In addition to being hilarious and thought provoking, I really felt like he was letting his guard down for the first time. There was some interesting, and I felt honest, insights into Sedaris' politics, ...
David Sedaris is at his usual level of fantastic with this book. In addition to being hilarious and thought provoking, I really felt like he was letting his guard down for the first time. There was some interesting, and I felt honest, insights into Sedaris' politics, beliefs and interpersonal relations that go a little deeper than in his previous books.

So not your book if you're easily offended by jabs at social norms and religion, or dislike same-sex relationships, Democrats or French people.

For the rest of us, it's awesome.

posted by wordfiend on May 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

M

I wish bn would put a stop to these kids using the nook as a playground for these stupid rp games. This is a book review site children. Take these stupid posts somewhere else. They do not belong here.

posted by 8888649 on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    M

    I wish bn would put a stop to these kids using the nook as a playground for these stupid rp games. This is a book review site children. Take these stupid posts somewhere else. They do not belong here.

    15 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    Sedaris with a twist

    David Sedaris is at his usual level of fantastic with this book. In addition to being hilarious and thought provoking, I really felt like he was letting his guard down for the first time. There was some interesting, and I felt honest, insights into Sedaris' politics, beliefs and interpersonal relations that go a little deeper than in his previous books.

    So not your book if you're easily offended by jabs at social norms and religion, or dislike same-sex relationships, Democrats or French people.

    For the rest of us, it's awesome.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    No diabetic humor in this. I bought the book thinking there migh

    No diabetic humor in this. I bought the book thinking there might be some. NONE.

    14 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    David is still a very funny writer but is starting to sound a li

    David is still a very funny writer but is starting to sound a little cranky. This is better than the squirrel book though. 

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    David Sedaris is a very witty writer. He has a grasp of subtle h

    David Sedaris is a very witty writer. He has a grasp of subtle humor not many writers have. I was tickled by his writing in this new book. I highly recommend this book.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Meh.

    I was so excited to get the newest from David Sedaris (his earlier memoirs are divine), that I unhesitatingly recommended it before reading it myself. That's the last time I do that. Although there were a few gems, I was ultimately underwhelmed and disappointed. Someone mentioned in another review that he's gotten too cranky - I'd have to agree - hyper-cynicism just isn't that funny, ironic or insightful; it's just cranky. Maybe he's running out of the kind of personal anecdotes that made his previous books so good...

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Sorry, I don't know how to say this any differently but, "T

    Sorry, I don't know how to say this any differently but, "This is a wet your pants" funny book. I've read all of his books and he is hilarious. No matter what he writes, I'll buy, because it makes your heart happy. Thanks David, keep writing.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I simply love David Sedaris' writing. He is one of the modern ma

    I simply love David Sedaris' writing. He is one of the modern masters of the written word. This book is funny and insightful.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is another great book by David Sedaris, one of my favorite

    This is another great book by David Sedaris, one of my favorite authors. The writing in this book is light and fun. I really enjoyed this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    It's hard to rank this new book. His best book was Naked and it'

    It's hard to rank this new book. His best book was Naked and it's been downhill from there. Still, on his worst day, Sedaris is a good writer. Other writers are just as good though but never get the press.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    I loved this book. It is one of those books you just have to re

    I loved this book. It is one of those books you just have to read little bits of out loud to others, cause you just can't help yourself!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Another great book by David Sedaris

    I love David Sedaris--I've been reading his books since high school--and if you've never read any of his books, stop reading this right now and go find one. This is another excellent book by one of my favorite authors; I'd highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good laugh.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    David Sedaris never disappoints

    Sadder than his previous books, a bit heartwrenching, actually. but every bit as insightful and hilarious as i have come to expect from David Sedaris.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Funny as ever. I love Sedaris and this is his best work yet.

    Funny as ever. I love Sedaris and this is his best work yet.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Cranky old man

    There really is a time when "cynical" becomes plain mean. You are a bitter and mean man Mr. Sadaris. A person's pain can ennoble, or cause greater empathy. Sorry to say you chose viciousness thinly cloaked as "humor." Dear reader, don't fall for reviews as I did. Choose something to bring a little joy, mystery, or humor to your life. You deserve more than this mock-humorous diatribe for your hard earned dollars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Liked other than long words

    Hello, I already know that I already posted a review, but there is something I left out in my pther review. I agree a little with written like a cranky man. I kind of think the same.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Written like a cranky old man.

    Written like a cranky old man.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    David Sedaris is GREAT!

    David Sedaris is so funny! I can relate to his life experiences.... He is so comical in his writing, and a can relate to the experiences in his life, and the way that parents were back then. His parents could have been mine. I'd love to meet him! I am not sure that everyone can relate...but I personally loved this book. .

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Another winner

    Great book. Funny as usual.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Sedarius Delivers Hilariously!

    A master of human observation and narrative twists, David Sedarius's narrative draws the reader in. One happily follows him through his adventures in dental hygiene (far more entertaining as he tells it than a mundane dental patient's recount) and further adventures in France. This is a delightful read. Vive Sedarius!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8