Customer Reviews for

Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls

Average Rating 4
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Sedaris with a twist

David Sedaris is at his usual level of fantastic with this book. In addition to being hilarious and thought provoking, I really felt like he was letting his guard down for the first time. There was some interesting, and I felt honest, insights into Sedaris' politics, ...
David Sedaris is at his usual level of fantastic with this book. In addition to being hilarious and thought provoking, I really felt like he was letting his guard down for the first time. There was some interesting, and I felt honest, insights into Sedaris' politics, beliefs and interpersonal relations that go a little deeper than in his previous books.

So not your book if you're easily offended by jabs at social norms and religion, or dislike same-sex relationships, Democrats or French people.

For the rest of us, it's awesome.

posted by wordfiend on May 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

No diabetic humor in this. I bought the book thinking there migh

No diabetic humor in this. I bought the book thinking there might be some. NONE.

posted by 324400 on May 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Funny as ever. I love Sedaris and this is his best work yet.

    Funny as ever. I love Sedaris and this is his best work yet.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Another winner

    Great book. Funny as usual.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Turtle

    Love David's searis

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    Great sense of humor,as biting as can be!

    Loved the writing and his take on life. Highly recommend. This book made me want to read his other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Don't let the title fool you

    Light hearted read with every chapter being new and refreshing. Many moments of laughter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Hilarious

    Great funny read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Good Book

    Love that he has created pieces that can be used for forensic(Speech) Competition!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Great read.

    He touched upon so many different stories and had me laughing at almost all of them. No one has stories quite like David Sedaris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Short stories are a literary genre wherein the author offers her

    Short stories are a literary genre wherein the author offers her/his vision of the world via a fictional tale created as a means to engage the imagination of the reader toward a truth to be told.  With essays, the author writes about a specific topic from his/her perception without creating any element of what is being observed and commented on.  Both short fiction and essay can easily be dull and listless. In the hands of a master, either can bring light to areas of life that are frightening, taboo, “not spoken of in polite circles,” or the merely mundane.  David Sedaris shows his mastery of both categories in this collection of essays, short stories and one poem. I read this book in a busy week, enjoyed the writings but I have no idea what the title means.  
    The twenty-six writings that make up this book are of a wide spectrum of topics.  Many of the writings reveal a political stance (it is NOT a political polemic however) spoken with a humorous point of view that serves to give the message (if such exists) of the particular issue to a razor sharp, barbed edge. In “Just a Quick E-Mail” Mr. Sedaris addresses the family dynamics that would serve as a precisely accurate definition of “dysfunctional” – hilarious as it is sickeningly plausible.  “#2 to Go” shows, among other essays in this book, Mr. Sedaris’s penchant for travel and what an education is gained when one enrolls in The School of World Travel.  “The Happy Place” magnifies the love a father has for his children and the rebellion children have in response both expressed in a truly intrusive manner.  None of the stories or essays is without humor and all have moments of depth that are surprising and stilling.
    There is (unneeded) adult language in some of the writings.  The use of such language did add desired emphasis at points while at other places its usage had the feel of being artificial, used for a purpose unknown to this reader.  The tone of the book, overall, is one of “hopeful cynicism;” I think Mr. Sedaris would sincerely identify with the late George Carlin in seeing a cynic as being a broken-hearted realist.  He speaks with arresting transparency of: his past history of with chemical dependence (he has been sober for 13 years, by his report), his family struggles and his loving relationship with his siblings.  He knows the heartaches and strength of being “different” in a seemingly every group.  He asks for not sympathy, demands no “quarter” and presents his foibles as he acceptable because he is human.  
    I had forgotten how enjoyable reading essays can be.  Reading (or hearing) David Sedaris is a trip into a mind that is sharp, witty, cutting and open.  Encountering such a person is an occasion to reflect on one’s own world in a new way.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Funny and entertaining

    A quick read, but funny still.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Apen

    Stalks in. "U dont dare advretise on our place again!" She hissed killing an owl that was coming by. She took it home to her camp. &starf &heartf

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    You won't miss anything passing on this one.

    There were a few parts that brought a chuckle but overall I will not rush out to read another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    Another winner by David Sedaris! His short stories can be funny

    Another winner by David Sedaris! His short stories can be funny or poignant, and sometimes both at the same time.

    Sometimes the change in narrator from story to story can be a bit jarring, particularly when they change from him to a woman, for example, or opposite ends of the political spectrum, but almost all are really good!

    This is not his best, but better than his last book, Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk. It's a good read; very funny, and very satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Love this little Nook Book...It is my first time to read his wor

    Love this little Nook Book...It is my first time to read his work...I did not find his tone "cranky" at all. I was intrigued by his writing. Enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Entertaining

    Love his work. So glad he came out with another book. It's been too long!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Read the sample and was not disappointed. Definitely buying it m

    Read the sample and was not disappointed. Definitely buying it much to my husband's chagrin. When I sit up reading in bed, my silent shaking laugh keeps him awake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'll be honest that it wasn't my favorite Sedaris book, but I st

    I'll be honest that it wasn't my favorite Sedaris book, but I still enjoyed it.  If you are a Sedaris fan, I think you will find this book worth your time.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Again, another good one by Sedaris.

    It is a relaxing, humorous read between thrillers, horrors, romance, and detective stories. I've read other Sedaris works and found only one to be disappointing; this definitely was not it.
    Leonard----------

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Liked it

    Enjoyed it a light lol read !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3