Customer Reviews for

Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls

Average Rating 4
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Sedaris with a twist

David Sedaris is at his usual level of fantastic with this book. In addition to being hilarious and thought provoking, I really felt like he was letting his guard down for the first time. There was some interesting, and I felt honest, insights into Sedaris' politics, ...
David Sedaris is at his usual level of fantastic with this book. In addition to being hilarious and thought provoking, I really felt like he was letting his guard down for the first time. There was some interesting, and I felt honest, insights into Sedaris' politics, beliefs and interpersonal relations that go a little deeper than in his previous books.

So not your book if you're easily offended by jabs at social norms and religion, or dislike same-sex relationships, Democrats or French people.

For the rest of us, it's awesome.

posted by wordfiend on May 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

No diabetic humor in this. I bought the book thinking there migh

No diabetic humor in this. I bought the book thinking there might be some. NONE.

posted by 324400 on May 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It's been too long since I've read a book by David Sedaris. I'd

    It's been too long since I've read a book by David Sedaris. I'd forgotten what a fabulous storyteller he is. The versatile, autobiographical essays in Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls tell of the things that lie beneath seemingly ordinary (and some not-so-ordinary) moments in our lives.

    "Think Differenter" was one of my favorites; a brilliant social commentary on our tendency to become obsessed with technology. And "I Break For Traditional Marriage" was a delightfully twisted, demented piece of satire reminiscent of Mark Twain's "The War Prayer" and Jonathan Swift's "A Modest Proposal." Even the essays which seemed to be simple, carefree memories eventually revealed themselves to be much more.

    Sedaris has a knack for honing in on the easy-to-miss contradictions and peculiarities of human nature, and his expat point of view gives his commentary an added perspective. Although Sedaris is known for his witty sarcasm, I felt that his manner of portraying the uglier side of society is handled without spite or too much cynicism. He helps us reflect inward, always while laughing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Fantastic read!

    I adore david sedaris and this book doesnt disappoint! With stories from new parenting styles to the healthcare reform, david reminds us to always take ourselves very seriously all while chonicling the days events in nonsecular sentences for the sake of laughing about it years later.

    He's awesome, and I want his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Aurorastar

    Runs in ((seriously too much drama))

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Cloverwind

    "Its my time my time. Tell everyone what happened."she mumbles and exhales for the last time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Hi ben YEAH! DIABETES ADVENTURES WITH OWLS! WOOOOOOOOOOOO *Dies

    Hi ben

    YEAH! DIABETES ADVENTURES WITH OWLS! WOOOOOOOOOOOO *Dies of Diabetes* Well poop fiddlestick alarrm siren sad face of displeasure.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    P

    L

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Another...

    Excellent book by Sedaris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    BARN OWL GROUP

    Nyra

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    outstanding

    short stories perfect for reading on the run
    or waiting in a doctor office
    very entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Loved it! I could hear David's voice in every word of this book.

    Loved it! I could hear David's voice in every word of this book. It is witty, funny and has such a clever slant on things that only David can bring. He paints such a raw picture of his experiences in his writing on human behavior and always seemed to demonstrate the irony of those around him. I laughed a lot during this book and so did my teenage sons and husband. We enjoyed every word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Somone please HELP

    Somone go to thirteenth unicorn and tell my friend alaska that its bella and to meet me here. Please somone help me i really need you to do this. Its an emergency!!!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Kept my interest all the way through!

    I love that this is actually narrated by David Sedaris himself, seems much more "believable!" We took this in our car on a cross country trip and never tired of hearing it. It's something that will last a long time, you can hear these short stories again and again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    I always love David Sedaris

    This book has a very different feel than the rest of them to me. I feel like he's a little consumed with his age and the writing seems to try and reflect that he's older now. It's still good writing and all, but it's a lot more serious than usual.

    I also got confused by two seemingly conflicting references to his mother's life and health. I plan to go back and figure out the confusion on my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Ummmm

    Can somebody tel me whatvthis book has to do with diabetes. Thnx please respond to pandababy again thank you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    hilarious as always

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Owl book pg.11

    Pg.11

    0 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4