Customer Reviews for

Let's Get It On

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    Can One Ever Truly Forgive & Forget?!!

    ¿Let's Get It On¿ is the first novel I've read by Ms. Cheris Hodges, and I'll admit that I was immediately CAUGHT UP in the drama of this story. Maurice Goings is easily lured into ALL the hype of being the SUPERSTAR sports jock on campus and allows his so-called friends and the hot groupie chicks to come between him and his girlfriend Kenya Taylor. One groupie chick in particular, Lauryn Michaels, turns his head and his heart, so that he foolishly breaks off his relationship with Kenya thinking that the lust he feels for Lauryn is actually love. Unable to deal with seeing Maurice and Lauryn together, Kenya leaves her hopes and dreams behind in order to start over at another college. Kenya runs away from the heartache and pain that Maurice has inflicted on her, but she's still unable to stop loving him. When fate puts them at the same resort in the Bahamas, Maurice is determined to prove he's changed and will NEVER hurt Kenya, again. Although, Kenya finally gives into the desires of her heart , and decides to FORGIVE Maurice, she still can't FORGET his involvement with Lauryn. She is CONSTANTLY waiting for Maurice to slip up, if not with Lauyrn, possibly with some other groupie chick that might turn his head and his heart, once AGAIN. Will Kenya EVER be able let go of the past and put her COMPLETE trust and faith in Maurice, so they can REBUILD their shattered dreams?!! ¿Let's Get It On¿ is an entertaining novel with an interesting cast of characters, and it is definitely full of many SHOCKING and SURPRISING twists and turns throughout. Unfortunately, at times I found the storyline a little slow, due to the repetitive dialogue, and the long time it takes to come to the much anticipated climax. Having said that, I still found this romance to be a worthwhile read full of some intense, UNEXPECTED emotionally-charged moments.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Cheris Hodges is another literary genius. I was so caught up in

    Cheris Hodges is another literary genius. I was so caught up in this book that forgot other things I had to do. The story is well told with believable and developed characters. This read had me wrapped up in the characters emotions so much that I had to laugh, cry and feel anger along with them. I am a fan of Cheris Hodge’s work and she always gives us a compelling read. I am again in awe of the talent of some writers and this author does not disappoint.

    Maurice and Kenya are characters that both have dominant personalities. Sometimes it takes an earth shattering event to make you go home again. They go through a roller coaster of emotions that make them come out stronger when the ride is over. They both have passionate personalities and the love scenes are off the chart. Please pick up this read and add it to your library ASAP! I highly recommend this read, it is definitely a 5 star read.

    Tasha, Divas of the Serengeti Book Club

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    Let's Get It On

    This book was so good when you pick this book up you will not be able to put the book down until you have finished. I couldn't complete my work because I wanted to finished the book. Kenya & Maurice have been childhood friend since forever. Kenya has been in love with Maurice since she was 9 years old but Maurice never didn't know. Through out the year Maurice feeling for Kenya has begin to change but he never acted on them until time for them to go to prom. Once Kenay & Maurice decided to become a couple she had already committed to going to the prom with someone else but only as a friend. Although comtinue to be a couple through high school and college in their last year of college something happen and they broke up. Kenya thought her and Maurice would be together forever but nothing last forever. Kenya became a lawyer and Maurice went on to play in the NFL. Maurice is at the height of his career and in the process of getting married. He has been with his finance for 9 yrs and are in the process of planning her wedding and she wants Maurice to propose to her on the air. Now mine you Kenya is still bitter and angry over the way things went down with her and Maurice and in the process Kenya has had her problem to deal with. The day of his wedding everything is going great until someone stop the wedding and leave Maurice standing at the alter. He then goes into a depression after every one as witness this and hiding out in his apartment. Everybody is worry about him until his brother James come to check on him and talk him into going on the honeymoon that was plan since it is non-refundable so him and James hopes a plane on there way. In the mean time Kenya has been offer a job offer that will take her back to the one place she does want to go North Carolina where Maurice still live, but before she accepts this offer she decided to go on a much needed vacation and guess who she runs into her first love. There are still SPARKS between them and after all this time Kenya realize that she is still in love with Maurice and never stop, and Maurice knows how much he hurt Kenya and for the longest he has wanted to tell her I sorry he was. Maurice realize early on that he had made a mistakes when he had Kenya had broken up in college. Maurice decided that he and Kenya deserve another chance and Maurice tries his best to let Kenya know this but she has trust issue when it come to Maurice and also the fact that his ex wants to pop back into his life. The ex does calls problem with them but in the end their LOVE IS STRONG. Can't give to much of the book away but you are going to love it and there are a few surprises as well. I recommend this book. Louise

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    The plot is pretty good. However, as others have said, the main

    The plot is pretty good. However, as others have said, the main character Kenya is the most indecisive insecure character I have ever read about. If she can't let go of something that happened a decade ago, she is in no shape to be in any relationship. She's too young to be so bitter. I lost count of how many times she went back and forth. I got so sick of her! The main male character in this book was genuinely sorry for what he did. It is so annoying for someone to say they forgive, but keep throwing your mistake in your face - and that is exactly what Kenya did. He's a good one, because after the third time, I would be through with her. If you don't want to forgive, fine, but stop misleading the poor man!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Shyfur

    Goldengaze?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Roseypaw

    A white she cat padded in and layed on the floor infront of Goldengaze. "Are you the tom who wanted to mate?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Goldengaze

    Whoops sorry bout that

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    Good. The back & forth of Kenya got now my nerves. Get it

    Good. The back & forth of Kenya got now my nerves. Get it together already. I just wish I would have know it was part of a "series" of books. I already know what happens to this couple. I just had to go back an read thier story. I am gald that I did. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Cool Read

    This book was pretty good. I loved me some Maurice! Kenya got on my nerves a little bit because she was so wishy washy. Overall, it was decent and definitely worth a rea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    So-so

    I loved the beginning, and that's where the love ended. The back and forth of her emotions drived me crazy. It was TOO MUCH and made the book drag on. There were plenty of times where I wanted to just stop reading but I wanted to see how the story ended. I like this author but this book is a "no-go".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Let,s get it on

    AWSOME!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2