Customer Reviews for

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Average Rating 4
( 638 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(400)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

BUY THIS BOOK!

No, seriously, if you want to laugh harder than you've ever laughed before in your life you need to read this book. Jenny Lawson AKA The Bloggess may not be the most important person ever, but she knows how to tell a story.

This book is highly enjoyable, fast-paced, ...
No, seriously, if you want to laugh harder than you've ever laughed before in your life you need to read this book. Jenny Lawson AKA The Bloggess may not be the most important person ever, but she knows how to tell a story.

This book is highly enjoyable, fast-paced, and hard to put down.

posted by Draeconeia on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

not quite as good as I anticipated it to be.

I 'liked' this book…I think Jenny is a good writer. I have enjoyed her Blog--The Bloggess, for quite awhile. There were some very wonderful vignettes in the pages of her book. I love the tales of childhood, her husband, odd family greatly peppered with her 'drunken sail...
I 'liked' this book…I think Jenny is a good writer. I have enjoyed her Blog--The Bloggess, for quite awhile. There were some very wonderful vignettes in the pages of her book. I love the tales of childhood, her husband, odd family greatly peppered with her 'drunken sailor' mouth but there were a few things lacking….such as the footnotes….uugh…. way to many references to her 'next book' and the leading you in paragraphs…such as …'don't read this if you don’t like_________, I'm there I bought/got the book..don't spend your or my time talking me out of it. Also (and I am going to blame the editors on this one) there were chapters that, as a reader, were clearly out of order. I guess I wanted MORE. Funny- yes…but somehow lacking, I thought it would be much MUCH more than her blog, but it is in effect mostly just a rehash of posts that I have already read. My recommendation is read her blog..and then if you want the stories that are there put into print, then buy the book. There is more than just the blog vignettes but, all in all, not quite as good as I anticipated it to be.

posted by Contessa-the-Countess on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 638 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 32
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Absolutely hysterical, at times sad, always human. Wonderful bo

    Absolutely hysterical, at times sad, always human. Wonderful book from a wonderful blog.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    This is absolutely the funniest book I've ever read. Jenny Lawso

    This is absolutely the funniest book I've ever read. Jenny Lawson is hysterical! Buy this and read it now. You won't regret it!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Literally laugh-out-loud funny!

    If you love The Bloggess (or just absurd, hilarious memoirs), you simply must read Jenny Lawson's book. I laughed until I cried. In the best possible way.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    I had high hopes for this book, primarily due to reviews I had r

    I had high hopes for this book, primarily due to reviews I had read online. Unfortunately my hopes were a bit too high and I found myself disappointed in most of the content. While there were funny parts that made me chuckle and even laugh out loud, the majority of the book left me bored and I found myself wanting to skip pages. I do plan on checking out the author's blog; perhaps I should have done that prior to reading the book. I wonder if I would have enjoyed it more if I was already an established fan of her writing?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    I am an avid reader and have NEVER laughed this hard reading a b

    I am an avid reader and have NEVER laughed this hard reading a book, EVER!! Jenny Lawson, or as I like to call her, "Jen", because after reading this book, I've appointed myself, her new best friend. ANYWAY, "Jen" writes in a way that makes you feel as though you are just sitting in a room with her having an amazing hilarious conversation.
    DO not read while sitting in a quiet waiting room, the library or at a funeral because you will be called a jerk for laughing out loud, or just plain crazy.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    FYI

    I LOVE TACO CABANA! I WORKED THERE! (For a couple months)

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    :)

    Jenny is awesome. For those of you giving a bad review over the F word clearly have no idea who she is. She is a woman who, though hilarious, struggles with a mental illness and is sharing her life with us. I love the fact that she is willing to..

    Basically, before purchasing the book, read her blog so you have "some" kind of idea who she is before you start bashing her for colorful language.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    LOL Funny

    I had to stop reading this book in public because I would breaking into hysterical laughter. Seriously funny.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    AMAZING

    Read this book

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I loved this book! I laughed out loud numerous times.

    I loved this book! I laughed out loud numerous times.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    What a piece of c--p!

    An insult to human intelligence. I read only GOOD literature; the description of this intrigued me, which I why I bought it. OMG. Horrible. Supposed to be hilarious; I never even cracked smile.

    3 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Waste of time and money

    So sorry I bought this insipid and poorly written book. The f-bombs notwithstanding, I found the frequent sentences beginning with "I'm all" intolerable. Haven't read her blog and don't plan to. Now I just have to figure out how to delete this from my nook!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Fortunately, I took the advice of another reviewer and read her

    Fortunately, I took the advice of another reviewer and read her blog before purchasing her book. Talented writer? Anyone who has to punctuate their sentences with F and S words to get a laugh has no talent. Not wasting my money on this piece of trash.Go take some Creative Writing classes, Jenny.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    I loved this book!! Laughed so hard I snorted milk out of my nos

    I loved this book!! Laughed so hard I snorted milk out of my nose. And I wasn't even drinking milk at the time. My favorite part - the squirrel. "nuff said.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    the funniest book everi

    This book was hilarious. I love her and wish I could hang out with her. This is the funniest damn book I have ever read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    if you like jenny lawson's blog you will love the book

    There were a few slow spots in the book, but generally, I found the humor and wittiness right up there with Jenny's blog. The only problem is if you read the blog religiously, there might be a lot of redundant material in the book. I am not sure. I don't keep up with any regular reading of anyone's blog.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Read, laugh, repeat...

    Its like Faulkner on crack (not that I know how crack affects stream of consciousness -- so proud of knowing how to spell that -- consciousness, not crack).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Loved it!

    This book is so worth the read. My friend and I both read it and we found ourselves calling each other to read particularly funny passages to each other.
    If you need a good laugh, read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Not Good!

    I did not care for this book. It jumped around too much & the smart alek tone was off-putting. I wouldn't waste my time reading this book if you haven't already bought it,

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    I could not stop laughing thru out the whole cook! I love it. I

    I could not stop laughing thru out the whole cook! I love it. If you are looking for a good book and you want to laugh, but this book. But if you're looking for a book that you can read quietly, like on a 10 min break at work, at your desk, this is not the book for those times!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 638 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 32