Customer Reviews for

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Average Rating 4
( 656 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(413)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

BUY THIS BOOK!

No, seriously, if you want to laugh harder than you've ever laughed before in your life you need to read this book. Jenny Lawson AKA The Bloggess may not be the most important person ever, but she knows how to tell a story.

This book is highly enjoyable, fast-paced, ...
No, seriously, if you want to laugh harder than you've ever laughed before in your life you need to read this book. Jenny Lawson AKA The Bloggess may not be the most important person ever, but she knows how to tell a story.

This book is highly enjoyable, fast-paced, and hard to put down.

posted by Draeconeia on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

not quite as good as I anticipated it to be.

I 'liked' this book…I think Jenny is a good writer. I have enjoyed her Blog--The Bloggess, for quite awhile. There were some very wonderful vignettes in the pages of her book. I love the tales of childhood, her husband, odd family greatly peppered with her 'drunken sail...
I 'liked' this book…I think Jenny is a good writer. I have enjoyed her Blog--The Bloggess, for quite awhile. There were some very wonderful vignettes in the pages of her book. I love the tales of childhood, her husband, odd family greatly peppered with her 'drunken sailor' mouth but there were a few things lacking….such as the footnotes….uugh…. way to many references to her 'next book' and the leading you in paragraphs…such as …'don't read this if you don’t like_________, I'm there I bought/got the book..don't spend your or my time talking me out of it. Also (and I am going to blame the editors on this one) there were chapters that, as a reader, were clearly out of order. I guess I wanted MORE. Funny- yes…but somehow lacking, I thought it would be much MUCH more than her blog, but it is in effect mostly just a rehash of posts that I have already read. My recommendation is read her blog..and then if you want the stories that are there put into print, then buy the book. There is more than just the blog vignettes but, all in all, not quite as good as I anticipated it to be.

posted by Contessa-the-Countess on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 413 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    BUY THIS BOOK!

    No, seriously, if you want to laugh harder than you've ever laughed before in your life you need to read this book. Jenny Lawson AKA The Bloggess may not be the most important person ever, but she knows how to tell a story.

    This book is highly enjoyable, fast-paced, and hard to put down.

    48 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Laughed so hard I almost hurt myself

    So. funny. I. almost. passed. out. laughing. Seriously, saw spots. Another time, I woke my husband up in bed cause I was suddenly braying like a donkey. Warning: Don't read next to a sleeping partner.

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A little bizarre and vulgar in places but over all hilarious! Wh

    A little bizarre and vulgar in places but over all hilarious! What an unusual life and strange childhood. They say most comedians come from an unhappy childhood or suffer an overwhelming shyness or some kind of affliction that they hide the pain behind their outrageous sense of humor in order to survive. She doesn’t feel sorry for herself, which I find terribly honorable. She accepts and moves on and doesn’t sit on her “pity potty”. This is one to keep on your bookshelf, ready to read again when you need a good dose of “pick me up” medicine! I loved this!!

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    HYSTERICAL!!!!

    Jenny Lawson is hysterical! I first read her blog about Beyonce and was so excited to get her book. She totally delivered. I was reading it on a plane and was laughing so hard that people did not know if I was laughing or crying because tears were rolling down my face. Cannot wait for the next one!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review (ARC) Before reading this book, I’d only heard

    Book Review (ARC)
    Before reading this book, I’d only heard of Jenny Lawson through one of the stories she posted. After reading this book, you had better believe I have her site, The Bloggess, bookmarked and am reading it often. This chick is freaking hilarious. Somehow she survived her childhood filled with wild animals that were brought home, both dead and alive, and she lived to tell the tale. It’s not just the circumstances she is thrown into or puts herself into, or just her outlook on things; it’s the combination of all of these things that makes the stories so funny. I feel for her husband, having to endure such strange conversations with Jenny, but at the same time I envy him because she is definitely keeping him on his toes and keeping their lives interesting. I laughed so hard I was crying only 30 pages or so into the book. An OCD raccoon will do that to a girl.

    I’ve already pushed this book onto one of our other reviewers and reiterated some of the stories to the other reviewers. No one is safe. I’ll be buying a copy of this book to reread when I need a laugh and also because the ARC version I read didn’t have the pictures that were referred to in the stories. Some of those you can see in the book trailer, but I think rereading it with the pictures intact will somehow make me able to give a 6 out of 5 rating instead of 5/5. Yep. She’s that funny.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    VeryExcited

    I am a big fan of Jenny Lawson. I love her work. Also I love and read The Bloggess like its my job. If this book is anything like her other blogs then im sure it will be in my (and many others) top 5 favorite books.

    10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Hilarious! I had only ever read one post by The Bloggess (Copern

    Hilarious!
    I had only ever read one post by The Bloggess (Copernicus the monkey. Google him) before buying this book. I have never done such a good job picking out a book before. I laughed until I cried. Such a great and funny read. She tries a little hard to be silly in some places but her inner dialogue in situations, fantastic. Loved it!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    If you can appreciate the absurdities of life BUY THIS BOOK!!

    I became a fan of the bloggess in 2009 and have been laughing and laughing through tears with her ever since. If you have ever laughed at something wildly inappropriate, or just laughed instead of cried at something in your life, then this book is for you. Jenny makes her readers feel like they are friends accompanying her on this very strange trip. You will not be dissapointed!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    You have to love a book that can have you laughing out loud one

    You have to love a book that can have you laughing out loud one moment and crying the next. Also, if an author has enough of a sense of humor to see a negative review as a positive thing, that's enough to endear them to me. When Jenny saw that someone said her friends would probably burn the book, she proudly declared that it's "Perfect for book burnings."

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Worth the wait

    So happy this book exists. Yay!

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Love love love

    Get ready to laugh out loud. Disturb the neighbors. Follow your husband around the house reading page after page. And feel as though your life is totally normal. Can't wait for book 2!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Absolutely hysterical, at times sad, always human. Wonderful bo

    Absolutely hysterical, at times sad, always human. Wonderful book from a wonderful blog.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    This is absolutely the funniest book I've ever read. Jenny Lawso

    This is absolutely the funniest book I've ever read. Jenny Lawson is hysterical! Buy this and read it now. You won't regret it!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Literally laugh-out-loud funny!

    If you love The Bloggess (or just absurd, hilarious memoirs), you simply must read Jenny Lawson's book. I laughed until I cried. In the best possible way.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    I am an avid reader and have NEVER laughed this hard reading a b

    I am an avid reader and have NEVER laughed this hard reading a book, EVER!! Jenny Lawson, or as I like to call her, "Jen", because after reading this book, I've appointed myself, her new best friend. ANYWAY, "Jen" writes in a way that makes you feel as though you are just sitting in a room with her having an amazing hilarious conversation.
    DO not read while sitting in a quiet waiting room, the library or at a funeral because you will be called a jerk for laughing out loud, or just plain crazy.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    FYI

    I LOVE TACO CABANA! I WORKED THERE! (For a couple months)

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    :)

    Jenny is awesome. For those of you giving a bad review over the F word clearly have no idea who she is. She is a woman who, though hilarious, struggles with a mental illness and is sharing her life with us. I love the fact that she is willing to..

    Basically, before purchasing the book, read her blog so you have "some" kind of idea who she is before you start bashing her for colorful language.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    LOL Funny

    I had to stop reading this book in public because I would breaking into hysterical laughter. Seriously funny.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    AMAZING

    Read this book

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I loved this book! I laughed out loud numerous times.

    I loved this book! I laughed out loud numerous times.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 413 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21