Customer Reviews for

Let's Roll!: Ordinary People, Extraordinary Courage

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING book

I had to read this book for school. So my first outward look at it was "GREATTT homework" & when i first started reading, I had a negitive mind set twards it. I also was stubborn about reading it becuase this assignment was due over the summer. While I was vacationing,...
I had to read this book for school. So my first outward look at it was "GREATTT homework" & when i first started reading, I had a negitive mind set twards it. I also was stubborn about reading it becuase this assignment was due over the summer. While I was vacationing, i started reading it more, and I was able to get away from the negitive people around me who were complaining about reading this book. I litterally COULD NOT put this book down. I told myselft "okay, this is the last chapter for right now" , but i just kept reading. After a few chapters, I would ball my eyes out. I can't explain why I did, but just the thought of such a wonderful mad dying to save our capital, & that broke my heart. I also thought of all the things his wife had to go through & how their children can't grow up with a daddy by their side.

Lately, I've been doing more reasearch on 9/11,mostly the United Flight 93 becuase that was the only plane to fight back ,because I was so little when it happened, that I don't even remember anything from that day. I've looked up videos, movies, and even some of the phone calls that were on the United Flight 93. I now realize how disrespectful it is to finish this book and state that it's "boring." I for one, thought this was an increadible book, after I changed my negitive mind set on it. If you can look at this book & realize that it is ACTUALLY true, and that thousands of people when through this, you will end up LOVING this book. You may even have blood shot eyes for crying so much.

I really hope you look into buying this book, becuase this is now one of my favorites:) Take care & enjoy!

posted by 9187399 on July 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Do not waste your time nor money....

This is the story of a greedy widow wanting to profit from her husbands death. Lisa Beamer is nothing but a rich widow who knew how to work the system and others into creating her husbsnd as a 9 11 hero thus an income generator. When all was done and she had profited ...
This is the story of a greedy widow wanting to profit from her husbands death. Lisa Beamer is nothing but a rich widow who knew how to work the system and others into creating her husbsnd as a 9 11 hero thus an income generator. When all was done and she had profited all she could from the tragedy...she disspeared from the public eye..bought herself a 2 million dollar beach house...and married again. Her story can be told by many 911 widows who did not exploit the public or her grief. All there husbands were just as her heroic as lisa beamers. Yet none of them made the millions off it she did.

posted by DAkaryn on September 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    AMAZING book

    I had to read this book for school. So my first outward look at it was "GREATTT homework" & when i first started reading, I had a negitive mind set twards it. I also was stubborn about reading it becuase this assignment was due over the summer. While I was vacationing, i started reading it more, and I was able to get away from the negitive people around me who were complaining about reading this book. I litterally COULD NOT put this book down. I told myselft "okay, this is the last chapter for right now" , but i just kept reading. After a few chapters, I would ball my eyes out. I can't explain why I did, but just the thought of such a wonderful mad dying to save our capital, & that broke my heart. I also thought of all the things his wife had to go through & how their children can't grow up with a daddy by their side.

    Lately, I've been doing more reasearch on 9/11,mostly the United Flight 93 becuase that was the only plane to fight back ,because I was so little when it happened, that I don't even remember anything from that day. I've looked up videos, movies, and even some of the phone calls that were on the United Flight 93. I now realize how disrespectful it is to finish this book and state that it's "boring." I for one, thought this was an increadible book, after I changed my negitive mind set on it. If you can look at this book & realize that it is ACTUALLY true, and that thousands of people when through this, you will end up LOVING this book. You may even have blood shot eyes for crying so much.

    I really hope you look into buying this book, becuase this is now one of my favorites:) Take care & enjoy!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    Changed My View On Life

    The book Let's Roll, written by Lisa Beamer, tells the story of the life and death of American Hero, Todd Beamer. Written in 2002, one year after Todd was killed in the unfathomable crash aboard Flight 93 on September 11, 2001, leaving behind his wife, two young boys, and a baby on the way. The book goes from Todd's childhood up until the dreadful call that he made as he and his fellow passengers aboard the flight rebelled against the four terrorists on the plane, planning to fly it straight into the nation's capital. Throughout the book, Lisa depicts how her faith in God helped her through the times when she thought she couldn't make it. Her book illustrates the disaster that happened on the flight that day, as well as the good things that came from it. Let's Roll is truly a book that will inspire all who read it. Todd Beamer's courage, faith, and bravery were shown through his everyday attitude all the way up until that plane went down in the middle of a field in Pennsylvania. His personal outlook on life was one that his peers looked up to in many different ways. I have been truly inspired by his family's way of living, through their dedication to their church, to their family, and to their community. I have learned from the approach that he decided to take in living his life, making time for his job, as well as balancing his time with family and the ones he loved, including the youth group at his church in which he and his wife were exceptionally involved in. Although he and his wife, Lisa, did not always see eye to eye when the family was supposed to come first, they worked it out, and in the end were able to realize what was supposed to ultimately come first. The biggest message shown in every aspect of the book is to trust God, because there is a reason for everything. Have confidence in Him, because in some way, He will follow through. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone, simply because it is an inspiring story that will make you open your eyes to see a different viewpoint on the life that you get the opportunity to live. Let's Roll is an easy book to read, and extremely hard to put down! If I were to rate this book, it would receive a five out of five stars, for its ability to depict the life of Todd Beamer and his family before and after flight 93 went down on the dreadful day of September 11, 2001.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Wow

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Great Book

    I read this book, but I got it from the library. It's a great story of heroism. You will enjoy it even though it's sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    MM

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    very awesome story

    awesome story about courage and strentgh for all who have had someone how had died on 9/11

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Wonderful

    I couldn't put book down!! I had' t read in years...you will be blessed reading this one . Granny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Triumphant!!!!!!!

    I borrowed this bookfromthe mpl i readit over night!i just admirelisas courage to go on through her daughter morgan todd is still with her eachandevery-to this dY i realizedhow a brokenphone saved my ownlife lisa i hope youwill beaninspirationtoothers especially thosewhomhave negativethoughts take a look at all thelivesthatwerelost and be thank full for eachandeceryday regina mont clairnj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Awesome

    Love the booook :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    It is very well written and tells of a family who looses the father due to the 9-11 terriorists attacks. It might well help others who have lost loved ones and are going thru the grieving process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Highly Recommend!

    Lisa Beamer tells us all who Todd was in his essential Christian character! His were qualities that saved Washington DC and the Congress a massive attack!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Courageous story by the wife of Todd Beamer, must read!

    Love story of Todd and Lisa Beamer. Todd, of course, was one of the courageous passengers on United 93 that fateful day, September 11, 2011. A must read for all of us that enjoy our freedom since that tragic day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Looks great!

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Extremely amazing

    9/11 was a terrible time for America. Let's Roll is an amazing story about what the family went through during that Tuesday. Also about who Todd was. A lot of facts in this book and I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Remember 9-11

    This book is awesome, the courage it took for Todd Beamer to do what he did was amazing. The story of his life leading up to the 9-11 tragedy was an insight into the man he was. It seemed more real to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Life Changing

    This book changed my feelings towards the men and woman that gave their life for my freedom. Once I read this book, it changed my attitude and I feel very blessed to know that their are still people who can give their life like that. Lisa Beamer is a true hero and did not deserve to lose her husband the way she did. I have no idea how she feels. Overall this book is a great one and I recommend it to those who really love America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Inspirational Life Changing Story

    Let's Roll is a true story that contains heartbreak, tragedy and grief but the end will encourage millions to find hope, strength and faith when faced with harsh times. A tale that will leave its readers inspired to demonstrate courage and trust in the Lord when confronted with the most desperate or drastic events. Written by Lisa Beamer, the wife of the American hero Todd Beamer, Let's Roll depicts what really occurred aboard the doomed United flight 93 on September 11, and events that lead up to that disastrous day. Lisa vividly describes Todd's coming of age, their marriage and life together, what took place on United flight 93 that saved the lives of many, and family events without Todd. Let's Roll is a story that tackles the theme of courage when placed in horrific situations. Throughout the book many of the real people are placed in unforgettable and often-unfathomable circumstances, but in the end always displayed courage. For example, the ordinary people aboard United flight 93-broadcasted extraordinary courage when they crashed their plane in order to interrupt its fated destination of the nation's capital. Lisa Beamer also never fails to illustrate courage, as she faces life without her beloved husband. A couple aspects of the story that I personally enjoyed was the real emotion that Lisa Beamer poured into her book, and her trust in the Lord to guide her and her family through the terrifying events that unfolded. It is these aspects that cause one to take a moment out of their busy life and question their own walk and faith in God, and by doing so allows the story to become more than words printed on paper but an experience to remember forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Highly recommended

    Once I began reading this was hard to put down. This was about men and women who were willing to do the right thing regardless of the situation. Lisa is an example of how God can give someone the strength to make it through horrific events and come through even stronger as a result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    WOW WHAT AN INSPIRATION!!!!

    wow. what an inspiration. this book is great. It really showed me how she felt and what she went through. If you are thinking on getting this book you should. You wont be let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2005

    Lets Roll

    Wow, What A Book! This book was truly an inspiration to me personally. It taught me how to keep strong in hard times and that even though tragic , everything happens for a reason. Once I started reading it I could not put it down, it just drew you closer and closer with each page you read. Right away in the 2nd chapter I felt like I knew Todd and Lisa Beamer, it was amazing at how calm she stayed throughout the book. The phone call from Todd to Lisa (who worked as a GTE Airfone Operator) really told a heroic story and a side of Todd that we all should look up to. It really got me thinking about how all those people¿s live were just as normal as ours until they walked onto that plane that day and didn¿t go down without a fight. Todd and the other passengers aboard Flight 93 saved dozen¿s if not hundreds of lives by taking the plane off course and not where the 4 men wanted to. It was unique how Lisa could re-call everything that had happened that year, month, day, and hour! It is truly an awesome book that renews your trust in god and to remember ¿Live Each Day To It¿s Fullest And Take Nothing For Granted¿. Thanks Lisa, Awesome Story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2