Customer Reviews for

Letter Perfect ( Book #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Letter Perfect

The death of her mother brings Ruth Caldwell's life into serious upheaval. In obedience to her mother's final wishes, she travels to California to live with the father she never knew. Unfortunately, when she arrives, she finds that he is dead and she may be heir to a p...
The death of her mother brings Ruth Caldwell's life into serious upheaval. In obedience to her mother's final wishes, she travels to California to live with the father she never knew. Unfortunately, when she arrives, she finds that he is dead and she may be heir to a part of the Broken P ranch. Joshua McCain has devoted his life to the success of the Broken P ranch and is part owner of the ranch. The revelation of Ruth Caldwell's existence gives her a claim to his ranch and at first, Joshua wants nothing more than to put her on a train and send her back East. To his dismay, Ruth proves to be a kind, sweet, admirable woman and Joshua can not help but be attracted to her. However, when her clumsiness begins to involve serious incidents, he begins to wonder if something sinister may be involved.

Letter Perfect is the struggle of one woman to move beyond her grief and the things of her past to embrace a future. The character of Ruth Caldwell is ridiculously clumsy and yet the author makes her seem perfectly authentic in the context of the story. The book contained just the right combination of mystery, humor, romance and culture to create a story that one will want to read over and over again.

posted by Sneezybee23 on June 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

OMG I LOVE THIS BOOOOK!!!!!!

Im 13 and i stole this book from my mother out of pure curiosity and it was the best thing ive evee done!!! Im a huge fan of Jane austen and all the older love stories nd this one did not dissapoint!!! READ IT!!!!! IT NOW!!!

posted by 10775436 on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Letter Perfect

    The death of her mother brings Ruth Caldwell's life into serious upheaval. In obedience to her mother's final wishes, she travels to California to live with the father she never knew. Unfortunately, when she arrives, she finds that he is dead and she may be heir to a part of the Broken P ranch. Joshua McCain has devoted his life to the success of the Broken P ranch and is part owner of the ranch. The revelation of Ruth Caldwell's existence gives her a claim to his ranch and at first, Joshua wants nothing more than to put her on a train and send her back East. To his dismay, Ruth proves to be a kind, sweet, admirable woman and Joshua can not help but be attracted to her. However, when her clumsiness begins to involve serious incidents, he begins to wonder if something sinister may be involved.

    Letter Perfect is the struggle of one woman to move beyond her grief and the things of her past to embrace a future. The character of Ruth Caldwell is ridiculously clumsy and yet the author makes her seem perfectly authentic in the context of the story. The book contained just the right combination of mystery, humor, romance and culture to create a story that one will want to read over and over again.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    I could not put this book down from the beginning until the end. There are a lot of lesson in life in this book, especially when we try to be something we were not created to be.... Look forward to reading more of Ms. Hake's books. This book was very exciting and unpredictable...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2006

    a fine whodunit with a warm romance inside an inspirational Americana tale

    In 1859 Ruth Caldwell has tried to live up to her mother¿s expectations that she become a refined lady, but all the klutzy woman has to show for her efforts is being thrown out of several finishing schools as a helpless cause. However, the return home to St. Louis is not filled with embarrassment over her latest failure instead she finds her beloved mother dying of consumption. Being a lady no longer matters as she becomes a caretaker and companion until her mom passes away six months later. Her mom¿s last dying wish was for Ruth to see her biological father in California.----------- Though she would rather not, Ruth adheres to her deathbed pledge only to find her dad dead too and she a part owner of the Broken P Ranch, along with her father¿s partner, the patriarch of the McCain brood. Josh McCain helped Ruth¿s father kick alcohol and to find the Lord. He wants Ruth to claim what is rightfully her, but someone thinks otherwise as she is the source of questionable accidents that he believes are deliberate Josh plans to keep her safe.--------------------- Cathy Marie Hake smoothly combines a fine whodunit with a warm romance inside an inspirational Americana tale. Ruth is a delightful protagonist trying to please others, but failing because she does not please herself that changes when she meets Josh, who ¿introduces¿ her to the Lord, love, and her late father. The support cast is solid while the villain is in plain sight but easily overlooked. Readers will enjoy this fine historical cozy that paints a picture of faith on several levels in God, in one¿s self and in one¿s soulmate.------------ Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Really nice read, funny, heartwarming...but a little rushed at t

    Really nice read, funny, heartwarming...but a little rushed at the end it seemed. And where did BANG come from? That one word, to describe something so pivotal to the book...just didn't fit the rest of the story.
    Overall, though, I'd recommend.   

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    GREAT BOOK

    Only wish there was more romance. I mean they only kiss once:(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Unexpected Pleasure

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I was suprised by how the suspense of the book couldn't be seen from a mile away (at least in my case). Great story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good read

    This was an enjoyable book all and all. For those of you who may know the other authors I read and adore, I would say this was similar to reading Mary Connealy. This was my first experience with Cathy Marie Hake and I look forward to reading more of her books in the future.



    I am not sure if it is the pregnancy hormones or things that need to be done, but I did not zip through this book. It took me a while to read it. When I was not with it, it did not call to me like some books where I think I will go crazy if I do not read the next page. However, I did like it overall.



    I laughed, thought about crying, got angry, and snickered too. This story contained a wealth of emotions and a good couple handful of humor. The characters were enjoyable and some detestable just as they should be. I saw clues to what would happen and anticipated the next scene as if it were a film.



    Easily, this is a read that I recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Entertaining Read

    Cathy Marie Hake introduces Ruth Caldwell in an unforgettable story filled with humor, tears, and love. Ruth is an obedient daughter - at least she tries to be. Her mother wishes her to attend a school for young ladies and to grow up properly. But Ruth¿s innocent mishaps at the latest school sends her home once again. Once home, Ruth realizes that her mother is dying. She concedes to her mother¿s dying wish that she live with her estranged father on his ranch in California. Ruth¿s arrival to California not only causes uneasiness in her own heart, but in the lives of those she meets. She arrives in town only to discover that her father passed away several years ago and part of his ranch is now hers. Joshua McCain and his father own the other half of the ranch. But until they can settle who the rightful owner is, with the help of a circuit judge, Ruth has nowhere to go. Joshua and his family invite her to stay at the ranch and she finds an instant friend in Josh¿s sister, Laney. Life settles into a bit of a routine, albeit unpredictable as it seems Ruth has a wont for finding trouble. But the outhouse door falling on her and falling off of the sidewalk weren¿t really her fault - they were accidents. Joshua struggles between trying to protect her from herself and finding her humorous charm irresistible. When Ruth¿s accidents turn into foul play, she and Josh learn to trust in their heavenly Father in a whole new way. Cathy Marie Hake writes a wonderful story that will keep you turning the pages!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2007

    One of my All-Time Favorite Books!

    The cover snared me first, then the back cover. It was as good as I'd hoped for. Furthermore, Josh was irristable! Ruth reminded me alot of myself with all of her mishaps. I truly felt for her. The book's inspired me to start carrying a fan - whatever happened to that elegant tradition?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2015

    Really?

    This book was supposed to be "laugh out loud" funny. Yeah. Not so much.
    If you enjoy reading romance novels with reference to God and Jesus in every other sentence then this is the book for you, otherwise PASS IT BY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2014

    This started out to be a good read, but now 2/3 of the way throu

    This started out to be a good read, but now 2/3 of the way through I'm wondering if I can even finish it. It's kind of losing the story it started out to be, and becoming more or less all about religion, and dragging. Also, Joshua McCain is close to his father til about this point, then begins to suspect him of being less than honest. Instead of speaking to his father about it, the son talks to everyone else first...something a true "honor your father" Christian wouldn't do. I hope this picks up the pace a bit, or I'm going to quit reading it. I hate to do that so far into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Wonderful read!

    Funny warm and charming book with inspiration and history woven throughout-hated for it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Well done

    I couldn't put it down. A very enjoyabla Christian Historical

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Enjoyable with a Bonus of Historical Tidbits

    I enjoyed reading this book enough that other books I was reading got put on hold. The pieces of historical information helped to zone you into the time period. I would use this book as a how to for other beginning writers that aren't quite there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    A good read!

    This was not my first read by this author, and want very much to read the sequel, book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    This was an ok book, but I have read better.

    This was an ok book, but I have read better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Such a treat!

    Easily five stars!!!! Good grief did I adore this!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Rascal27

    I liked and enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    This book took me a long time to finish, but not because it was boring. I didn't want to ruin the cover, and it was autographed, so I left it at home. Now that I've finished I wonder what took me so long. The story is charming and witty and the characters are engaging. I loved the suspenseful element of not knowing who was causing Ruth to have so many accidents. Then when the reader discovers who it is, the rest of the story keeps you on the edge of your seat wondering when the perpetrator is going to harm Ruth irrevocably. The developing love between Ruth and Josh from their common faith and friendship was tender and precious. I really enjoyed that thread in the story especially when Josh prayed for Ruth. There isn't a more romantic and intimate thing a man can do for the woman he loves than to pray for her concerns while tenderly holding her hands. Josh was the ultimate hero once he got past his concern that Ruth was going to steal his inheritance. The spiritual lessons that came out of this story were divine as well. Overall I'd recommend this story because it will put a smile on your face and keep you reading until the end...as long as it isn't autographed. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    A must read for historical fiction lovers

    This was a great read and I truly couldn't put it down. The way Cathy Marie Hake wrote this book had me mesmerized and I sometimes forgot this was fiction. This book had me laughing, crying, and waiting impatiently to see what happened next. It's a book you need to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2