Customer Reviews for

Letter from a Stranger

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - I thoroughly enjoyed this story!

First of all, I love Barbara Taylor Bradford and have thoroughly enjoyed every book she has ever written and this one is no exception. It is an easy read and I really liked the characters and their relationships. Once I started reading "Letter From A Stranger" I just wa...
First of all, I love Barbara Taylor Bradford and have thoroughly enjoyed every book she has ever written and this one is no exception. It is an easy read and I really liked the characters and their relationships. Once I started reading "Letter From A Stranger" I just wanted continue reading to the end of the book and put every-thing I was supposed to do as a "domestic engineer" on "hold" - which is exactly what I did! I hope everyone who reads this book enjoys it as much as I did. Happy Reading!!!

posted by 11521908 on April 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by  Book provided by Get Red PR for review Review origi

Reviewed by 
Book provided by Get Red PR for review
Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

While enjoying the weekend at her family’s Connecticut home, Indian Ridge, Justine Nolan opens a letter that will change her life and those around her. She learns that he...
Reviewed by 
Book provided by Get Red PR for review
Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

While enjoying the weekend at her family’s Connecticut home, Indian Ridge, Justine Nolan opens a letter that will change her life and those around her. She learns that her grandmother is alive and did not perish in a plane crash. For the past ten years Justine and her twin brother Richard have grieved the loss of their beloved grandmother Gabrielle. Their mother Deborah purposely had estranged herself and her children from her mother’s life. The twins agree that they must search for their grandmother immediately and Justine leaves for Istanbul to begin the most important journey of her life.

Letter from a Stranger is a story about loves lost, found and the bonds that hold a family together through the darkest times. The relationship between Justine and her grandmother is touching and emotional. The fact that Justine’s own mother was so distant when she was growing up makes her reunion with Gabri so much sweeter. Finding her grandmother allows Justine to open her heart to find love with a mysterious handsome man. The secondary characters are engaging and interesting. The back-story of Anita Lowe and her friendship with Gabri is fascinating and leaves the reader wanting to learn more about her.

The most moving part of the story details Gabri’s childhood growing up in Germany during World War II. The description of Germany and Europe during those years was riveting and horrifying. The images conjured with the vivid description of Istanbul are beautiful. The reader can easily picture sitting in a beautiful garden having afternoon tea or shopping in one of the markets. Barbara Taylor Bradford’s Letters from a Stranger is an intriguing story full of romance, secrets, mystery and drama. The book is a slow paced enjoyable read. Grab a cup of tea, a piece of baklava, relax and get lost in Justine’s quest for truth and the magic of Istanbul.

posted by RtBBlog on January 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended - I thoroughly enjoyed this story!

    First of all, I love Barbara Taylor Bradford and have thoroughly enjoyed every book she has ever written and this one is no exception. It is an easy read and I really liked the characters and their relationships. Once I started reading "Letter From A Stranger" I just wanted continue reading to the end of the book and put every-thing I was supposed to do as a "domestic engineer" on "hold" - which is exactly what I did! I hope everyone who reads this book enjoys it as much as I did. Happy Reading!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is one of the best books I have ever read by any author. A beautiful, touching tale of ficton, but with a non-fiction base. Can't say enough about how much I truly enjoyed reading "Letter From a Stranger".

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by  Book provided by Get Red PR for review Review origi

    Reviewed by 
    Book provided by Get Red PR for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    While enjoying the weekend at her family’s Connecticut home, Indian Ridge, Justine Nolan opens a letter that will change her life and those around her. She learns that her grandmother is alive and did not perish in a plane crash. For the past ten years Justine and her twin brother Richard have grieved the loss of their beloved grandmother Gabrielle. Their mother Deborah purposely had estranged herself and her children from her mother’s life. The twins agree that they must search for their grandmother immediately and Justine leaves for Istanbul to begin the most important journey of her life.

    Letter from a Stranger is a story about loves lost, found and the bonds that hold a family together through the darkest times. The relationship between Justine and her grandmother is touching and emotional. The fact that Justine’s own mother was so distant when she was growing up makes her reunion with Gabri so much sweeter. Finding her grandmother allows Justine to open her heart to find love with a mysterious handsome man. The secondary characters are engaging and interesting. The back-story of Anita Lowe and her friendship with Gabri is fascinating and leaves the reader wanting to learn more about her.

    The most moving part of the story details Gabri’s childhood growing up in Germany during World War II. The description of Germany and Europe during those years was riveting and horrifying. The images conjured with the vivid description of Istanbul are beautiful. The reader can easily picture sitting in a beautiful garden having afternoon tea or shopping in one of the markets. Barbara Taylor Bradford’s Letters from a Stranger is an intriguing story full of romance, secrets, mystery and drama. The book is a slow paced enjoyable read. Grab a cup of tea, a piece of baklava, relax and get lost in Justine’s quest for truth and the magic of Istanbul.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    A little bit of romance

    A letter postmarked from Istanbul arrives at Justine Nolans mothers’ house in Connecticut. Knowing that it will be months before her mom, Deborah, returns, Justine opens the letter. Little did she know how the letter will change her life.

    The letter is written by Justine’s grandmother’s best friend asking for an end to the estrangement between Deborah and Justine’s grandmother, Gabrielle. The letter begs Deborah to let Gabrielle meet her grandkids before it is too late. Justine shares the letter with her fraternal twin, Richard, and it is decided that Justine should travel to Istanbul and find her long lost grandmother.

    Letter from a Stranger was different than any other Barbara Taylor Bradford book I had read. Although it still has a female main character. The descriptions of Istanbul were amazing. I could truly see the scenes as they were told in the story. I could see myself walking the streets of Istanbul during World War II.

    The little bit of romance in the book made it impossible for me to put down. This is definitely a great read and I would easily recommend it to any fellow book lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    I have read several books by Ms. Bradford, "A Woman of Subs

    I have read several books by Ms. Bradford, "A Woman of Substance" being her best. This latest endeavor, however, falls short. The premise of the book is one that could have been written better with a few more twists to the story line and the characters could have been less "plastic". She missed the mark!!! The characters were too carefully portrayed, the dialog seemed forced and in general didn't flow! Of late there have been several stories written about the Holocaust that have been heart wrenching, yet "Letter From A Stranger" does not appear to be one of them. I finished the book mainly because I dislike not doing so, but disappointing to say the least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Every book that Barbara Taylor Bradford writes is outstanding. S

    Every book that Barbara Taylor Bradford writes is outstanding. She takes you into the book and makes you feel that you are part of it. I've read Woman of Substance several times and every book after that. Enjoyed this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    A little kick

    The last 3 chapters were the best part of the book. The rest drug and everyone was too perfect. Are there actually people that act the way these guys did? A little fake but I love the WWII twist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Disappointing and boring. The formal language was a total turn-

    Disappointing and boring. The formal language was a total turn-off. Couldn't wait for it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Predictable.

    Disappointing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Have not received this yet as it will not be available till 4/17/2012.

    Will review once received and read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2