Customer Reviews for

Letter to a Christian Nation

Average Rating 4
( 153 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Everything I think on this subject

I loved this book and agree with it 100%. Everything I cant stand about the religious right laied out crisp and clear. How can they call themselves the people of life when they oppose vaccines for preventable illnesses and vital medical research that could save millions...
I loved this book and agree with it 100%. Everything I cant stand about the religious right laied out crisp and clear. How can they call themselves the people of life when they oppose vaccines for preventable illnesses and vital medical research that could save millions? Do they really deserve the name of the culture of life? I think the words of Pat Robertson settle that one pretty well: 'I dont see why we don't just kill him (Hugo Chavez} its cheaper than starting a war'. Yes, the people of life like to murder people because it is, and I quote, 'cheaper than starting a war.'

posted by Anonymous on October 30, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

I'm not religious, and I was still disappointed

My problem with this book is that it made many claims to which it offered no reference, and little sign of previous discussion or thought. The book may not be long, but something that makes as many claims and generic references and employs as many various statistics a...
My problem with this book is that it made many claims to which it offered no reference, and little sign of previous discussion or thought. The book may not be long, but something that makes as many claims and generic references and employs as many various statistics as it does should have a reference page that is longer than a page or two. I was very excited to read this book, because I expected some developed thoughts. But this book seemed to follow suit with most religion bashing. It employed the same, tired ideas that opponents of organized religion always come back to. Perhaps if this book softened its angry tone, or went into just a little bit of depth, it could be taken seriously, even by those who abide by the Bible. But this opportunity, sadly, was wasted. Granted, my reading experience wasn't a complete waste of time. I certainly found parts thought-provoking, interesting, truthful, and frightening. For this reason I feel the book is worth a read. Yet this book is only preaching to the choir. Most of those who will read this book already agreed with everything the book argued, and those who don't will feel reaffirmed in believing that it's just the product of some sad, lost, God-hater. So for a book that has been heralded as something that will alter the course of human existing, I found Letter to A Christian Nation a little disappointing.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 153 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    I've read other Sam Harris books and articles, and this man is o

    I've read other Sam Harris books and articles, and this man is one of the most intelligent, articulate, and reasonable nonbelievers around. If you're a Christian and have any doubts about your faith, you're not alone and have very good reasons for that doubt. Sam Harris does an exceptional job of explaining those reasons without talking down to you. In three words: clarity of thought.  I love this book and recommend reading it more than once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    This book is excellent, a must read. It says everything I try to

    This book is excellent, a must read. It says everything I try to say. Recently I conducted a small experiment. I have felt that since I declared myself a nonbeliever in god, that people have disregarded me. I recently saw on post made by a nice relative of mine about teaching our children to love Jesus. Several people agreed with her. I posted that I respectfully disagreed and briefly said why. After that, the discussion stopped and I was completely ignored. I commented several more times, asking for someone to respond to me, even to disagree with me. I specifically said to my relative, you know me well, please respond. Nothing. A day or so later the entire posting was deleted. She had to have done it because no one else can delete your posts. I sent her a private message asking her sweetly why she did not respond to me, was it something she was not allowed as a Cristian to discuss, or did she not want to talk about it. Her reply was that she knew of no such post, did not know what I was talking about, and changed the subject. I think she and her friends confirmed my suspicion and made my point. I am really wondering if religious people cannot even have a friendly discussion about the existence of god. Is it a frightening subject to them? Do they know deep down that is silly but they don't want to discuss it? Is it a sin to discuss it? I really don't know! It is an interesting and weird phenomenon.
    Any way, I wish everyone would read this wonderful book, and watch Sam Harris's debates on the internet. He is an intelligent and well-spoken individual and he really get right to the point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Religious people are crazy and evil...

    Lets get rid of them!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    Thought-provoking and well written. I like Sam Harris's style an

    Thought-provoking and well written. I like Sam Harris's style and the fact that he is DOING something (writing about and educating people on the dangers of organized religion, religious belief in general, and extremist religion specifically) about these crucial problems. Mr. Harris is straight to the point and very knowledgeable in this subject and I really appreciated this book. I would highly recommend it and also anything by Richard Dawkins and Victor J Stenger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    As someone who has a problem with organized religion I hoped thi

    As someone who has a problem with organized religion I hoped this book would reveal some new thinking. Sadly its just the same old tired refrain. Shallow thinking here, that somehow got some press. Dont waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    WHAT THE HECK

    I read the book. I just didnt buy it ebook. And i have to say that this man is really reall rude and mean... people with religious beliefs tend to live happier lives. So gtfo of bn and go jump off a cliff

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Atheism is a religon

    An other idiot. Atheism is a religon based off the belief that nothing can make somthing. Not saying this is wrong orr right, but requires just as much faith as any belief. Any real agnostic person would never support this cult of religous bashers that pretend they are supported by facts. THIS book is no differnt then people that say because the bible says so. Pretend tto know what you are saying and the sheep will follow, hallmark of a cult.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    do not buy

    unable to open on a Mac

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    Well done

    This book is amazing and is probably only truly appreciated by agnostics, atheists and secular humanist. He makes excellent, well-grounded points. Anyone who truly questions religious belief and its inconsistencies with reality should enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    Excellent

    Couldn't have said it better myself!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    your book is right but we must follow the book of job. if you read the urantia along with the bible you see it right 'BE GOOD' thats it! it all falls into place. dont judge and help your neighbor when you can. DONT JUDGE #1 rule god will love you and even in the bible it gives reason for reincarnation you do get a second chance or third or fourth there is no control! look at jesus 'AGAINST THE GRAIN' NOT BAPTIST IN EDMOND OR 'real life in edmond' as pastor isrial hogue explains you will not be rich in materia wealth but in understanding. dont give up on faith, give up on mid christian towns and find your own

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    A bigoted attack is a bigoted attack, no matter whether it comes from the Right or the Left.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    Sam Harris' Blind Faith

    Sam Harris¿s Letter to a Christian Nation is about a human concern, an emergency that he perceives ¿ the unfounded respect accorded to religious dogma, with all its deleterious consequences for human life. But in calling us to abandon the Scriptures, the source of the historic Christian perspective, Harris would misguidedly cut off the life raft from our sinking ship. This is the death wish of secular humanism: to beat to death the knowledge of God that alone provides us with the missing pieces that correspond to who we are and what the external world is. The historic Christian position maintains that the personal infinite Creator God exists, so we live in a personal universe. There is a basis for humans as they are within the biblical framework. Also, we normally live assuming the external world to be there, so we can actually investigate and discover true things about it. As well as creating a real world, God has not been silent about the problem of our current condition and its remedy, nor about what is moral. All people have moral motions, a sense of right and wrong. If we seem to lack this sense (and we all do at times), the Christian understands because the Bible is realistic about the abnormality of human nature as it currently is. God has revealed true facts in the Bible in all of these areas, through the knowledge of who He is and who we are. He is not only the infinitely valuable reference point that we all need, but He is good. This is not only a personal world, but a Lover¿s world. Because he writes with a positivistic certainty concerning ¿research¿ and ¿data¿, Harris seems unaware of his own presuppositions, and how the Christian perspective gives answers precisely where his naturalistic perspective cannot. Beginning with the impersonal plus time plus chance, Harris cannot establish how or why the universe exists, nor does he have a base on which to establish morality. Ultimately, there is no place for people as they really are within a secular humanistic framework. It is basically inhuman. Ironically, the Christian who believes in the Creator of the external world has a more solid base for scientific investigation than Sam Harris. ¿Great are the works of the Lord. They are studied by all who take delight in them.¿ (Psalm 111:2) According to Harris, ¿Any intellectually honest person will admit that he does not know why the universe exists.¿ He needs to quit his disingenuous pose as a champion of reason, come down from his intellectual bulldozer, and face up to the unreal place that his premises lead. Not believing that an objective world really exists (see The End of Faith p.41), let alone understanding why it is there, Harris needs the Christian base even to begin science. Yet, he probably lives as if there is a real world, as if people are important, notwithstanding his premises. By blind faith.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2006

    Ignorance Dressed-up as Intellectualism

    Let's talk about the heart of the matter here with regards to Christianity. Jesus Lives... can other faiths say the same about their god? No other God on earth came to live and die on the Holy Cross of Calvary and then resurrect to further spread the Good News. No other god has died for every imaginable sin and carried it on His back to the slaughter. It is prophetic, this persecution and mockery against those that believe in Jesus. Scripture lists this prophesy time and time again... Job 17:2 Surely mockers surround me my eyes must dwell on their hostility. Psalm 1:1 Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked or stand in the way of sinners or sit in the seat of mockers. Proverbs 1:22 'How long will you simple ones love your simple ways? How long will mockers delight in mockery and fools hate knowledge? Proverbs 3:34 He mocks proud mockers but gives grace to the humble. Proverbs 19:29 Penalties are prepared for mockers, and beatings for the backs of fools. Proverbs 29:8 Mockers stir up a city, but wise men turn away anger. Isaiah 29:20 The ruthless will vanish, the mockers will disappear, and all who have an eye for evil will be cut down- Hosea 7:5 On the day of the festival of our king the princes become inflamed with wine, and he joins hands with the mockers. As I read this book to my husband, he looked at me quietly and said to me after seeing my sadness: It is these people (referring to Harris) that the Lord has called us to love- despite it all. I know that there are plenty of people who will continue to put God in a box (these are the intellectuals)and will want to fit Him into their scheme of things but God wouldn't be God if he was that small... I know Harris loves himself and demonstrates the epitomy of narcissism in his propaganda. But the truth is, he will one day know the faults of his stinging attacks against Christians, humanity, and those that strongly believe in truth. I also grieve, like many unbelievers, when I see a Christian, a person after the heart of the Lord, commit a moral failure... it only proves what we keep hearing from the world: Christians aren't perfect. This I know full well. But it is because of this truth that I have to believe a loving, merciful, and yes, jealous God exists. I see so much depravity, so much immorality in this world... how many crimes go unpunished in this world? I have to believe that although man in all his faults, injustice, and sin will allow for criminals to walk free, there must be an Almighty judge who sees all things, and will give those their due reward. Harris' rant is what it is: a piece of information from a broken, shattered heart that can only be redeemed by the One. Remember that all things will be revealed... in His time.

    0 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    Slim But Sure

    WOW! After this book there is little one can feel but drained. This powerful little book at first glance seems like a strike at religion, but in the hands of its author becomes, quite thoroughly, the new handbook to present day common sense. It looks more at today's issues and how they are treated through the ideals of religion and specifically Christianity. Whether you agree or disagree, this book will get you thinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    How Intriguing ...

    I have never known an author who seems to fear the concept of God as much as this man does. The saying, 'Thou doeth protest too much...' seems to fit with the continual books that this man puts together. What is fascinating is that he pokes continually at the Christian (and other) faiths and then seems surprised that after taking the continual poking for many years, someone pokes him back with anger. I also find it ironic that he criticizes the high standard of Christianity when a Christian doesn't follow it - but fails to have those high standards himself. Yet he is critical? Uh huh.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Fighting a good fight

    In a time of persecution and non-thinking in the world, no one sets the record straight other than Sam Harris and Prof. Richard Dawkins concerning reason and religion. Also a piece of liturature should never recieve a one star rating. ~Allen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    A poignant re-hash of arguments as old as Methuselah

    I sympathize with many of the observations that Mr. Harris makes in this small book. He notes many deplorable statements and actions made by people who claim faith in Jesus Christ (and by people of other faiths). Many of his complaints are real, and I think that many Christians genuinely owe Mr. Harris (and God) an apology. Nevertheless, Mr. Harris' complaints are not in themselves a sufficient critique of faith itself nor a refutation of the hypothesis of God's existence. I find that Mr. Harris' critique is painfully flawed by his lack of genuine understanding of the faiths that he critiques. He speaks from a place outside that which he critiques. He also is painfully oblivious to the dynamic process of faith impacting individuals' lives and, in some (though not all) cases, slowly resolving the issues in their lives that have provoked their earlier-in-life deplorable statements and actions. As a result, he plows the same old ground that opponents of faith have been plowing throughout the ages. The lack of new arguments is saddening, because it reveals his inattention to the more genuinely effective responses, past and present, that have been offered. Given these defects in his critique, he cannot help but reach his conclusion that faith is the enemy of humanity but, the conclusion is as flawed as the critique itself.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2006

    A reviewer

    I admire Sam Harris for not fearing the wrath of the fundamentalist and pointing out a politically incorrect truth: religion threatens the survival of humanity and we can't afford to 'tolerate' it anymore. This book is a succinct summary of the brilliant chapters 1 and 3-5 of End of Faith, without all the philosophical mumbo jumbo of chapters 2 and 6-7. Buy a copy, read it in one sitting, pass it on to a friend, have a great discussion about it. Reason must prevail over mythology if humanity is to avoid a raptureless apocalypse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2006

    Just Getting Into The Book...

    I've just started getting into this little book. I've only gotten up to page eight, but I already have many questions and comments. (This include the intro, also) It's apparent that the author of this book is angry. But he's not half as angry as I am with Christian thought. I'm also really not very happy with the author's thought. There are several points that he attacks Christians at where both he and they are ignorant. A good example of this is where he talks about Christians delighting in New York going up in a fireball because that could mean the return of the Messiah. Unfortunately for both him and the people he attacks, he isn't familar with Amos 5:18-19. (Now, I know that he doesn't appreciate it when people quote Scripture, but, since he does it to try to make his points, I will do the same, here.) Amos 5:18-19 Alas, you who are longing for the day of the LORD,For what purpose will the day of the LORD be to you? It will be darkness and not light As when a man flees from a lion And a bear meets him, Or goes home, leans his hand against the wall And a snake bites him. It's unfortunate that the author doesn't understand a whole lot of what he's talking about, when he attacks. Another case in point is when he speaks of the Torah and how cruel it seems. And then he goes on to try to attack the Messiah by quoting what he said. 'Not one jot or tittle shall pass away until all is fulfilled.... anyone who teaches others to disregard the law will be called 'least' in heaven.' But then, he fails to either remember or speak of what happened when the Messiah was brought the woman who was caught in adultery. The law was clear on what needed to be done with her. She should have been stoned to death. But what happened? The Messiah taught something different. Is this a contradiction? I think not. Perhaps there is something more to what this author is knocking, than what he 'knows'. Speaking of 'knowing', this author professes, through so many words, to 'know' what he's talking about. He also attacks Christians for apparently 'knowing' that G-d exists, and for 'knowing' that the Bible is the inspired word of G-d. It's unfortunate for the author that he has to take just as much on faith as the people that he knocks. It's even more unfortunate that he cannot see this... at least up to the part that I have read, which isn't very far, just yet... but I'll get there. :-) I find that this book is very enjoyable, because I'm having a really good time trying to decipher the author's use of terms that are so general or vague that I can put my own interpretations in and go with whatever I want to interpret. Case in point: He keeps talking about some central tenent of the Christian faith, but he never defines it. He falls into the same trap, again, as the people whom he attacks. He doesn't know what he's talking about. From all that I can gather with what I have read so far, (and believe me, I've taken the time to try to read and take notes and highlight and ask questions and study what he might actually be trying to say and dwell upon what he actually says and look at who he accuses), this author is really no different than the people he attacks. He goes off half-cocked with mis-information and tries to make it appear as if he has knowledge, in an area where knowledge is just one part of the entire equation. He also has a faith, misguided as it might be. This reminds me... He talks about there being hardly any examples of 'intelligent design' and then goes right on to say that there are so many examples of 'unintelligent design'. It's little gems like this that I truly enjoy in his book. He makes statements such as this, and then just goes right on rambling, without offering any sort of evidence for his statements. Just a brief mention of anything would have sufficed. I'm really hoping that he does have some valid information to share and that he's not just squawking or parroti

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 153 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 8