Customer Reviews for

Letter to a Christian Nation

Average Rating 4
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Everything I think on this subject

I loved this book and agree with it 100%. Everything I cant stand about the religious right laied out crisp and clear. How can they call themselves the people of life when they oppose vaccines for preventable illnesses and vital medical research that could save millions...
I loved this book and agree with it 100%. Everything I cant stand about the religious right laied out crisp and clear. How can they call themselves the people of life when they oppose vaccines for preventable illnesses and vital medical research that could save millions? Do they really deserve the name of the culture of life? I think the words of Pat Robertson settle that one pretty well: 'I dont see why we don't just kill him (Hugo Chavez} its cheaper than starting a war'. Yes, the people of life like to murder people because it is, and I quote, 'cheaper than starting a war.'

posted by Anonymous on October 30, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

I'm not religious, and I was still disappointed

My problem with this book is that it made many claims to which it offered no reference, and little sign of previous discussion or thought. The book may not be long, but something that makes as many claims and generic references and employs as many various statistics a...
My problem with this book is that it made many claims to which it offered no reference, and little sign of previous discussion or thought. The book may not be long, but something that makes as many claims and generic references and employs as many various statistics as it does should have a reference page that is longer than a page or two. I was very excited to read this book, because I expected some developed thoughts. But this book seemed to follow suit with most religion bashing. It employed the same, tired ideas that opponents of organized religion always come back to. Perhaps if this book softened its angry tone, or went into just a little bit of depth, it could be taken seriously, even by those who abide by the Bible. But this opportunity, sadly, was wasted. Granted, my reading experience wasn't a complete waste of time. I certainly found parts thought-provoking, interesting, truthful, and frightening. For this reason I feel the book is worth a read. Yet this book is only preaching to the choir. Most of those who will read this book already agreed with everything the book argued, and those who don't will feel reaffirmed in believing that it's just the product of some sad, lost, God-hater. So for a book that has been heralded as something that will alter the course of human existing, I found Letter to A Christian Nation a little disappointing.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    Please ignore any negative reviews you see here; they are simply

    Please ignore any negative reviews you see here; they are simply made by hate-mongering malcontents who hide behind religionI. I.E. absolute moronic scum. This is a very well written book that intuitively points out all the problems in our society which have stemmed from organised religion. Anyone who says otherwise obviously hasn't read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Why Religion Is Evil

    An excellent discussion about superstitious reliigiosity and the evil that it causes in our lives. It puzzles me why we should give any respect to ignorance that would drag us back into the stone age. It is sad that true believers are so gullible that they need the ramblings of bronze age savages to complete their lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Succinct and Poignant

    Definitely Harris's best book. It's short, succinct, and gets to the core of reason (or lack thereof) regarding religion. Read it alongside Prometheus' THE ATHEIST'S CHURCH and Dawkins' THE GOD DELUSION and you will have a perfect introduction to modern atheistic thought.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Well Written

    Harris draws attention to the many issues causing people to reject the christian faiths.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    Great read with a lot of excellent points. It's short, but surprising well detailed. I think this book is better than Richard Dawkins "The God Delusion" and I'd recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Pretty good

    This book is a great foundation for any atheist trying to win an argument. I did, however, expect a bit more logical reasoning. Harris carries a hostile and frustrated tone throughout which is unattractive even to a non-believer. He insists at the beginning that the letter is to the most devout of christians but spends most of the time talking about moderate christians or religion in general. Other people who have posted saying it is well-written are sorely mistaken. But for a brief letter, it definitely serves a purpose.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Christian bash-fest

    Not worth anyone (christian or athiests) time. If that insecure about your beliefs that you have to harm others beliefs, i think there is something wrong. Im a firm lover of God and this book did nothing but strenghthen my belief in him. To each his own

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Great+read

    Harris+takes+a+common+sense+approach+to+why+religion+is+a+blockade+on+our+advancement+as+a+people

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    awesome!

    sam harris is my new fav author. all christians should read this insightful book. it is also rrquired reading for agnostics. if you believe in the power of prayer, read this book. if you believe in 'intelligent dedign', read this book. if you believe in the authenticity of the bible, read this book. if you are not sure whst you believe, this book will help you find your way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Only a fool argues against this book.

    Sam Harris does a magnifiscent job of treating christian claims with complete objectivity... and shows why every christian claim will always remain nothing more than wishful thinking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    Fantastic

    This is without a doubt the best book I've ever read on the subject of relegious mythology. Sam Harris does a superb job of debunking Christianity and pulls absolutely no punches whatsoever. Well researched, well written. I can't recommend this book enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Best Example of Debunking Christianity ever Printed!

    Read my headline, enough said.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    Argument is not Evidence

    First blame God for societal ills; then blame religion-particularly Christianity--for societal ills and this gets Letter to a Christian Nation high marks for mature, rational thought and intellectual integrity? Really? If a Christian advises Sam Harris to abstain from sexual intercourse, and Sam Harris snubs the advice and impregnates someone, it's the Christian's fault and the fault of the Christian's upbringing? Really? And because a woman chooses to abort his unwanted "blastocyst," the Christian is at fault? So if a Christian advises Sam Harris not to get drunk and drive, and Sam Harris ignores that advice, gets drunk, drives, and maims or kills someone, that's the Christian's fault? And if a Christian advises Sam Harris not to commit adultery, murder, theft, or any other vice or despicable act, it's the Christian's fault? So if Sam Harris is a smoker, it's the Surgeon General's fault? And I'm supposed to buy into this book as a mind-opening, intellectual achievement? I don't think so. The corrupter is the human being despite what Sam Harris thinks. Read in the sciences and show me the perfect harmony of the scientists. Read in the sciences about how some scientists have created the atom bomb, poisonous gases, viral agents, harmful drugs, and all sorts of other nasty chemicals that have damaged cultures and environments and then tell me how Sam Harris is demonstrating "intellectual integrity" by ignoring the harm done by scientists with good intentions. There's a lot in the Bible and other religious works that are, quite frankly, "unbelievable" from our current rational stance in western civilization. Sam Harris points to the Virgin Birth of Jesus Christ. But then Sam doesn't say anything about the Origin of Life without God: (1) life arose from dead matter, either mud, crystals, primordial soup, slime of iron pyrite or (2) panspermia, seeding by aliens. Really? This is more rational and "believable?" I don't think so. Here's something to think about: (1) Why waste time blaming a God in which you don't believe? Does Sam Harris blame the Tooth Fairy for cavities just so it can profit from his poor oral hygiene? I now suspect he does. (2) Sam Harris wants Christians to admit that they follow a book written by "highly fallible human beings" (106) and toss it aside-eventually-so they can walk in his enlightened footsteps. Why would they throw away tradition to follow an obviously fallible "intellect" like Sam Harris? He is clearly a human being and no more inspiring than other non-believers. (3) If Sam Harris had any-any-concrete and indisputable evidence for his position as an atheist, his book would be titled Facts against God's Existence-and it'd be a lot shorter. The fact is that he doesn't have anything. Non-believers should expect more from their "Prophets" and "Pontificators" before giving them high marks. Believers shouldn't be bothered by this book in the least. Arguments are not evidence.

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Letter to a Christian Nation

    I LOVED this little book. I think everyone should read this book. How I wished I had this book when I was young and had questions that no one could or would answer. Thank you, Thank you Mr. Harris

    This book speaks for millions of people who wish they could have said what Sam Harris has written. This book doesn't belittle Christian, it just makes them think and hopefully use some much needed reasoning skills. This is a well written and well needed book for this age in our history.

    Thank you

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    New Name for Bigotry

    Sam fails to be honest enough to share his real problems. Just being angry is not enough reason to attack Christians or a Christian nation (which this nation barely resembles any more) unless you are a terroist. Sam could use a good therapist because venting in writing is not doing the job. Using the superlatives all, always, every,everytime, et al, does not validate anything. It just show a closed mind to intelligent design.

    1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    Don't Be Ignorant.

    This is a wonderfully written book meant to open peoples' minds. Any person who found this book to be inappropriate simply didn't get the point. The idea is to open our minds to things we never noticed before and the only true opposition is those who feel insecure when reading it. Wonderfully written, and very mind-opening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    Riddled with Misinformation

    It surprised me to read all of Harris's scathing indictments of Islam in a book whose focus was ostensibly Christianity. Of course, he wouldn't sell many books in the Middle East, as RC Metcalf points out in his 'Letter to a Christian Nation: Counter Point,' which really helped open my eyes to the inaccuracies in Harris's book. Harris also used statistics to his own ends, an unfortunate downfall of many authors. This was especially flagrant when he compared violent crime in politically 'blue' states to violent crime in 'red' states. A state may be 'red' because 51% of its population votes Republican. This certainly wouldn't imply that ALL violent crime in that state is perpetrated by Republicans (or Christians, since he seems to equate the two). Most violent crime is probably perpetrated by people who could care less about politics. And Christian morality is more likely to deter people from violent crime. Also, most violent crime is drug/alcohol related. Isn't it interesting that most treatment programs (like AA) have theistic underpinnings. Harris is ardently anti-theistic and his earlier book even condones the use of all sorts of drugs. I've read both Harris's book and Metcalf's book and Metcalf seems to be much more accurate. At least his references are clear and easy to follow. My wife couldn't even finish Harris's book, since it was obviously so antagonistic.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2007

    So I never found out...'Who/What Created God?'

    I've never understood why we humans HAVE to have an explanation for EVERYTHING anymore than I've been able to understand why one's religion is something that must be 'spread'. We're too easily offended these days, we have bad manners, and we feel like if we're not riding the 'bandwagon du jour' we're somehow just going to fall through the cracks. My idea of heaven involves Dale Earnhardt, Jr. winning lots of races. My idea of hell involves having my sweet, southern 'church lady' Mother find out I read this book. Why do I need to think so far backward and why do I need to think so far forward? I'm still just a micro-spec among zillions of other micro-specs. The prevailing need to 'spread' what Harris convincingly asserts is no more noble than the very entities and dieties he's trying to prevent the spread of. I thought it was profoundly odd that the majority of NAS members consider themselves Atheists, and have therefore given this issue much, if any thought. When human suffering has been eradicated, I might view that as less odd, and certainly more noteworthy. Regardless of being Muslim or Christian, the entire Dr. Suess collection could easily accomplish what neither the Bible or Koran has been able to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    Paper can be used for so much more

    I generally love reading different points of view, and many of my favoriate authors and friends are atheists. Mr. Harris however is no Betrand Russell. His work is shallow minded, repetative boring, and simply lame, and honestly I counden't bring myself to finish it. This shortest review possible would be shallow, stupid, and generally a wast of precisious time that can be put to so many other better uses like studying the patterns of fruit flys, or watching grass grow. I do not want to sound overly snoty, or rude, however honestly, atheism is wrong, but it has so many more brilliant minds who have produced more brilliant works then Mr. Harris can offer that it seems a shame to point to this as some great work, and only makes atheism look bad.

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    I've read other Sam Harris books and articles, and this man is o

    I've read other Sam Harris books and articles, and this man is one of the most intelligent, articulate, and reasonable nonbelievers around. If you're a Christian and have any doubts about your faith, you're not alone and have very good reasons for that doubt. Sam Harris does an exceptional job of explaining those reasons without talking down to you. In three words: clarity of thought.  I love this book and recommend reading it more than once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8