Customer Reviews for

Letters From a Nut

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    letters from a nut by ted l nancy

    i read this book and could not get enough of it. so i am using this book for a book report it is really cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    Too Funny

    If this book does make you laugh - then you must be died. The Nancy's letters are written with this REAL earnest feeling. Then there is just 'enough' little twist - that's the 'killer'. Then to read the replies from the companies. WOW!! The resecpt that the companies reply with is almost to nice (Elvis is dead by the way. But no one will tell Mr. Nancy). I will be getting the rest of these books. I will be giving these books to friends and more important the people that I hate. Because they need to laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    the nutty letter-writer

    THERE'S no better way to describe Ted L. Nancy than a 'nut.' What else would you call someone who goes out of his way writing bogus letters to hotels, restaurants, publications, candy companies, sports organizations, department stores and many other establishments containing the most outrageous claims and requests? Surprisingly, no matter how peculiar Nancy's missives are (he asks to buy a mannequin from a retail chain because he says it looks remarkably like his dead neighbor and wants to give it to the family of the deceased), most of the recipients have taken the time and effort to reply to him. Little do they know that their legs are being pulled big-time; but not only that, their mail--unfortunately for them--would be compiled for a humor book called 'Letters from a Nut' courtesy of the aforementioned Ted L. Nancy. No one really knows if that is even his real name, or if anyone has ever bothered to check if he actually lives at the address he gives so brazenly (560 North Moorpark Rd. #236 Thousand Oaks, CA 91360). But one thing is sure, he has a gift for creating the most ridiculous letters and yet being taken seriously for them. And Nancy is no doubt laughing his way to the bank because he's already released two follow-up titles--'More Letters from a Nut' and 'Extra Nutty!: Even More Letters from a Nut.' Readers obviously can't get enough of Nancy's cheekiness and the sheer absurdity of what he does. Stand-up comic Jerry Seinfeld bows to Nancy's genius in an introduction he penned for 'Letters from a Nut.' Seinfeld relates that he first made contact with Nancy during a party at a friend's house--not with the person himself, but with his letters. The comedian couldn't help laughing at the unusual correspondence, especially since the various businesses had actually responded to Nancy. 'Then I started reading the letters to my friends, and the next thing I know, the whole room was laughing and having a wonderful time.' Well, why wouldn't they? In a letter to Flamingo Hilton in Las Vegas, Nancy asks if he can go their casino and gamble while dressed as a shrimp, saying this is his lucky clothing. He details, 'That is a reddish veiny body outfit with a brittle curved fantail. The top of my head will be hardish and crunchy and have tarter (sic) sauce on it. (Not real!) I will wear orangish foam shoes that match the rest of the outfit.' Flamingo answers back, courteously enough, telling Nancy that 'because of the high level of activity created by the outfit, it might be too distractive' but that they would be willing to host him if he visits and gambles in street attire. In an entire section written to various hotels in Las Vegas, Nancy makes all sorts of demands. He asks the Sahara Hotel & Casino if he can install his own drapes in the room with the promise that 'all debris will be removed: pins, hooks, string, etc.' Request denied. He claims to look like Abraham Lincoln and thus implores the Debbie Reynolds Hotel/Casino/Hollywood Movie Museum to section off an area in the coffeeshop where he could take his meals to avoid unwanted attention. Request denied. He inquires from Station Casinos Inc. if he would be allowed to bring his own soda machine, noting that the casino's vendos don't carry orange. Request denied (because they would be willing to stock any flavor of his choice). Seinfeld cites Nancy as a guy who has a problem no one else has. Indeed, he is most creative in thinking up of one predicament after another--losing a bag of otter hair in a hotel room, suffering from immense body odor and asking a restaurant to seat him beside their garbage dumpster, wondering if an airline would accommodate him if he's dressed as a giant rotting radish. There's an elaborate side story behind the last situation: he's part of a traveling dinner theater group and would have little time for a costume change before his performance and incidentally, his role is in an 'exciting play about the food industry'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    One heck of a book

    Ted Nancy's 'Letters from a Nut' is quite possibly the funniest thing I have read. He is a creative genius who has done something no one else ever dreamed of doing. I give him a round of applause for this book and I am glad to see he is still at it. I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in a large amount of laughs. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    Don't Remember the Last Time I Laughed So Hard

    I just got this book today--I have read half of it already. I literally cried from laughing so hard. You definitely have to have a 'goofy' sense of humor for this...but if you do, be prepared. Too funny, and I can't wait to get the other ones. You WILL laugh out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2002

    Ted L. Nancy for President

    These are some of the funniest prank letters I have ever read (see the other volumes in this series for the rest). I had to read the book in short spurts because of the hysterical laughter it engenders. What makes the book, however, is not simply the initial letter, but the equally absurd response(s) it produces. You simply must read to believe. Pick up a copy today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2001

    SO FUNNY

    My teacher read us ine if the storys in the book and it was so funny i though ti would die. I don't have the book yet but i NEED to get it. Its a great book if you are looking for a laugh!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2001

    fantastic!!

    I NEVER laugh out loud. I found this book sitting on a friends coffee table, flipped to the middle of the book and proceeded to wake up the baby sleeping in the next room. After that, it was an addiction. I didn't leave until I had read the whole book, then spent a couple weeks trying to find it. Low and behold there's more!! The imagination of Mr. Nancy is origional in his actions, and impressive in his manners and grammer. This will be one collection I will have complete. (unlike the majority of my bookshelves)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    I thought I would die laughing!

    My husband thought I was experiencing some sort of breakdown because I was laughing hysterically. He got scared. 'It's this book,' I told him,'you've got to read it.' I would marry Mr. Ted L. Nancy,I swear, he makes me laugh. I don't care what he looks like, he is FUNNY. Reviewers always call films or books funny, but they usually aren't. These books are funny. Yes, the letters are repetitive, but that seems to be by intention. You do lose the effect a bit after a while, but mostly this is one of the funniest books I've ever read, and I've read a lot. I plan to buy copies of this book to give to friends for holidays and birthdays. Everyone I know must have a copy. Life cannot be lived without having experienced Mr. Nancy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2000

    About the funniest thing I've EVER read

    I found out about 'Letter's From a Nut' totally by accident...however it was one of the best accidents I have ever made. The word 'Original' comes to mind when it comes to how this book is put together. I rarely if ever laugh out loud, but found myself brought to tears dozens of times while reading this book. As others have already said, it makes you want to write your own letters to see what kind of responses you will get. I have yet to try, but who knows? If you are interested in laughing at things that totally catch you off guard, over and over again, then this book is not to be missed. 'Letters From a Nut', along with both sequels is quite honestly the funniest books I have EVER come across. Give it a shot and be forewarned: If you have a heart condition, you might wanna consult your doctor before opening this up, the resulting laughter could bring about cardiac arrest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2000

    Funny

    I love this book! I am 12 and my dad even likes to read them! It's incredible. read it! :0)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2000

    VERY FUNNY BOOK

    He writes letters to hotels and other businesses telling them wierd stuff. These businesses actually reply professionally to his wacky claims. I read this book in one sitting. I actually wrote to a business recently, and it works, they give you free stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 1999

    Excellent Fun, I Wanna 'Do It' Now!

    My boyfriend is not a book reader & read this all in one sitting! Fun, creative and kinda makes ya wanna do the same kinda stuff... cuz life is made for fun! (right?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 1999

    Letters Hilarious, Replies Better

    great, funny book. top of the line in humor. I would give this book 10 stars if I could. Just trust me and buy it! It is good for laughs so loud, China can hear them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1