Customer Reviews for

Letters from Camp

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Book Filled Suspense

    Brother and sister pairs who cant stand themselves that are from different families are sent to a summer camp called Camp Happy Harmony. Problem is, Camp Happy Harmony isn't as great as it advertised and as their parents believed, in fact, it's a very strange summer camp. "Letters From Camp" is an extraordinary book that has a fascinating plot and writing style. Brisket Roast, Barbie Q. Roast, Ivan Gems, Mimi Gems, Charlie Lee, and Charlotte Lee were all sent to Camp Happy Harmony because they needed to bond and stop fighting with each other. Camp Happy Harmony is more like military camp to them because they have to wear crappy uniforms and do hour-long chores, like vacuuming, painting the theatre, feed the pigs, and washing the dishes.
    This book is a compelling book to read because of its style. Unlike like most books, there is a plot, characters and chapters but "Letters From Camp" is very different. It does have plots and characters but not chapters, this book is basically made up of a whole bunch of letters, postcards, and secret notes written by the camp staff (Dorothy Harmony, Dolly Harmony, Darlene Harmony, Dwayne Harmony, Dale Harmony and Daryl Harmony), the parents and the children at the camp to each other. I gave this book 4 stars because of its writing style, plot, and characters. As you continue to read the book, the harder it is to drop because of the suspense, and the many cliffhangers. You also want to find out the mystery behind Camp Happy Harmony and Harmony siblings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Fantastic!

    This book is really great because it's like 2 sides of a story. The characters are really diferent which makes the story so sweet. I really like how the story is set on music, instead of just 'Get me Outta here!' THis is great! If you are ages 8-12 you should probably read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    Geat Book, Great Style

    I just love this book! I've always loved books written in this style, made up of newspaper clippings, letters and stuff. I was overjoyed when I found Kate Klise, since most of her books are written in this style. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    A Great Mystery!!

    3 very different brothers and sisters get sent to a camp called ¿Camp Happy Harmony¿. When the siblings get there, they get a warm welcome from the so-called ¿Harmony Family Singers¿. But the siblings find out that there¿s something mysterious about the Harmony¿s. The siblings talk to each other by sending letters 'that get transported by a boat' to each other. While they are doing this, the Harmony¿s plan something fishy, and the kids try to figure it out. I really liked this book because I think it¿s fun to read a book in letterform. I also really liked it because the pace of the story wasn¿t too slow, but it wasn¿t too fast either. I think it was written very well because Kate Klise used very descriptive words. Another thing that Kate Klise did that made the story very interesting is that the characters didn¿t solve the problem right away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2004

    The best mystery I have ever read!!!!

    When I read this I could not put it down! I don't usually read mysteries so that was something. I really liked this book and I can't wait for more Kate Klise books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2004

    OMG!!! THIS BOOK IS THE BEST!!

    this is a really good book. i think any kid would enjoy it. its also good for adults, i would know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2003

    Okay

    Good book, but there are some moments that you dont get. Like how Darlene got arrested! And how on week four who went where. I would give this a three, but the Klise sisters worked too hard. And some some stuff did not excite me and was really challwnging to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2003

    Very Good!

    It was very enjoying for a teen to read especially one who loves summer camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2003

    I JUST LOVE IT!!

    I just love letters from camp. It was the greatest, just like all of Kate M. Klises books! i defintiley recommend this book to all book lovers out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    a camp hater

    I thought this book was great when I went to sleep away camp. Me & my best friend both read it in our spare time! even when it was lights out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2002

    MY FAVORITE!

    I loved this book! I usually hate reading but this made me want to read more and more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2002

    AWESOME

    Cool book you just fall in love with the charaters like mimi shes awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2002

    Absolutely Hilarious

    This is an awesome book. It's pure comedy. You can't help but fall in love with characters like Barbie Q. Roast and, her brother, Brisket Roast. This book is a mystery that isn't solved till the very end. It will keep you on the edge of your seat the whole time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    Memo: Letters from Camp!

    Ever wanted to read your siblings mail? Well heres the closest your gonna get. Read letters from Camp! Letters from Camp is one of the best books I've ever read. I love the way she has letters for the whole book. Read this great book today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2001

    a gr8 book!

    hey this book is SUPER. It's cute and funny, and has a gr8 group of characters. i deffinatly give it 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2001

    This is a book that will catch your attention!

    This book is very adventurous and is very exciting and really is cool. I like it because the book is made up of letters. So it is very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2001

    Terriffic Book

    Letters from Camp is one of the best books I have ever read. I like how she writes the letters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2001

    Suprisingly FUNNY!!

    I wanted a funny or mystery book from my libray and i found the prefect book, although in some parts it was kind of confusing but other than that it was wonderful!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2000

    Awsome and Funny!!!!!!!!!

    This is a Funny and very entertaining book that I highly reccomend!!! Though for some at first it maybe be hard to catch up to , but soon your laughing your way along! GET THIS BOOK!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1