Customer Reviews for

Letters from Rifka

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Very good book, highly recomend

Rifka is a 12 year old girl, fleeing from Russia to go to America where 3 of her older brothers await. Rifka goes through many challenges on her journey, from embaressing checks by doctors, to having to leave her family and go to Belgium for her ringworm to cure. She be...
Rifka is a 12 year old girl, fleeing from Russia to go to America where 3 of her older brothers await. Rifka goes through many challenges on her journey, from embaressing checks by doctors, to having to leave her family and go to Belgium for her ringworm to cure. She befriends a teenage boy when on a ship to Ellis Island and he gets thrown off the ship in a terrible storm. It is deffinitly not an easy travel to America but it is worth it when she finally makes it. Letters From Rifka would be suitable for ages 9-13. I am 13 myself and enjoyed it very much. I highly recommend this book to everyone who finds it :)

posted by Marissa1106 on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Highly recomended it was awesome!! RECOMENDED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Its about aa girl who wantes to go to amarica with her family .but rifka cant go with her grandma and granpa. Larter they abord a train it takes them to a new contry where they have to get disenfected so her family can go to the next country. That is just the bennging t...
Its about aa girl who wantes to go to amarica with her family .but rifka cant go with her grandma and granpa. Larter they abord a train it takes them to a new contry where they have to get disenfected so her family can go to the next country. That is just the bennging they all go through rough times but it all is wroth it when they get to armarica. Read it to beleve it . Ps i think it would be for 9 to 15 or 14 year olds. Pss i love it so much. Psss. Our teacher read it to our third grade class it was so good other sudents dedeicated it to our teacher the book was from the library.

posted by 16836068 on May 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Very good book, highly recomend

    Rifka is a 12 year old girl, fleeing from Russia to go to America where 3 of her older brothers await. Rifka goes through many challenges on her journey, from embaressing checks by doctors, to having to leave her family and go to Belgium for her ringworm to cure. She befriends a teenage boy when on a ship to Ellis Island and he gets thrown off the ship in a terrible storm. It is deffinitly not an easy travel to America but it is worth it when she finally makes it. Letters From Rifka would be suitable for ages 9-13. I am 13 myself and enjoyed it very much. I highly recommend this book to everyone who finds it :)

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    I loved this book alot.

    I read Letters from Rifka it is intended for the age group 9-12 because it has some violence in it. In my opinion I think this is a very interesting book. I recommend it to everyone. There are some parts in this book that I would not recommend to the younger kids. I think the age group should be 10-15 because it's very vulgar.
    My criterion on this book is great I really loved it read it in the 5th grade and fell in love with it. To me this book teaches a lesson about how sometimes you have to give up something to gain something else. Some of the main points in this book were when Rifka was on the train to Poland and braided a young woman's hair and got ringworm, a quote from the book is," Her head stank. Strands of hair clustered in oily clumps. Most terrible, though, were big round sores all over her scalp." Another main point in this book is when they tell Rifka that she has to stay and let her ringworm heal before they can send her to America
    In my was very detailed and very interesting. When you think that they can't go into any more details they do. I honestly don't think there are any books that I can compare this too. opinion I think that this book achieved all of its goals and purpose. It
    In conclusion this book is a 9-12 age of book and has very violent details in it. It is a very interesting book and I recommend it to everyone.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    Outstandingly Great!!!

    Are you ever bored in reading an educational book? Well, there are some that can just blow your minds , like, Letters From Rifka!! It is a facinating book and YOU WILL NEVER WANT TO PUT IT DOWN!! If you had ever had literacy cicles before, you can tell your teacher that you wouls like to read it sometime! Or if you were studying immigrants at Ellis Island that came all the way from Europe, you really sould read this book. It helps you understand a 13 year old girl's perspective from the 1800's, on a ship when she gets sick! You sould read this book if you like gloomy, kind of sad and even exciting or happy stories!! I hope you enjoy reading Letters From Rifka!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Anonymous on anonymous

    This book is amazing! I started to cry at some parts. It was the best book ive ever read. I love the bravery and confidence in rifka. She is definitly inspirational. I reccomend this book to the ages of 10 and up because their is a little violence.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    An remarkable book

    I read this book when I was in grade school and still to this day this is one of my favorite books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Beas Bea Best book ever



    I couldnt put the book down

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Zoey

    I think rifka should not gone neer that girl with the babby:(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Tap

    It had me in tyrs so many times!!!I highly reccomend this book for all ages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    This is a VERY good book. I seem to like documentary books.... I

    This is a VERY good book. I seem to like documentary books.... I had to
    read this one because I was in Reading Olympics, though I enjoyed this
    book the most out of all of them I read so far. It was really great, and
    at the ending I was very happy! (Very good ending) You could read this
    book easily in about a good 3 hours. About 20-30 pages in, your totally
    hooked and you can't stop reading! It's a very good book, and in a few
    years, if I see it on the library book shelf again, I probably will grab
    it and read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    it is the best book in the whole world!

    I never wanted to stop reading. Even parents will like it. I recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    Book review for Letters from Rifka

    "I have never been in another country before not even another village" says Rifka. Letters from Rifka by Karen Hesse is and exciting journey to America through a young girl Rifka's letters to her cousin. Because of World War 2 the journey becomes very dangerous and life threatening, especially when Rifka gets ringworm and has to stay behind while her family goes on ahead to America. Will she ever make it to the place she always dreamed of going to? Anyone who enjoys a kind hearted, courageous character like Rifka is bound to love the book Letters from Rifka. I really enjoyed reading this book because of the quality traits in the main character Rifka. It is an interesting, adventurous well written book. I think anyone could read this book and enjoy it no matter what their age is.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 1999

    A touching story for upper elementary and up

    This story has it all: adventure, suspense, hope, sadness, and joy, all in a realistic historic setting that teaches as well as entertains. The author uses an imaginative writing style to show how much can be accomplished when one is determined and brave. A truly remarkable book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    So good

    Coooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Tap here for book club

    Hey i'm making a online book club and you have to be around age 10 and in 4th grade to be part of it so if you want to join to read this book add me with my email wich is jheovaniemikouanya@yahoo.frthis is going to be the second time reading it only if i make a book club.so hope you join.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    I read this at school!

    I read this in fourth grade and i loved it!! A bit graphic tho and im only ten so parts were scary for me.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    If you do not like this book you do not know what you are talking about

    Gshgbthxjbbhfhfhffj

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Help answer me please someone

    I read it very enjoyable but i dont understand the part with her hair what dies it have to do with her anyways

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Loved it!

    Also read Out of the Dust by the sanme author if you liked thus biokb too

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    An Amazing Book

    Letter from Rifka is a superb book about a 12 year old Jewish girl who lived in Russia in 1919. She wanted to be free in America with her 3 older brothers who she had never met before because they had left Russia when she was a baby. But when she and her family begin her journey they run into problems. For example she got ringworm from a woman on a train. Another problem was that she got typhus from a doctor in Poland.
    When I read this book I was amazed by her passion to finally get to America. Some parts horrified me. Some parts devastated me. But all in all it was a heart-warming book that I only put down when my teacher told us that we had read all we had to read for that day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better tha nanything i have ever read!

    This book is so great that words cannot expain how i feel. Rifka Nebrot is a 12 year old Jewish-Russian girl on a mission to flee Russia to go to America. The Czar had just been murdered and World War I has just broke out. When her family finally makes it to the half way point, sickness and tragedy strikes the family. They all fall into the deadly hole of the sickness Thypus. And worse yet, Rifka gets Ring Worm. When everyhthing seemed horrible, it just got worse. Rifka's family has to leave Poland . . . without Rifka. How will Rifka survive on her own? Will her Ring Worm subside? Find out in this compelling and heart warming tale of a girl who tries to find herself in all the wrong places and whos life gets turned upside down by one little mistake. You'll enjoy the Alexander Pushkin poems in the beggining of every letter to her cousin Tovah, as i did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4