Customer Reviews for

Letters Of A Woman Homesteader

Average Rating 3.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Inspiring

Amazing, surprising account of one woman's adventure in the raw and cold west. The writing is so simple, with subtle emotion, powerful description, and the friendly voice of a woman writing home to an old friend.

posted by Anonymous on November 12, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I Simply Could Not Bear It

I drive a lot and hence listen to many audio books - this is the first time I couldn't wait to remove the discs from my player. There is no substance to Elinore's letters so one is forced to hear endless dribble about people we don't learn to care about. I could not e...
I drive a lot and hence listen to many audio books - this is the first time I couldn't wait to remove the discs from my player. There is no substance to Elinore's letters so one is forced to hear endless dribble about people we don't learn to care about. I could not even care about the author.

posted by Anonymous on May 5, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2000

    Inspiring

    Amazing, surprising account of one woman's adventure in the raw and cold west. The writing is so simple, with subtle emotion, powerful description, and the friendly voice of a woman writing home to an old friend.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Really good

    This book is really good!
    I think every girl should read this!




    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Excellent Read!!

    I'd seen the movie "Heartland" which is based on this book so I was so very excited to finally find it. the book did not disappoint. I could not put it down and was sorry when I came to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    D

    D

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2005

    I Simply Could Not Bear It

    I drive a lot and hence listen to many audio books - this is the first time I couldn't wait to remove the discs from my player. There is no substance to Elinore's letters so one is forced to hear endless dribble about people we don't learn to care about. I could not even care about the author.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    You must love the old days in order to love this book of letters

    You must love the old days in order to love this book of letters. It is just a series of letters but they are like little stories. It was such a joy to read her letters. Those were the days when work was hard and neighbors were usually friendly and the wilderness had beauty. Those were the days when writing was not just important communication but really talking with each other through their letters - a lost art today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Wonderful

    Letters with stamps, stationary,beautiful handwritting . E mail is just o k . It used to be so fun to get a letter in the mail...she writes wonderfully discriptive letters. Today writing (and spelling) is a lost art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarius, Great boek, loved it, and so true.

    Tough woman, Good story, and I know the kind of situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    The...

    The Rainbow Stables!!! You can biard horses here,learn to ride, and to care for your horse!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    This is the

    This is The Speedtime Post Office! Really! When you write a letter post the adress as the search,result, and who it's to. We go there and post it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Good US History diary

    Read this diary on-line on a desktop computer years ago. When the disk crashed discovered I didn't back it up. Glad to get a copy for the Nook. HS student used it for social studies and US history. Many of this type of diary used to be free to read on the Web but have since been withdrawn. Book is a window into a woman's life during the early settlement of the western US by easterners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Great Book

    As i am moving to Wyoming in a few weeks. This was the perfect book to read. True stories of a woman homesteader of the old west. Now I cant wait to go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Light Entertaining Read

    This is an interesting story about how the West was settled. Biographical writing with the flights of fancy that is allowed in writing friends letters. I shared the story with my 10 year old niece. It gave her (and frankly me too) a perspective of life before the simple features of 20th century living.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Karoachie

    This was a really good read. Very interesting lookingninto someones life like that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Just amazing...

    Have REALLY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2