Customer Reviews for

Letters to Jackie: Condolences from a Grieving Nation

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    Historically Important

    This is such an emotionally draining book, but at the same time, it reminds one what is good and what is remarkable about America and Americans. It is historical. I especially found the "first account" letters fascinating from the military people who were part of the funeral procession, as well as the letter from President Garfield's grandson - his family, of course, having first hand experience with assassination. Thank you, Professor Fitzpatrick for this wonderful and important book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    Bravo

    Letters to Jackie is a book that will surprise many readers for many personal reasons. Most people do not realize how many Americans took the time to write a condolence letter to the First Lady. Politically, not every letter was written by people that agreed with JFK's politics, but the humanness of the loss was overwhelming and people ignored their politics. It's an important book for younger readers as well as it fills in large gaps of history that many have never encountered in school. They will experience through these letters a sense of hope and love for this man as a humanitarian. JFK affected ALL Americans in a profound manner- poor and rich, young and old. You will see this vividly when reading the letters' outpouring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    An Important Book for All Generations

    This may be one of the most important books for this era. The book transcends all generations. Baby boomers will be reminded how a nation united under tragedy. The younger generation will fully understand what the death of JFK meant to the nation, young, old, educated, uneducated, rich and poor. MS. Fitzpatrick has done a fantastic job of bridging the generational gap. The reader will also come away with the disturbing knowledge that we now have destroyed the English language with our wonderful technology. When a convicted felon's letter reads like exquisite poetry, it makes one wonder. To read one letter draws you into the next and the next. I loved it.
    I also wonder, if this incident had occurred now, would the nation take the time to write letters of condolence to a First Lady? How do you "text" a condolence letter? Would anyone bother to "write" a letter.

    Lyn Roberts

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    A very moving book

    The author was right when it was said that anyone alive at that time would never forget where they were and what they were doing when they heard that JFK had been murdered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Moving

    This book is by far one of the most amazing and emotional of its kind. Not only does it have countless letters of grief and inspiration, but also wonderful historical narrations of the tragic event by the author. The letters are presented with a remarkable flow. Enjoyable for any history buff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    Revisiting the Past

    I am transported back in time as I read this thoughtfully edited volume. The events in my past are coming to life, as I read others' outpouring of heartfelt feelings following President Kennedy's assassination. I am both savoring the work, and taking in my fill of sadness a few hours at a time, as I read this very worthwhile purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    A Reawakening

    When Kennedy died, the myth of Camelot came to an end. We who were children during his presidency remember those years as a fairty-tale time, and the day he died as a singular tragedy that shook our entire worldview. It's a real awakening to be brought back so vividly right into that time, those feelings and those emotions of childhood, but now as an adult reader with adult sensibilities. Whatever one's current politics and historical view of Kennedy's presidency, he was nonetheless, in his day, a tremendously powerful mythological figure who symbolized for the entire world the very deepest stirrings of the American Dream. The power of that myth is something we did not see again on the world's stage until the day Obama was elected. This is not about politics. It's about dreams and their power. This book of unmediated letters speaks directly to that dream and the highest transcendence of that power. As such, it is a superb sociological document, and a thrilling and tearful encounter with the past. The author undertakes to fill in the background, selecting and organizing the material with commentary for those who were not there. This effort is moderately successful, but the real fascination lies within the letters themselves. Overall, a very worthwhile read, and a truly commendable project. One only regrets that it comes to an end with just 250 or so of the 1.5 million letters originally written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1