Customer Reviews for

Letters to a Secret Lover

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sexy and Hot!

This was the first time I'd ever read a book by this author, but it won't be my last! I totally enjoyed this book from beginning to end. Rob and Lindsey make a great couple! He is super hot! She definitely can write a love scene. Whew! I loved the secondary charac...
This was the first time I'd ever read a book by this author, but it won't be my last! I totally enjoyed this book from beginning to end. Rob and Lindsey make a great couple! He is super hot! She definitely can write a love scene. Whew! I loved the secondary characters and I loved the fact that they were included in the story throughout. I wish I knew where a real Moose Falls was. Maybe I'd move there. She had me loving the town and it's people. She did keep me guessing about the "secret lover" for a long time. And that tatoo on Rob's chest was another guessing game. This man had been badly hurt by the things that occurred in his life and felt unworthy of anyone's love. Thank goodness for Lindsey and her Aunt Millie. Neither gave up on him. Not only did Lindsey find love and heal her heart, she found her love of family again in Moose Falls. This was a really, really good book!

posted by 1lovealways on September 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not at all what I expected.

Wow, am I in the minority on this one.

According to the back of the book Lindsey Brooks writes a love advice column & lives in Chicago. After an embarrassing incident with her fiancé she retreats to a small Montana town where she hopes to buy back her late aunt...
Wow, am I in the minority on this one.

According to the back of the book Lindsey Brooks writes a love advice column & lives in Chicago. After an embarrassing incident with her fiancé she retreats to a small Montana town where she hopes to buy back her late aunt's canoe livery. There she meets Rob Colter who now owns the livery. After they become involved she finds "passionate" letters written to another woman whose name is tattooed on Rob's chest. Now his dangerous past is about to catch up with them both.

First, I thought this was supposed to be a romantic suspense novel, but the "suspense" is little more than one chapter and the "romance" about the same. What there was was a ridiculous amount of sex. After the first time, sex comprises about every second chapter. Rob and Lindsey dislike each other at first meeting, a lot, yet have an immediate sexual attraction to each other.

Second, there was nothing the least bit "passionate" about the letters. They never mentioned anything Rob & Gina did together, anything Gina had done on her own, or things they'd talked about and there was NOTHING in the letters that was the tiniest bit suggestive.

Third, Lindsey was an idiot. Anyone with two brain cells to rub together knows better than to put such personal, detailed information on a blog.

Fourth, the likelihood that someone on her blog and Rob having a history together was minuscule.

This is the first Toni Blake book I've read and she is a good writer. I just didn't care for this book and how the plot played out. But I'd probably try another of hers.

posted by mahikahn on March 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Letters to a Secret Lover *WONDERFUL*

    I could not get enough of this book. The plot is wonderful. The secret keeps you guessing. Rob and Lindsey are characters you can relate too. Their chemistry is exciting. The story takes twist and turns you don't expect, and in the end it all comes together nicely. I love Toni Blake's style of writing! Bravo!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sexy and Hot!

    This was the first time I'd ever read a book by this author, but it won't be my last! I totally enjoyed this book from beginning to end. Rob and Lindsey make a great couple! He is super hot! She definitely can write a love scene. Whew! I loved the secondary characters and I loved the fact that they were included in the story throughout. I wish I knew where a real Moose Falls was. Maybe I'd move there. She had me loving the town and it's people. She did keep me guessing about the "secret lover" for a long time. And that tatoo on Rob's chest was another guessing game. This man had been badly hurt by the things that occurred in his life and felt unworthy of anyone's love. Thank goodness for Lindsey and her Aunt Millie. Neither gave up on him. Not only did Lindsey find love and heal her heart, she found her love of family again in Moose Falls. This was a really, really good book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE THIS STORY!

    This book blew me away. I expected a nice (and typical) love story and got so much more. Lindsaey and Rob's story made me feel so many emotions: lust, fear, love, sadness, humor, sympathy...this book is simply amazing. Without giving away any of the plot (and there are a lot of secrets in it!), you should read this book if you want a story that has hot sex scenes, funny dialoge, suspense, and a few important life lessons here and there (like learning the true meaning of forgiveness and truly learning the value of the simple things in life). It's a great escape book. Enjoy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not at all what I expected.

    Wow, am I in the minority on this one.

    According to the back of the book Lindsey Brooks writes a love advice column & lives in Chicago. After an embarrassing incident with her fiancé she retreats to a small Montana town where she hopes to buy back her late aunt's canoe livery. There she meets Rob Colter who now owns the livery. After they become involved she finds "passionate" letters written to another woman whose name is tattooed on Rob's chest. Now his dangerous past is about to catch up with them both.

    First, I thought this was supposed to be a romantic suspense novel, but the "suspense" is little more than one chapter and the "romance" about the same. What there was was a ridiculous amount of sex. After the first time, sex comprises about every second chapter. Rob and Lindsey dislike each other at first meeting, a lot, yet have an immediate sexual attraction to each other.

    Second, there was nothing the least bit "passionate" about the letters. They never mentioned anything Rob & Gina did together, anything Gina had done on her own, or things they'd talked about and there was NOTHING in the letters that was the tiniest bit suggestive.

    Third, Lindsey was an idiot. Anyone with two brain cells to rub together knows better than to put such personal, detailed information on a blog.

    Fourth, the likelihood that someone on her blog and Rob having a history together was minuscule.

    This is the first Toni Blake book I've read and she is a good writer. I just didn't care for this book and how the plot played out. But I'd probably try another of hers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    cute and fun read

    This is a typical contemporary romance. If you set your expectations as such, the read is light and fun. I chose this book after reading "The Red Diary" by the same author. I thoroughly enjoyed it and found it to be more interesting than this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Love this book

    I absolutely could not get enough of this book. It moved a little slow in the first half, but i still couldnt put my Nook down. I laughed and I cried. The book is so relatable. I recommend it 100%. It does get pretty steamy in the sex seans so if you cant handle that part dont get it, but for the rest of you out there, youre going to LOVE IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    LOVED

    GET A COPY TODAY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Good story

    Another good story by Toni Blake...she really knows how to create realistic characters that draw you in time and time again :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm Nothing But a Fish, DANGLING From Ms. Blake's TANTALIZING HOOK!

    ***NOTHING SHORT OF A 10 STAR RATING!***

    When highly publicized Love/Relationship Advice Columnist, Lindsey Brooks, surprises her fiancée, Garrett, greeting him as he arrives home. Wearing NOTHING but an apron & a pair of "Kitten-Heels." All the while she has prepared this SUPERB dinner for them to share. What's a girl to do when the feelings AREN'T MUTAL, & he DOESN'T find her APPEALING any longer? Does she do an about-face, pack her things, & walk out the door without a word? Or does she get MAD-AS-HELL & throw the first thing she sees at his arrogant, smug face?

    My BET is on the latter part of the question, especially since a paparazzi picture of Lindsey, in her apron, & Garrett wearing strawberry filling from the cake she threw at him, end up in the news, Internet, and various gossip magazines. Exposing her humiliation & her disastrous break-up for the whole world to see.

    What's Lindsey going to do now, since her life's in SHAMBLES? Perhaps take a trip back to her roots, as Ms. Blake likes to write for her heroines when they need it most.

    Several months ago, when Lindsey was engaged to Garrett, she received a letter from her Aunt Millie. Describing she would like to leave Lindsey her property, and canoe livery as a summer/vacation home in Moose Falls, Montana. However, upon receiving the letter, Lindsey wrote back to her aunt, explaining that at the moment she had decided not to accept her gift, but was appreciative of the gesture.

    Up until this fiasco had occurred, Lindsey now has a SECOND CHANCE, to right a wrong, & finally make amends to her dead aunt. By using all at her disposal, even her life's savings to buy back the property & canoe livery.

    However, it's gonna take more than just MONEY, to persuade Rob Coulter. Especially since he's NOT "MR. POPULAR," with the rest of the folks in town. He's this ATTRACTIVE, BROAD, MYSTERIOUSLY HANDSOME, HERMIT. Who basically keeps to himself, works some construction jobs (when the canoe livery is not open), and lives in Lindsey's Aunt Millie's home with his German Sheppard, named King.

    Rob Coulter is harboring several secrets, one in particular the reason he has been celibate for longer than a year. Most of the book, I kept wondering if he's this WANTED man, trying to hide his true identity, or had he been sexually abused? Or if he's trying to become a monk or something? That, why in the world would this drop-dead-gorgeous lumberjack, be fighting his attraction towards Lindsey? Especially when it's inevitable & undeniably strong.

    The CORRECT reason took me for a LOOP!! This story had my HEART IN MY THROAT, DYING for the next TIDBIT to be REVEALED. I can't think of the perfect words for me to explain how much I admired this book, except for, "I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!"

    I've learned something else about Ms. Blake this week, that she goes by other pen names except for this one. Three in total, Toni Blair, and Lacey Alexander (when she writes Erotic Romance--HUM-YUMMY!!) I can't wait to fill up my library more of her GROUND-BREAKING ROMANTIC ACHIEVEMENTS!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    Toni Blake has never disappointed with her writing. She combines the right amount of romance and drama. The characters are funny and relatable to myself. I read this book and found it hard to put down. I loved how she keeps you in suspense as to who Gina is to Rob. Her decriptions of the town and townfolk make it easier to picture this small town in Montana. Fabulous book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This was Okay...

    I had just finished "Swept Away" and this book paled in comparison...but it was still much better than other romance novels I've read. Toni Blake knows what she's doing! Very good writer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    loved this book

    i love all toni blakes books, omg i keep picking them back up rereading them!!! im so addicted cant wait for next ones!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ok, lots of sex

    Horses, lots of sex and a hot secretive guy. The story was ok. I liked Rob but I didnt care for Lindsey. I might try another of Blakes books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Letters to a Secret Lover by Toni Blake

    One of the most romantic stories I've read in a while. This is truly an emotional read and will have you laughing, crying, smiling, and fuming!<BR/><BR/>After an engagement that goes horribly wrong, Lindsey decides to take a break from her high-society life in Chicago and go visit her recently deceased great-aunt's Montana Cabin. In a tiny town, in the middle of nowhere, Lindsey learns about herself and about what's really important in life. She learns about love and forgiveness and courage...all with the mostly unwilling assistance of a stubborn, sexy man.<BR/><BR/>Rob doesn't 'do' relationships. He's had it with the heartbreak that always follows. Now that he's found a place where he belongs, he intends to stick. Alone. Then Lindsey happens...and somehow she keeps worming her way into his solitary existence.<BR/><BR/>A book romance enthusiasts MUST read. Both the hero and heroine are riddled with flaws, but that's what makes watching their relationship grow so special. Have a hanky handy as you're almost sure to tear up at least once or twice. And even if you don't, you can use it to dab the sweat off your brow after reading the sex scenes!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Sexy...&...Boring

    The book could have been better & shorter. The detachment & lack of warmth between the two main characters made me skip through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    love it!

    I think toni blake is my new favorite author. This book was really good. I think anyone can relate to her stories they really make you feel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    Entertaining and Sexy

    Toni Blake delivers an outstanding story that will have the reader laughing, sighing, wondering, and rejoicing for Lindsey and Rob as they get to know each other and learn how to grow together. All the characters add depth to the story without overshadowing the hero and heroine. The storyline moves along swiftly with interesting dialogue and descriptive scenery. You'll be at the end of the book before you realize it, and left deeply satisfied yet wanting more about Lindsey and Rob.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Romantic, fun, and sexy - wrapped all in one package!

    I have to start this off by giving my opinion of the book cover and back cover blurb. I absolutely LOVE the cover!!! The colors are gorgeous and the couple on the front is just extremely sexy! As for the blurb on the back... I was uncertain of what to think of this book. I honestly didn't know how much I was going to enjoy this one. I bought the book though as I've enjoyed other books by Toni Blake so much that I pretty much just pick up her books no matter the storyline. In this case, I'm REALLY glad I was already familiar with her because I would've missed out on a great read if not! LtaSL has it all... an extremely sweet story line, sweet and steamy sex scenes, comedic breaks, suspense, anticipation, etc... Blake did a fantastic job combining everything into one book and the story is very well-rounded. There was one part in the book that I had pretty much predicted ahead of time, but when it actually came out in the book I was given chills. Blake's writing is powerful and heartfelt. I'm definitely going to be putting some of her other books towards the top of Mt. TBR in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fun contemporary eomance

    Relationship advice columnist Lindsey Brooks feels she is on top of the world with a hunk of a fiancé Garrett, a great job, and excellent shopping choices in Chicago. However when Garrett dumps her, a hurt and embarrassed Lindsey decides to retreat. She heads to Moose Falls, Montana with a plan to purchase the canoe livery once owned by her late great-aunt Millie. Thus she and her family can go rural when they need an urban retreat whenever they want.------------------ The owner grumpy Rob Colter refuses to sell. He is attracted to the city slicker, but wants her to leave him to his snippy existence. She thinks he is perfect for her sexually as she is attracted to the grouch. As they fall in love, she finds his passionate love letters and discovers the tattoo on his chest she concludes he met and lost his soulmate and second helpings is not her style.---------------- Though many readers will guess the twist to this fine romance, the eccentric small-town residents enhance a fun contemporary as the advice columnist and the grump fall in love. The amusing story line embellishes the differences between the lead pair yet shows how compatible they are in and out of bed. Fans will appreciate Toni Blake¿s fine romance as Lindsey knows she found love, but her beloved had found his soulmate before her based on reading the LETTERS TO A SECRET LOVER from Rob to Gina the truth will set them free.------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    An emotional read. Wonderful

    Toni Blake¿s ability to weave an emotional charged story really shines in Letters To A Secret Lover. ------ Lindsey Brooks has written a successful Love Letter column for years in Chicago. When her own engagement blows up in her face, she retreats to Montana to try to buy back her great Aunt¿s business. Her first night in town is memorable for she drinks a tad bit to much and who comes to her rescue but Rob Colter. Rob is only the man she needs to buy the business from. According to the town gossip Rob is the town loner and Lindsey will have her work cut out for her getting on Rob¿s sweet side. _______ Rob Colter settled in Moose Falls Montana several years ago. He likes his quiet life and the niche he has made in the community. Rob¿s attempts to ignore Lindsey are hard fought. When she pleads to learn more about her aunt¿s life Rob agrees to show her around. _____ Rob and Lindsey¿s relationship changes from adversaries to lovers. Lindsey comes to realize that what she had with Garrett her ex is nothing compared to what she feels for Rob. But Rob is keeping a terrible secret that he is afraid will change everything if Lindsey or the town finds out. _____ Letters To A Secret Lover is an poignant journey of love and discovery. Rob and Lindsey aren¿t picture perfect characters. They have flaws like real people and this makes you really feel their sorrow and joy. Each page will make you fall in love with them as they do. This book should be on every romance readers list of books to get. You will not be sorry. Kudos Toni Blake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3