Customer Reviews for

Letting Go (Surrender Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Let me be perfectly clear: I thoroughly, totally, slavishly ador

Let me be perfectly clear: I thoroughly, totally, slavishly adore Maya Banks. And her books. All of them (and I've read them all, in some cases several times!). "Letting Go" is the first I her new "Surrender" Trilogy, visiting some old, kinky territo...
Let me be perfectly clear: I thoroughly, totally, slavishly adore Maya Banks. And her books. All of them (and I've read them all, in some cases several times!). "Letting Go" is the first I her new "Surrender" Trilogy, visiting some old, kinky territory and folk, which I always like to do. I snagged this book so fast the bookseller in Penn Station got whiplash, and started in reading the moment I got my seat on the LIRR for my evening commute and was thrilled from the get-go. The story was wonderful, characters tortured and conflicted (makes for a better happy ever after, in my opinion - the harder the trials, the more satisfying the victory at the end for the happy couple). Joss is a widow of 3 years, still mourning her husband, but having made the decision to now seek out what he could not give her: Dominance. 24/7 - in the bedroom and life. Dash has loved his best friend's widow since day one but being an honorable sort kept it platonic. He's already planning to change that relationship with Joss, but when he sees her on the arm of another Dom in The House - the BDSM club we came to know and love in the Sweet series - he sees red. And green. If Joss wants to be dominated, there's only one man to do it. And faster than you can say your safe word, Joss' world is titled on its axis by Dash. We visited with some old friends from the "Sweet" series (which thrilled me like a master hand with a flogger), and there was sex hot enough to melt the ice outside. Banks really does turn up the blowtorch heat level a notch with some raw, satisfying bedroom dominance. And a scene at The House that is knee-tremblingly excellent. I would have loved a bit more outside the bedroom, more beyond the budding Dom/sub sexual relationship. Joss' nursing career ponderings weren't resolved and I think it would have been interesting to see the dynamic of that conflict. But the yearning was there. The desire, the lust, the frenzy was there. The friendship among the 3 women was lovely, and even an imperfect one, as we all know friendships can be. The hero had a chip on his shoulder (and imperfection is attractive to me because it gives the heroine something to change). If you're a fan of deeply emotional, hot and kinky love stories where decisions can be painful and characters have flaws that make them richly human, this one should top your list.

posted by Lise_Horton on February 7, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Not a good book for me. Characters dialog was repetitive. Just kept saying same things over and over. Have been a fan of this author untill last few books. Don't think I will purchase more. Her books are too expensive for what you get.

posted by Anonymous on February 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Anonymous

    Not a good book for me. Characters dialog was repetitive. Just kept saying same things over and over. Have been a fan of this author untill last few books. Don't think I will purchase more. Her books are too expensive for what you get.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    Ok save your $$$! There are no broken barriers here and I am bor

    Ok save your $$$! There are no broken barriers here and I am bored silly, this is the same old story and she has written it better in the past! 

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Don't waste your money

    I HAD been a fan of Ms Banks but her ladt two books were cookie cutters. The "formula" is stale. I am sure that she can come up with better ideas for a book. This one was boring and lacked any emotion from the characters until the accident happened. Too little too late to save this story. Even Banks' sex scenes were contrived and "same ol', same ol' stuff. For $7.00 it was soooo not worth it!!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Not nearly as good as her normal work

    I'm a big fan of her books and series, but this new series is not good. I feel like the characters are whining the whole time and keep rehashing the same plot-point over and over. I could barely finish this one and have no interest in reading the others in this series. I hope she gets back soon to her typical work.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Let me be perfectly clear: I thoroughly, totally, slavishly ador

    Let me be perfectly clear: I thoroughly, totally, slavishly adore Maya Banks. And her books. All of them (and I've read them all, in some cases several times!). "Letting Go" is the first I her new "Surrender" Trilogy, visiting some old, kinky territory and folk, which I always like to do. I snagged this book so fast the bookseller in Penn Station got whiplash, and started in reading the moment I got my seat on the LIRR for my evening commute and was thrilled from the get-go. The story was wonderful, characters tortured and conflicted (makes for a better happy ever after, in my opinion - the harder the trials, the more satisfying the victory at the end for the happy couple). Joss is a widow of 3 years, still mourning her husband, but having made the decision to now seek out what he could not give her: Dominance. 24/7 - in the bedroom and life. Dash has loved his best friend's widow since day one but being an honorable sort kept it platonic. He's already planning to change that relationship with Joss, but when he sees her on the arm of another Dom in The House - the BDSM club we came to know and love in the Sweet series - he sees red. And green. If Joss wants to be dominated, there's only one man to do it. And faster than you can say your safe word, Joss' world is titled on its axis by Dash. We visited with some old friends from the "Sweet" series (which thrilled me like a master hand with a flogger), and there was sex hot enough to melt the ice outside. Banks really does turn up the blowtorch heat level a notch with some raw, satisfying bedroom dominance. And a scene at The House that is knee-tremblingly excellent. I would have loved a bit more outside the bedroom, more beyond the budding Dom/sub sexual relationship. Joss' nursing career ponderings weren't resolved and I think it would have been interesting to see the dynamic of that conflict. But the yearning was there. The desire, the lust, the frenzy was there. The friendship among the 3 women was lovely, and even an imperfect one, as we all know friendships can be. The hero had a chip on his shoulder (and imperfection is attractive to me because it gives the heroine something to change). If you're a fan of deeply emotional, hot and kinky love stories where decisions can be painful and characters have flaws that make them richly human, this one should top your list.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Disapointed!!!!!

    Expected much more from this author, loved her last series***** many gramatical errors and i found it difficult to keep interest***** very repetive**** i hope she steps up her game with the next book in this series

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2014

    I've loved several of her other books but not this one. The dial

    I've loved several of her other books but not this one. The dialog was EXTREAMLY repetitive, saying the same thing five different ways before moving on to a response. I expect more from Maya Banks. The story had me lacking feeling through the majority, the beginning got me interested but as soon as she arrived at Dash's house things seemed to go at a snails pace and seemed to be forced, cookie cutter, etc. The only other part that got me interested was the fight/accident at the end but even as soon as the scene shifted from the hospital it became that same cookie cutter all over again with very little content and a lot more repetitiveness. Maya banks writes books to inspire all kinds of emotions, a main one for romance books is passion. Her books have given me that in the past but this one even in the most intimate scenes I felt nothing. I'm not sure if Ms. Banks will ever hear of this but know I am a fan and a reader and adore several of your other works, but this is not your best ma'am and if you aren't going to give it your all don't toy with our emotions by getting us excited for a book when all you will do is break our hearts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    This novel is horrid and poorly edited.  The characterization is

    This novel is horrid and poorly edited.  The characterization is weak and the plot-line lacks authenticity.   Granted this is not the classical literature I teach, but I am shocked a publisher would accept such an attempt.  Don't waste your money.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    NOT a bestseller

    Poor plot. Waste of $. I actually delete dit from my nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Good storyline

    Repeats lines too many times. Although I enjoyed reading this book, I have read better by this aughor

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    I have to be honest and tell you I read some of the other review

    I have to be honest and tell you I read some of the other review, and it still didn't change my mind. I found the book enticing and saucy, and had a difficult time putting it down. I eagerly await the second in the series! Hoping this helps others who are interested in "Letting Go"!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    What a fun, saucy, entertaining start to an utterly delicious ne

    What a fun, saucy, entertaining start to an utterly delicious new trilogy!

    When Josslyn finally stops grieving from the unexpected loss of her husband, she decides to go after the one thing Carson could never give her, dominance. She’s certainly not looking for a love relationship of any kind. What she wants is someone who can teach her and help her discover the joys of a world she has desired for so long. After gaining membership into an exclusive Dominance club named “The House”, she decides to go for it, but when she sees Carson’s best friend Dash there, she quickly starts rethinking her decision, especially since she has no idea why he’s there or why he looks so angry to see her…..

    Dash has been waiting for three long years for Joss to see him, REALLY see him. Not just as her friend and shoulder to cry on, but as a man. A man who’s been in love with her since the first day he saw her. A man who lived a silent hell knowing that the women he loved and desired was married to his best friend. So when he learns that she’s going to The House to experiment with dominance, he’s angry. REALLY angry. If it’s dominance Joss wants, then he would be the man to introduce her to that world. He would be the only man to possess and control her. To love her.

    As Dash and Joss begin to transform their friendship into something more, Joss struggles with letting go of the past and learning to live in the present. But is it really Joss who is having trouble with the new dynamics of their relationship or is Dash struggling more than he’s willing to admit? Can Dash and Joss find a happily ever after or will the ghost of Carson be enough to keep them from fulfilling all of their wildest fantasies?

    As this was my first experience with a Maya Banks book, I can honestly say that this is a book I thoroughly enjoyed. The characters, the story, the extreme emotions that radiate off the page, are all aspects of the book that will keep you turning page after page. The dominant/submissive aspect of the novel was very tastefully done, not at all graphic, and actually quite romantic! The way Joss was willing to give everything to Dash, trusting him completely, willing to fully submit and give their relationship her all was so endearing. Dash’s alpha-male personality is uber sexy and exudes confidence and power. He is certainly a lust-worthy character! Overall I thought this was a powerful start to a new trilogy and I cannot wait to read the rest! If the rest of the series is as entertaining and sexy as this one, we are in for a real treat from Maya Banks! Received for an honest review.

    Rating: 4.5

    Heat Rating: Extremely Scorching

    Reviewed by: AprilP

    Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    Letting Go was an amazing book. Just as Joss decides to move on

    Letting Go was an amazing book. Just as Joss decides to move on with her life after the death of her husband she shocks the life out
    of Dash. Joss always wanted a D/s relationship with her husband, Carson,  but growing up in an abusive home kept him from giving
    that to her. Carson has been dead 3 years when Joss decides to reach for what she wants, only to discover Dash at the same exclusive
     club she is at to explore her submissive side. Dash had wanted Joss from the day he met her, but being his best friends girl put a
    crimp in his plan, until the night Joss shows up at The House. Now he won't take no for an answer. 
    Maya Banks as always did a wonderful job writing Letting Go and I can't wait for Giving In to read more on Kylie, Joss's best friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    Awful

    It's pretty rare when I can't finish a book but this one I couldn't even get halfway through before I put it down. I thought both characters were not likeable and wooden. The last two books by Ms. Banks have been poorly written and the characters not likeable at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Bleck....

    Not my kind of book....didn't get all the way through it and deleted it from my library. Definitely don't find the type of lifestyle in this book conducive to romantic reading...other people may love it, but just not for me, sorry Maya!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    So glad to hear that I'm not the only one who finds that Ms. Ban

    So glad to hear that I'm not the only one who finds that Ms. Bank's last few books were repetitive, and plot line was boring. I had such hope for this series after not finishing that last couple of books. I won't be finishing this one and won't purchase any more books by her in this genre. I still love her KGI series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    The entire story is boring and so are the characters.  It's the

    The entire story is boring and so are the characters.  It's the same repetitive story she tells over and over.  
    Underdeveloped story and characters.  Don't waste your money.   

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    This book should have been entitled Carson because the entire bo

    This book should have been entitled Carson because the entire book centered around him and what he would think, what he wanted and if he was ok with what was happening! The entire book!! I couldn't believe it!! I am sorry to say this because I love Maya Banks and her work, but her last three books, Burn, After the Storm and now this one, have not been up to par at all, and they almost read as the same exact story with a little bit of a twist in the names of the characters. The stories are very repetitive, the characters speak in these long drawn out paragraphs for pages upon pages, there is way too much inner dialogue, when a conflict occurs the guys are treated as though they have committed the ultimate sin and the woman's actions had no role in the cause of the conflict, and the guy is made to grovel and beg while the woman does not apologize at all, because she is perfect.

    Ok, overall I liked the characters in the book with the exception of Kylie. I understand she has been through a lot but all of the nasty lashing out was just too much for me. No one needs to be that nasty to her friends. I also really hate that one of the characters is named Chessy. I'm sorry if that is anyone's name out there, but seriously, I really don't like that name at all. It didn't fit the character either. Why couldn't she go with Chelsea or Chrissy? Maya Banks had a Chessy in the Breathless trilogy. Time to get a new name. A real name. Sorry. However, I must say that Chessy actually ended up being my favorite character in this story.

    Ok, as for the story itself, it was mediocre. I was not really a big fan of the premise from the get go, best friend in love with best friend's wife even before his best friend's death!! YOWZA!! However, I really felt for Dash because that had to be hell and I totally respected Carson for understanding and trusting his best friend. Yet, I did not like the way Dash, who is supposed to be a Dominant, was portrayed as so desperate to have Joss that he was willing to give all of that up. Umm...I'm no expert on being a Dominant, but what I understand is that it is innate and cannot just be turned off. Anyway, I felt like Dash's love was way too desperate and the whole "your mine" bit from the very beginning of the book was creepy. Seriously, all of the "honeys" really got on my nerves!!

    As for Joss, I felt like all of a sudden she decided that she didn't want to be lonely anymore so anyone would do, so happened Dash was there. I thought it was absolutely ridiculously for her to respond to his declarations with "I didn't know." WHY WOULD YOU??!! YOU WERE MARRIED TO CARSON!! ARRGH!! Oh, and the Carson bit was way too much!! All though she declared she was letting Carson go when did it happen because I missed it??!!! I can understand that it is exceptionally hard to move on from your husband passing away, but Joss's every other statement or thought was about Carson! The entire book was about Carson!! Joss's every thought revolved around Carson. She would say I'm not going to compare them, and then would turn around and do just that!!! Not to mention she may have thought those things were going on in her mind, but they were not!! You were not the only person hearing your thoughts!!!

    I did not get the feeling that the relationship between Dash and Joss flowed naturally. It felt forced. And when the conflict occurred and then as far as I am concerned, the resolution of the conflict did not take into account the story prior to the conflict. Dash had every right to be upset, the hospital scene however was over the top, but he has feelings to, and no man would have appreciated what was happening. Joss was not Miss Perfect. She owed him an apology too. I could not for the life of me understand how it was that Dash was made out to be this seriously insecure jerk and Joss at no point was informed of what she was doing every night while in the bed with Dash!! Are you kidding me??!! And then you have all of the friends taking Joss's side and behaving like Dash is this jerk who deserves to be treated as such. Come on!!

    I'm sorry this review is so long, but I had serious problems with this book. It was way too repetitive, the relationship between the two main characters felt forced, there was so much internal dialogue that it was annoying and when the dialogue did occur it went on forever and it occurred at the most inopportune times!! Who talks that much during sex??!! ARE YOU KIDDING ME??!!!! I was so over the whole Joss is PERFECT meme!! It was so annoying. However, I am hoping the next 2 stories will be better in the trilogy because those books are where the real story lines lie. I believe this book was just the foundation for the next two books, and despite it not being a very good foundation, I will try again with the Surrender trilogy, because I am very intrigued by Jensen and very curious as to what is happening with Chessy and Tate. So. I shall forge on, and hopefully I won't be disappointed yet again!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Huh?

    I don't even get why you would be in a club lile that anyway.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Good adult reading

    A little different, but I enjoyed it very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5