Customer Reviews for

Letting Go (Surrender Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Let me be perfectly clear: I thoroughly, totally, slavishly ador

Let me be perfectly clear: I thoroughly, totally, slavishly adore Maya Banks. And her books. All of them (and I've read them all, in some cases several times!). "Letting Go" is the first I her new "Surrender" Trilogy, visiting some old, kinky territo...
Let me be perfectly clear: I thoroughly, totally, slavishly adore Maya Banks. And her books. All of them (and I've read them all, in some cases several times!). "Letting Go" is the first I her new "Surrender" Trilogy, visiting some old, kinky territory and folk, which I always like to do. I snagged this book so fast the bookseller in Penn Station got whiplash, and started in reading the moment I got my seat on the LIRR for my evening commute and was thrilled from the get-go. The story was wonderful, characters tortured and conflicted (makes for a better happy ever after, in my opinion - the harder the trials, the more satisfying the victory at the end for the happy couple). Joss is a widow of 3 years, still mourning her husband, but having made the decision to now seek out what he could not give her: Dominance. 24/7 - in the bedroom and life. Dash has loved his best friend's widow since day one but being an honorable sort kept it platonic. He's already planning to change that relationship with Joss, but when he sees her on the arm of another Dom in The House - the BDSM club we came to know and love in the Sweet series - he sees red. And green. If Joss wants to be dominated, there's only one man to do it. And faster than you can say your safe word, Joss' world is titled on its axis by Dash. We visited with some old friends from the "Sweet" series (which thrilled me like a master hand with a flogger), and there was sex hot enough to melt the ice outside. Banks really does turn up the blowtorch heat level a notch with some raw, satisfying bedroom dominance. And a scene at The House that is knee-tremblingly excellent. I would have loved a bit more outside the bedroom, more beyond the budding Dom/sub sexual relationship. Joss' nursing career ponderings weren't resolved and I think it would have been interesting to see the dynamic of that conflict. But the yearning was there. The desire, the lust, the frenzy was there. The friendship among the 3 women was lovely, and even an imperfect one, as we all know friendships can be. The hero had a chip on his shoulder (and imperfection is attractive to me because it gives the heroine something to change). If you're a fan of deeply emotional, hot and kinky love stories where decisions can be painful and characters have flaws that make them richly human, this one should top your list.

posted by Lise_Horton on February 7, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Not a good book for me. Characters dialog was repetitive. Just kept saying same things over and over. Have been a fan of this author untill last few books. Don't think I will purchase more. Her books are too expensive for what you get.

posted by Anonymous on February 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted September 8, 2014

    I have to say I read the reviews and bought anyways. I love thi

    I have to say I read the reviews and bought anyways. I love this author and her writing style - this was an excellent read with a lot of loss, heart ache and healing. I wasn't to sure this one would end in HEA but it did and I'm so glad Dash & Joss deserved it. Yes there was a lot of talk about Carson but the purpose of the story was loss, heart-ache and moving on after such a loss. I loved it enough said.
    Thanks Maya for another amazing story, looking forward to book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2014

    I just finished reading Letting Go by Maya Banks and I have to s

    I just finished reading Letting Go by Maya Banks and I have to say that I have a book hangover. I thought for sure that this book was not going to make it to the Happily Ever After. There were a lot of obstacles in the way of this couple making it work. One of which was Joss’s dead husband. 
    Dash has loved Joss for years. When he sees Joss enter the club, he knows that it is now or never. When Joss has dreams of her dead husband and starts talking in her sleep, it leaves Dash feeling gutted. 
    I give this book 5 stars***** because the writing of this book was just that good. I have not read a bad novel by Maya Banks and this one is no different. The way that she brings the characters to life is truly amazing. I am now getting ready to start the second book of this series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    It started out good, but then the conversations got super length

    It started out good, but then the conversations got super lengthy. It drags on and on about the SAME thing. Not to mention the "steamy" scenes were weird and not steamy. The author was like the door knock who ruined the moment with pointless dialogue. Disappointed. Not her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    letting go

    This is such a good story of someone having to let a loved one go and finding a new love waiting right in FRONT of your face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    awesome!!!

    i love this story line!!! i hated for the book to end!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Awful

    This book is horrible. I loved the Breathless Trilogy and as a fan of Maya Banks I was looking forward to her next trilogy...boy was I disappointed. I read books one and two and cancelled the third.

    There are too many similarities between this new trilogy and the last trilogy (Breathless)....the character names and catch phrases are the same (Ash / Dash, 'thank f&$#@") the female characters have "their girls" and the male characters screw up and then all is forgiven .... it's so predictable and extremely boring.

    And....what guy states he's going to feed a woman "food made by his own hand"? To add insult..."Dash he takes the food from the bowl, blows on it and then tests the food by touching it to his lip before feeding it to Joss". That's something you do for an infant, not a grown woman in the process of being seduced.

    DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Good adult reading

    A little different, but I enjoyed it very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Loved it!!

    Not sure why it got bad reviews I loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Josslyn, is a widow that has been mourning the loss of her husba

    Josslyn, is a widow that has been mourning the loss of her husband for the past 3 years. She has decided that it is time to let go and continue on with her life. In an attempt to fill the void she has had in her life, she joins a club that caters to something she has always wanted to try. She's always wanted to be dominated, her first time at the club, her husband's best friend spots her and quickly "comes to her rescue". 

    Dash is all alpha male. He is a dominate, not just in the bedroom but in his business life as well. He's had a longstanding crush on his best friend's wife, but has never acted on it. When he spots Joss with another Dom at the club, he quickly acts and tells her how he's always felt about her. The two come to an agreement that suits both their needs. Dash is an alpha male that knows exactly what he wants. He still has that soft side to him though, he wants to spoil his special someone. If you like alphas, you'll love Dash, I know I did.

    Letting Go was steamy, but still managed to build a relationship between the characters. I've had issues in the past with erotic books, since I'm more of a relationship type of gal, but this one was exactly what I was looking for. My only complaint is the story harps a bit too much on the husband's death. I do understand why it mentions it, but I felt it continued to pop up. I enjoyed the characters, but I think my favorite was Dash. I'm in an alpha male type of mood it seems. Letting Go was a naughty read that I would recommend to readers looking for an entrance into this type of genre. I cannot wait to read another MBanks book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2014

    Loved it !!!! 

    Loved it !!!! 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Couldn t put down

    Read it quick n was so happy but cant wait or other two books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Boring Boring

    The whole book was like listening to a long therapy session. They talked about their feelings over and over and over. Not the author i previouly loved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Ugh

    It could have been a good story if it didnt repeat it self over and over and over...... and wait, over again. Finished half and then through it at the wall. I wont be reading anymore of this series and am so glad i picked it up at the library instead of wasting money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Excellent read

    Great, I love Dash!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Slow go

    Baaaah this was So boring I skipped Aarons and still wasn't great. I really do Love her other books just not this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Letting Go???

    I was ready to let go!! Of this book, oh my gosh. It was so boring. It didn't grag hold of me and make me want to read it till I finished it. I've read lots of Maya Banks books and this is by far the worst one. What happened Maya??? I hope the other 2 aren't like this one. I may borrow them before I buy. Very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    A good read

    For the most part I enjoyed the book but there were some slow areas where the writer kept drifting off the subject returning to the same boring remarks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    This book was EXACTLY the same story as her last two. Good look

    This book was EXACTLY the same story as her last two. Good looking guy zeros in on helpless female. Female has group of friends everyone calls "my girls", then gets injured at end of book after fight with good looking guy and it's all resolved. No wonder this author can crank out books so quickly. All she needs to do is change the names. Will not waste my money as I'm sure the next two will be cookie cutters as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Dissapointing

    A decent read but definetly not Maya Banks best work. Found the characters to be boring and too… lovey. Not a proper dominate/submissive relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    It was a no go for me!

    This was a not a good book for me. I read her other series and really liked it. But the streight up whipping didnt work for me. And "darling", seriously? That kind of enderment just didn't fit! I will for sure not be following this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6