Customer Reviews for

Letting Go (Surrender Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Let me be perfectly clear: I thoroughly, totally, slavishly ador

Let me be perfectly clear: I thoroughly, totally, slavishly adore Maya Banks. And her books. All of them (and I've read them all, in some cases several times!). "Letting Go" is the first I her new "Surrender" Trilogy, visiting some old, kinky territo...
Let me be perfectly clear: I thoroughly, totally, slavishly adore Maya Banks. And her books. All of them (and I've read them all, in some cases several times!). "Letting Go" is the first I her new "Surrender" Trilogy, visiting some old, kinky territory and folk, which I always like to do. I snagged this book so fast the bookseller in Penn Station got whiplash, and started in reading the moment I got my seat on the LIRR for my evening commute and was thrilled from the get-go. The story was wonderful, characters tortured and conflicted (makes for a better happy ever after, in my opinion - the harder the trials, the more satisfying the victory at the end for the happy couple). Joss is a widow of 3 years, still mourning her husband, but having made the decision to now seek out what he could not give her: Dominance. 24/7 - in the bedroom and life. Dash has loved his best friend's widow since day one but being an honorable sort kept it platonic. He's already planning to change that relationship with Joss, but when he sees her on the arm of another Dom in The House - the BDSM club we came to know and love in the Sweet series - he sees red. And green. If Joss wants to be dominated, there's only one man to do it. And faster than you can say your safe word, Joss' world is titled on its axis by Dash. We visited with some old friends from the "Sweet" series (which thrilled me like a master hand with a flogger), and there was sex hot enough to melt the ice outside. Banks really does turn up the blowtorch heat level a notch with some raw, satisfying bedroom dominance. And a scene at The House that is knee-tremblingly excellent. I would have loved a bit more outside the bedroom, more beyond the budding Dom/sub sexual relationship. Joss' nursing career ponderings weren't resolved and I think it would have been interesting to see the dynamic of that conflict. But the yearning was there. The desire, the lust, the frenzy was there. The friendship among the 3 women was lovely, and even an imperfect one, as we all know friendships can be. The hero had a chip on his shoulder (and imperfection is attractive to me because it gives the heroine something to change). If you're a fan of deeply emotional, hot and kinky love stories where decisions can be painful and characters have flaws that make them richly human, this one should top your list.

posted by Lise_Horton on February 7, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Not a good book for me. Characters dialog was repetitive. Just kept saying same things over and over. Have been a fan of this author untill last few books. Don't think I will purchase more. Her books are too expensive for what you get.

posted by Anonymous on February 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Let me be perfectly clear: I thoroughly, totally, slavishly ador

    Let me be perfectly clear: I thoroughly, totally, slavishly adore Maya Banks. And her books. All of them (and I've read them all, in some cases several times!). "Letting Go" is the first I her new "Surrender" Trilogy, visiting some old, kinky territory and folk, which I always like to do. I snagged this book so fast the bookseller in Penn Station got whiplash, and started in reading the moment I got my seat on the LIRR for my evening commute and was thrilled from the get-go. The story was wonderful, characters tortured and conflicted (makes for a better happy ever after, in my opinion - the harder the trials, the more satisfying the victory at the end for the happy couple). Joss is a widow of 3 years, still mourning her husband, but having made the decision to now seek out what he could not give her: Dominance. 24/7 - in the bedroom and life. Dash has loved his best friend's widow since day one but being an honorable sort kept it platonic. He's already planning to change that relationship with Joss, but when he sees her on the arm of another Dom in The House - the BDSM club we came to know and love in the Sweet series - he sees red. And green. If Joss wants to be dominated, there's only one man to do it. And faster than you can say your safe word, Joss' world is titled on its axis by Dash. We visited with some old friends from the "Sweet" series (which thrilled me like a master hand with a flogger), and there was sex hot enough to melt the ice outside. Banks really does turn up the blowtorch heat level a notch with some raw, satisfying bedroom dominance. And a scene at The House that is knee-tremblingly excellent. I would have loved a bit more outside the bedroom, more beyond the budding Dom/sub sexual relationship. Joss' nursing career ponderings weren't resolved and I think it would have been interesting to see the dynamic of that conflict. But the yearning was there. The desire, the lust, the frenzy was there. The friendship among the 3 women was lovely, and even an imperfect one, as we all know friendships can be. The hero had a chip on his shoulder (and imperfection is attractive to me because it gives the heroine something to change). If you're a fan of deeply emotional, hot and kinky love stories where decisions can be painful and characters have flaws that make them richly human, this one should top your list.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Good storyline

    Repeats lines too many times. Although I enjoyed reading this book, I have read better by this aughor

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2014

    I have to say I read the reviews and bought anyways. I love thi

    I have to say I read the reviews and bought anyways. I love this author and her writing style - this was an excellent read with a lot of loss, heart ache and healing. I wasn't to sure this one would end in HEA but it did and I'm so glad Dash & Joss deserved it. Yes there was a lot of talk about Carson but the purpose of the story was loss, heart-ache and moving on after such a loss. I loved it enough said.
    Thanks Maya for another amazing story, looking forward to book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Good adult reading

    A little different, but I enjoyed it very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Josslyn, is a widow that has been mourning the loss of her husba

    Josslyn, is a widow that has been mourning the loss of her husband for the past 3 years. She has decided that it is time to let go and continue on with her life. In an attempt to fill the void she has had in her life, she joins a club that caters to something she has always wanted to try. She's always wanted to be dominated, her first time at the club, her husband's best friend spots her and quickly "comes to her rescue". 

    Dash is all alpha male. He is a dominate, not just in the bedroom but in his business life as well. He's had a longstanding crush on his best friend's wife, but has never acted on it. When he spots Joss with another Dom at the club, he quickly acts and tells her how he's always felt about her. The two come to an agreement that suits both their needs. Dash is an alpha male that knows exactly what he wants. He still has that soft side to him though, he wants to spoil his special someone. If you like alphas, you'll love Dash, I know I did.

    Letting Go was steamy, but still managed to build a relationship between the characters. I've had issues in the past with erotic books, since I'm more of a relationship type of gal, but this one was exactly what I was looking for. My only complaint is the story harps a bit too much on the husband's death. I do understand why it mentions it, but I felt it continued to pop up. I enjoyed the characters, but I think my favorite was Dash. I'm in an alpha male type of mood it seems. Letting Go was a naughty read that I would recommend to readers looking for an entrance into this type of genre. I cannot wait to read another MBanks book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2014

    Loved it !!!! 

    Loved it !!!! 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Excellent read

    Great, I love Dash!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Not my favorite of her work.

    It's ok. She has written many other books I like better than this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    I really enjoyed this new book by Maya. After reading Letting Go

    I really enjoyed this new book by Maya. After reading Letting Go, I'm still stoked to read the rest of the
    series. I have read everything by Maya Banks that I have been able to obtain of hers. I was happy that
    this series has a connection to the Sweet Series. While this may be the first book of hers that I didn't
    rate a 5, I still think it deserves a strong 4. As I read some of the other reviews by fans, I believe some
    were a little let down that this book has a slower speed than most of her previous stories. However, I
    enjoyed the change in the pace. I found this book to relate more to the characters' emotional feelings
    rather than dealing with outside drama. In the original Sweet Series, there was lust, sex, and outside
    dilemmas for the characters to deal with before they reached their HEA. In Letting Go, there was no
    outside drama or problems for Dash and Joss to deal with, but rather the two had to overcome their
    own personal demons and past in order to move forward. Although this was a new and different
    direction that Maya went in with this series, I enjoyed it. I think the story was a reminder of how often
    couples aren't able to move forward for getting in their own way majority of the time. I'm looking forward
    to reading Giving In next. I believe the Surrender Trilogy is going to be a great success! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Good story

    I enjoyed it. But the girl. She was almost too goody two shoes for me to like. Dash was awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    I love Maya Banks and the story line I can't wait for the next b

    I love Maya Banks and the story line I can't wait for the next book!!!! The characters are easy to relate to and it's an emotional storyline. Letting go and moving on isn't always easy to do but the characters Joss and Dash get through it even though it wasn't easy. I enjoyed the story and would recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Warm emotional story. The characters had me from the beginning.

    Warm emotional story. The characters had me from the beginning. Looking forward to the rest in the series. And thankfully NO CLIFFHANGER!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2014

    I want to start off by saying that so far this is my favorite Ma

    I want to start off by saying that so far this is my favorite Maya Banks’ read.   So far, I have unfortunately only read The Breathless Trilogy, as I have found Maya this past year.  While I am not into the whole dominant/submissive relationship – especially the 24/7 one, I really did enjoy this book.  I think mostly because of two main reasons.  First, I really enjoyed the character development in this story and it was about ½ way through the book before you get to the major steam (that Maya can always deliver on).  Second, I have said this before, but I have no problem with an alpha male in my books; however, I like that alpha to be somewhat swoony… not a jerk… and to be a likeable character.  Dash’s love for Joss certainly had me liking him.   I am sure some will think that the personality of Dash and the way that he treats Joss – would not happen in a dominant/submissive relationship, but this is fiction and I would like to believe that they could have the best of both of those worlds and that that “alpha” certainly could be that way.

    Another think I am sure some people may have a problem with is the fact that Dash was Joss’ deceased husband’s best friend.  I really think that Maya did a great job of showing how and why this could happen.  I totally could believe that you could be in love with your best friend’s wife… hello, how many movies have we seen that this is the case.

    Since this is the first book in the series, Maya has introduced us to a few other characters that you know we will see more of in the next books.  Next up, will be Kylie (Joss’ friend/sister-in-law) and Jensen (Dash’s business partner and one of Kylie’s bosses).  With the backstory we get about Kylie in Letting Go, I am wondering how Maya will pull off the kind of relationship I am sure that Jensen would want from Kylie… and so I wait to find out.

    So, if you are looking for a new steamy book series, especially where each book won’t keep you hanging with a cliff-hanger, give Letting Go a chance – this could be the one for you!  I would love to hear your thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    More relationship than BDSM

    Letting Go is more about the relationship between Dash and Joss than BDSM. Learning to trust in a new unexpected relationship and letting go of the past to fullly embrace it, doesn't come without its doubts. As well as acceptance and closure from one who is gone. Great start to a new series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    This one was a little out there for me. I can see that I think I

    This one was a little out there for me. I can see that I think I'm going to like where the trilogy goes but I just had a really hard time with
    these characters. I think the problem that I had with them is how completely opposite they became. The power shifts and the dynamics
    were enough to make your head spin but at the same time you come to be very invested in them. I like the characters but I can't say
    that I love them. One of the things that I really loved was that both of the main characters were given these moments of deep peace that
    they both attributed as coming from the deceased, I liked that those times where they felt acceptance from him meant a lot to him, it
    gave depth to their relationships with him without us ever having seen any interaction with him and that made it much stronger. Overall
    I did like the book, it was of course, extremely well written, we got our HEA in the end and we can see great things coming in the future
    of the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The new Surrender series by Maya Banks starts out with the book,

    The new Surrender series by Maya Banks starts out with the book, Letting Go. This is a spin off from the Sweet series and fans of erotic romance will love it. Banks proves why she is considered one of the best in the genre with this book about pushing sexual boundaries and finding love in unexpected situations. Fans of Banks and new readers a like will be drawn to a new set of characters who are easy to relate to and complex enough to keep the reader guessing. A fantastic new book, from an all time favorite author!

    What I liked:

    Joss was a great character she came across as very heart felt. She was emotional and poignant and ready to fulfill desires that she didn't even know she possessed. Being a widow, she has known grief and how devastating it can be to a person's self worth and esteem. But she knows it's time to move on and I thought she was courageous and daring to go against what she believed everyone in her life would think was best. She just didn't have any idea that she would find an ally in Dash, her husbands best friend. Banks did a great job with this character and I loved reading about her struggles and her triumphs as she started out in the BDSM culture.

    Dash was the epitome of an alpha male. He was protective and dominant and he wanted his way. He had stood by for years watching Joss with his best friend and even after his death, as Joss grieved. When he figures out that she is finally ready to live again and in a way he never expected, he won't take no for an answer. She will be his and there isn't much that will stop him from having her. I don't usually go for that attitude, but on this character it really worked. He doesn't do things half way. It's all or nothing. When he wins, he wins big. When he loses, it's colossal. His passion was just palpable and Banks wrote him with complete abandonment. I loved how he cared for Joss and wanted the best for her, but also wanted what he wanted, when the wanted it. Very sexy!

    The heat in this one could definitely keep a reader warm on a cold night. Spicy, spicy, spicy. Now I have read other erotic romances who not only pushed the boundaries of sexual exploration but basically ran them over. It wasn't that way with this one. Joss wasn't the kind of character who could have stood that kind of onslaught. She needed a deft hand and I was really glad that Banks gave one to Dash. He knew how hard to push and when to pull back. There is some light bondage, some flogging and that sort of thing, but nothing demeaning or out of context for a character who is just beginning in the culture. Well done!

    What I didn't like:

    This one was a treat. Not too overly daring, but just right for the cast of characters that Banks created. Very authentic and believable. Nothing bad to report although there was a bit of repetition that got on my nerves a little bit, but it was nothing that made me think the book deserved a lower rating. 

    Bottom Line:

    I have read steamier novels but not ones that I thought meshed so perfectly with these well drawn characters. I can't wait to read the stories of the other women in the series and I think Banks has created a series that will draw in a new set of readers to the genre. It's good! And don't you just love that cover... gorgeous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4 REVIEW:  Letting Go is Maya¿s first book in

    NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4
    REVIEW: 
    Letting Go is Maya’s first book in the Surrender Trilogy and it was a great start to this trilogy. In Letting Go we meet a small group of friends that are all trying to learn to live again. Some are dealing with their demons from the past. Some are dealing with their insecurities of the present. And then there is Joss who is trying to figure out how to live again after the death of her husband.

    Joss finally after 3 years of mourning is finally ready to say goodbye and move on with her life and try file the a void that has always been there. But a trip to The House does not go according to plan. Not only does Joss not get what she wants Dash her husband’s best friend is there and whisks her away from what she wants. But just when Joss thinks she will have to work up the courage to walk into the club again Dash throw her for a loop and tells her he will be what she wants, what she needs, what she craves. 
    The only question is can these two learn to trust each other fully? Or will the ghosts from the past drive them apart. 

    I totally love Dash. His is so sweet yet at times a total ass. A total ass that is so in love with this woman that he is blind to the things he does and says. Joss knows what she wants, well kind of, and she is willing to do anything it takes to get that. 
    I really liked this story. Yes there were parts and pieces that were erotic and touches of the BDSM but for the most part I felt like I was reading a great love story. I thank Maya for writing this story. And I am looking forward to Kylie’s story and have high hopes for Chassy & Tate’s book. 

    If you are a Maya Banks fan I think that you will love this book.

    Disclaimer: 
    I received a complimentary copy of the book from PENGUIN GROUP Berkley, NAL / Signet Romance, DAW in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2