Customer Reviews for

Letting Go (Surrender Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Let me be perfectly clear: I thoroughly, totally, slavishly ador

Let me be perfectly clear: I thoroughly, totally, slavishly adore Maya Banks. And her books. All of them (and I've read them all, in some cases several times!). "Letting Go" is the first I her new "Surrender" Trilogy, visiting some old, kinky territo...
Let me be perfectly clear: I thoroughly, totally, slavishly adore Maya Banks. And her books. All of them (and I've read them all, in some cases several times!). "Letting Go" is the first I her new "Surrender" Trilogy, visiting some old, kinky territory and folk, which I always like to do. I snagged this book so fast the bookseller in Penn Station got whiplash, and started in reading the moment I got my seat on the LIRR for my evening commute and was thrilled from the get-go. The story was wonderful, characters tortured and conflicted (makes for a better happy ever after, in my opinion - the harder the trials, the more satisfying the victory at the end for the happy couple). Joss is a widow of 3 years, still mourning her husband, but having made the decision to now seek out what he could not give her: Dominance. 24/7 - in the bedroom and life. Dash has loved his best friend's widow since day one but being an honorable sort kept it platonic. He's already planning to change that relationship with Joss, but when he sees her on the arm of another Dom in The House - the BDSM club we came to know and love in the Sweet series - he sees red. And green. If Joss wants to be dominated, there's only one man to do it. And faster than you can say your safe word, Joss' world is titled on its axis by Dash. We visited with some old friends from the "Sweet" series (which thrilled me like a master hand with a flogger), and there was sex hot enough to melt the ice outside. Banks really does turn up the blowtorch heat level a notch with some raw, satisfying bedroom dominance. And a scene at The House that is knee-tremblingly excellent. I would have loved a bit more outside the bedroom, more beyond the budding Dom/sub sexual relationship. Joss' nursing career ponderings weren't resolved and I think it would have been interesting to see the dynamic of that conflict. But the yearning was there. The desire, the lust, the frenzy was there. The friendship among the 3 women was lovely, and even an imperfect one, as we all know friendships can be. The hero had a chip on his shoulder (and imperfection is attractive to me because it gives the heroine something to change). If you're a fan of deeply emotional, hot and kinky love stories where decisions can be painful and characters have flaws that make them richly human, this one should top your list.

posted by Lise_Horton on February 7, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Not a good book for me. Characters dialog was repetitive. Just kept saying same things over and over. Have been a fan of this author untill last few books. Don't think I will purchase more. Her books are too expensive for what you get.

posted by Anonymous on February 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    I have to be honest and tell you I read some of the other review

    I have to be honest and tell you I read some of the other review, and it still didn't change my mind. I found the book enticing and saucy, and had a difficult time putting it down. I eagerly await the second in the series! Hoping this helps others who are interested in "Letting Go"!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    What a fun, saucy, entertaining start to an utterly delicious ne

    What a fun, saucy, entertaining start to an utterly delicious new trilogy!

    When Josslyn finally stops grieving from the unexpected loss of her husband, she decides to go after the one thing Carson could never give her, dominance. She’s certainly not looking for a love relationship of any kind. What she wants is someone who can teach her and help her discover the joys of a world she has desired for so long. After gaining membership into an exclusive Dominance club named “The House”, she decides to go for it, but when she sees Carson’s best friend Dash there, she quickly starts rethinking her decision, especially since she has no idea why he’s there or why he looks so angry to see her…..

    Dash has been waiting for three long years for Joss to see him, REALLY see him. Not just as her friend and shoulder to cry on, but as a man. A man who’s been in love with her since the first day he saw her. A man who lived a silent hell knowing that the women he loved and desired was married to his best friend. So when he learns that she’s going to The House to experiment with dominance, he’s angry. REALLY angry. If it’s dominance Joss wants, then he would be the man to introduce her to that world. He would be the only man to possess and control her. To love her.

    As Dash and Joss begin to transform their friendship into something more, Joss struggles with letting go of the past and learning to live in the present. But is it really Joss who is having trouble with the new dynamics of their relationship or is Dash struggling more than he’s willing to admit? Can Dash and Joss find a happily ever after or will the ghost of Carson be enough to keep them from fulfilling all of their wildest fantasies?

    As this was my first experience with a Maya Banks book, I can honestly say that this is a book I thoroughly enjoyed. The characters, the story, the extreme emotions that radiate off the page, are all aspects of the book that will keep you turning page after page. The dominant/submissive aspect of the novel was very tastefully done, not at all graphic, and actually quite romantic! The way Joss was willing to give everything to Dash, trusting him completely, willing to fully submit and give their relationship her all was so endearing. Dash’s alpha-male personality is uber sexy and exudes confidence and power. He is certainly a lust-worthy character! Overall I thought this was a powerful start to a new trilogy and I cannot wait to read the rest! If the rest of the series is as entertaining and sexy as this one, we are in for a real treat from Maya Banks! Received for an honest review.

    Rating: 4.5

    Heat Rating: Extremely Scorching

    Reviewed by: AprilP

    Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    Letting Go was an amazing book. Just as Joss decides to move on

    Letting Go was an amazing book. Just as Joss decides to move on with her life after the death of her husband she shocks the life out
    of Dash. Joss always wanted a D/s relationship with her husband, Carson,  but growing up in an abusive home kept him from giving
    that to her. Carson has been dead 3 years when Joss decides to reach for what she wants, only to discover Dash at the same exclusive
     club she is at to explore her submissive side. Dash had wanted Joss from the day he met her, but being his best friends girl put a
    crimp in his plan, until the night Joss shows up at The House. Now he won't take no for an answer. 
    Maya Banks as always did a wonderful job writing Letting Go and I can't wait for Giving In to read more on Kylie, Joss's best friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    letting go

    This is such a good story of someone having to let a loved one go and finding a new love waiting right in FRONT of your face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    awesome!!!

    i love this story line!!! i hated for the book to end!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Loved it!!

    Not sure why it got bad reviews I loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Couldn t put down

    Read it quick n was so happy but cant wait or other two books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    I am very impressed with Letting Go. I adore all things Maya Ban

    I am very impressed with Letting Go. I adore all things Maya Banks so when I first noticed that another character from another story line of hers made an appearance, I was very impressed. It not only shows her dedication to her stories but it's also great that she ties in with former places.




    Joss has been widowed for three years and is finally letting go. On the anniversary of her husband, Carson's death she finds herself letting go and moving forward. Joss decides to finally open up to her darkest fantasies and seek a Dominant male.




    Dash has been in love with Joss since she met his bestfriend Carson. He has patiently waited for the opportunity to be with her. When he finds her at a BDSM Club, he knows he wants to be the only man she is submissive for.




    Letting Go is about moving forward, forgiveness, and healing. Maya Banks as always delivers a strong story line with vivid character descriptions. When Joss was sad, my heart ached with her. I felt her sorrows as they reflected in situations in my own life. I am looking forward to reading more from The Surrender Trilogy. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    A most definite read.

    Maya Banks yet again writes a great story and now I have to wait for the next one. I am definitely going to read the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Highly recommmend

    Excellent book cannot wait fot the 2nd one to come out. Once you start reading you won't be able to put the book down. Another great series for Maya Banks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Steamy & sweet

    Can't wait for the next two!! Story and characters were great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    This was a great book! I cried and laughed through out the book.

    This was a great book! I cried and laughed through out the book. This is book had so much more feeling and it was more then just sex. I can not wait for the next book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Fantastic

    Ms Banks does it again. Such a heart warming, of love lost and love regained!

    You cant go wrong with any book she writes. KGI is another favorite of mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2