Customer Reviews for

Level 1-5 Sight Words: 300+ Flash Cards (5 Books In One)

Average Rating 3
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great Practice for New Readers

One of the problems with new reader books (at least in my house) is that my son keeps memorizing the books we read. As a result, he is cuing more from the picture than from the words. Getting these flashcards helps me practice those important "sight words" with him. ...
One of the problems with new reader books (at least in my house) is that my son keeps memorizing the books we read. As a result, he is cuing more from the picture than from the words. Getting these flashcards helps me practice those important "sight words" with him. We have been playing flashcard games and he is finally identifying the sight words faster than before. I love knowing that he is learning to "read" and not just "memorizing" a story.

posted by LynnSpry on June 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Sample is nothing

I hate how samples only show the table contents..there r many books that r similiar to this one. How do i know which one to get if the samples dont show me anything useful....

posted by 17508373 on February 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    Great Practice for New Readers

    One of the problems with new reader books (at least in my house) is that my son keeps memorizing the books we read. As a result, he is cuing more from the picture than from the words. Getting these flashcards helps me practice those important "sight words" with him. We have been playing flashcard games and he is finally identifying the sight words faster than before. I love knowing that he is learning to "read" and not just "memorizing" a story.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Sample is nothing

    I hate how samples only show the table contents..there r many books that r similiar to this one. How do i know which one to get if the samples dont show me anything useful....

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Boring

    This is one of the most boring waysfor kids to learn. I thought it would have fun, colorful, big size cards showing the words but instead the words are very small, at the top of the screen.This is not child friendly, it is a waste of money.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Sight Word Flash Cards with Lots of features

    I picked this set of flashcards because I liked the features they offered and I was not disapointed.
    1 - the words are grouped. This lets me skip around in a group to practice the words with my son. Plus, since I am within one small group, we can work on those ten words until he gets them.
    2 - the five "books" are broken out by level & frequency... so, after he finished the first set, my son could read words that frequently showed up in his books (like "the") which he loved!
    3 - they aren't distracting. I know some people like colorful words and having each card different, but my son is too smart for that. If each word looked different, he would be able to memorize the card, not just the word. This way I KNOW he is reading the word, not memorizing the page.

    Well, good luck... I hope your child enjoys reading as much as my son. It is so exciting to see him pick these words up and I give these cards much of the credit!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    1

    As an educator, I have to say that there are better sources available to parents out there. Very disappointed! The words were tiny and this was no better than printing out flashcards. Don't waste your money!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    recommend

    My kids love this it really helped with their HFW
    awesome.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Didn't get sight words

    I never got flash cards just sample but paid for the 5 books...grrrrrr

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Good to Practice High Frequency words

    This flashcard book is a nice way to practice the Dolch High Frequency words.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Not what I was expecting.

    I thought that I was going to get a full list of 1st, 2nd and 3rd grade site word and there were only a few in each group. My daughter had already learned all of them to date and she is in 1st grade. 2nd an d 3rd grade were disappointing.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Skip it

    It's ok. happy it was only 2.99

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Good

    This book helped . They were clearly written words that were not too easy and not too challenging. A god buy for someone looking for something cheap and simple to help their child be fluent in reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Pretty Cool

    Flash cards appear on screen and are ordered by frequency.Wish the words were slightly bigger on the screen, but serves its purpose.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Awe

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    UxkzzddaFxknbvdvjcjHGGHJJJVGGVTJGGHKJHGRTIHJKJYHJJUGYTHEGYTERHRWBEYYRUIOPYEYEYYYGGRRUKDHYTT

    YFWWWHZKUTIJUCGVVVVVYGETFRVTG NGGYGGDXHXBCGGHHBGBHHCCGFGBXHCNCFBBVVVVVGHBJMNNNN
    DIGCD
    HCHDVMX
    BX X
    NHF

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Jbgcxrinoknihvdydzxibihvoknijijihygrcxssfhvjbjnjv:5%5-/--;-:* :) :-)

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Vcjhgvjghghjkhbhjbv

    Jigcuychgccfrfgduhvnmbgg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Get the individual ones instead. Hyperlinks don't work properly.

    The in-book-hyperlinks that should allow you to jump from word to word do not work properly. They will always jump you into the fifth book. Once in the fifth book they work fine if you stay in the fifth book.

    Trust me, you want to use these word-links, therefore get the individual books instead!

    The individual books work great.

    Hopefully they will fix this book soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Drq

    Dae

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Glitchy but good

    Bought this to help my autistic kindergartner learn additional vocabulary. He loves it and it is fun for him. Only issue I have is the supposed links to easily jump to words don't work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Kindergarden and 1st Graders

    A very good word list for students in those grades. Knowing these words, this will help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2