Customer Reviews for

Leviathan (Event Group Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

modern day rendition of Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea

The navies from around the world are at a loss to prevent the Leviathan from attacking and sinking all types of vessels from the surface or under the sea. None of the countries have found the ability to stop the Leviathan from controlling the sea. However, the unknown...
The navies from around the world are at a loss to prevent the Leviathan from attacking and sinking all types of vessels from the surface or under the sea. None of the countries have found the ability to stop the Leviathan from controlling the sea. However, the unknown Captain of the Leviathan warns the world's rulers that they will unleash nuclear weapons of mass destruction around the globe if the surface dwellers do not stop their polluting of the oceans.

The American president sends his top team, the Event Group to stop the oceanic terrorists whose actions are reminiscent of Verne's classic Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea. As they begin their counter thrust, the top secret American team is unaware that the Leviathan has a traitor inside their headquarters. This turncoat enables the enemy to take the fight to the Event Group with plans to kidnap the leadership, to insure the breakdown of command and control, and to use as hostages in the event of negotiations.

Using the Event Group in a modern day rendition of Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea thriller, David L. Golemon provides his fans with an enjoyable tale. The story line is fast-paced on land and at sea although very linear with obvious actions and reactions except for a late exciting twist. Fans of Jules Verne or Mr. Goleman will take delight in LEVIATHAN, an exciting story that pays homage to great French author.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Technical details incorrect...

While an interesting read, there are some quite glaring technical faults relating to submarines. The author, early in the book, mentions a Chinese submarine shadowing an oil tanker, "far beneath the sea", yet it has its periscope showing above the sea - periscopes are n...
While an interesting read, there are some quite glaring technical faults relating to submarines. The author, early in the book, mentions a Chinese submarine shadowing an oil tanker, "far beneath the sea", yet it has its periscope showing above the sea - periscopes are not long enough to reach the surface from "far" underwater. Another instance has the Leviathan goinng from "neutral bouyancy" to speed in a short time - neutral boyancy is a depth, not a (lack of) forward motion. Yet another has the Leviathan emptying her ballast tanks of air to bring her to the surface - I believe that would cause the sub to dive, not surface. Supposedly the author consulted with General Dynamics about the future of submarines -- perhaps he should have consulted about the PRESENT of submarines, as well. These mistakes really detract from the story. This was the first book by this author I've bought - I won't be getting any more.

posted by 3860709 on January 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    modern day rendition of Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea

    The navies from around the world are at a loss to prevent the Leviathan from attacking and sinking all types of vessels from the surface or under the sea. None of the countries have found the ability to stop the Leviathan from controlling the sea. However, the unknown Captain of the Leviathan warns the world's rulers that they will unleash nuclear weapons of mass destruction around the globe if the surface dwellers do not stop their polluting of the oceans.

    The American president sends his top team, the Event Group to stop the oceanic terrorists whose actions are reminiscent of Verne's classic Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea. As they begin their counter thrust, the top secret American team is unaware that the Leviathan has a traitor inside their headquarters. This turncoat enables the enemy to take the fight to the Event Group with plans to kidnap the leadership, to insure the breakdown of command and control, and to use as hostages in the event of negotiations.

    Using the Event Group in a modern day rendition of Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea thriller, David L. Golemon provides his fans with an enjoyable tale. The story line is fast-paced on land and at sea although very linear with obvious actions and reactions except for a late exciting twist. Fans of Jules Verne or Mr. Goleman will take delight in LEVIATHAN, an exciting story that pays homage to great French author.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Great Book, Great Series

    The series continues and is as great as all of the rest! A page turner from the very beginning!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Technical details incorrect...

    While an interesting read, there are some quite glaring technical faults relating to submarines. The author, early in the book, mentions a Chinese submarine shadowing an oil tanker, "far beneath the sea", yet it has its periscope showing above the sea - periscopes are not long enough to reach the surface from "far" underwater. Another instance has the Leviathan goinng from "neutral bouyancy" to speed in a short time - neutral boyancy is a depth, not a (lack of) forward motion. Yet another has the Leviathan emptying her ballast tanks of air to bring her to the surface - I believe that would cause the sub to dive, not surface. Supposedly the author consulted with General Dynamics about the future of submarines -- perhaps he should have consulted about the PRESENT of submarines, as well. These mistakes really detract from the story. This was the first book by this author I've bought - I won't be getting any more.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    Nevermind the "Technical details incorrect" review, wh

    Nevermind the "Technical details incorrect" review, who cares? It's FICTION!! Great read as usual! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Excellent series

    As all the previous in this collection, this was a great read. Twists, turns and surprises, great entertainment. Hard to put down. Can't wait to start the next one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Excellent Cross Genre Story

    I admit that I am a fan of The Event Group Series. That said, I am also a fan of Jules Verne, Sci-Fi, and Fantasy. Mix all that together, and the result is Leviathan. The story is full of action, adventure, and fun, but it also probes some deep questions. I would recommend this book to anyone who reads, anyone at all, and that, I believe is high praise.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    I just finished this one in the series, these are just plain fun

    I just finished this one in the series, these are just plain fun to read!, if you like science fiction, mixed with a little black ops, tom clancy 'ish books, then you'll enjoy these. The characters in the series grow on you as you can't help but root for them and their narrow escapes from deaths door. Ok yeah, it can be predictable at times, but aren't most books or movies with central characters that way?..come on..we read to escape so these books do just that...have fun reading these...oh, just a word, there are typos in the books, I don't know how they got past the editor or spell check, but they are minor and not that bothersome...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    As the seried continues and our hero is back form the dead, we w

    As the seried continues and our hero is back form the dead, we wait the outcome.
    i hope it is as good as the previous 3 books.
    I would like a little more depth. More pages to keep me going.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    absolutley a must read it grabs you and doesnt let go

    This was the first event group book I ever read and I look forward to reading more! This is a grab you and hold you kind of read, I recommend it and personally loved the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    Nice Plotting but Characters Fall Flat

    Goleman always manages to put together a good storyline although it was fairly predictable. Nowhere near as suspenseful as Legend. While the mechanical marvels in Leviathan had some believability the biology element simply did not hang together. I just wasn't buying the science and found myself undergoing a number of "eye rolls" in the last few chapters. I still have not been able to work up much of an interest his characters as they are all drawn so one dimensionally. But if you find Dirk Pitt plausible (Clive Cussler)then you will like lead character Jack Collins. I hope the next one is better but I will wait for the price to come down.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Golemon Continues To Improve

    Mr. Golemon continues to improve with each Event Group effort. As in the mold with "Ancients", he has created a storyline containing a fine balance of science fiction along with scientific realism. Mr. Verne would have been proud. Episodes between periods of high action are more interesting with Golemon's continuous development of the Event Group character's persona. After four reads, one begins to get to know them, and expects certain reactions under certain circumstances. Once again, the typos are a distraction, no question. But, don't let that inhibit your enjoyment of a great adventure read. "Primeval" has been started as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Leviathan

    I've been reading the Event Group series practically when it started. His characters are real, the plot, while fantastic, has an air of believability. I was a little impatient to get this book and it did not disappoint. Definitely a page turner.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Golemon's Leviathan

    Same formula as his other books, linking past events with present times.
    Leviathan was not as good as Golemon's first three novels. I would however still recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read!

    David Golemon just gets better with each novel in this series. The event group characters are wonderfully diverse and interesting. If you like James Rollins and Matthew Reilly you have to read these novels, but start with the first one, Event. Sure the story lines are a little out there; aliens, Atlantis, Jules Verne like submarines... But if you like this stuff as I do you won't be disappointed.

    I am ready for the next event Mr. Golemon, bring it on!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4