BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Leviathan (Event Group Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

modern day rendition of Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea

The navies from around the world are at a loss to prevent the Leviathan from attacking and sinking all types of vessels from the surface or under the sea. None of the countries have found the ability to stop the Leviathan from controlling the sea. However, the unknown...
The navies from around the world are at a loss to prevent the Leviathan from attacking and sinking all types of vessels from the surface or under the sea. None of the countries have found the ability to stop the Leviathan from controlling the sea. However, the unknown Captain of the Leviathan warns the world's rulers that they will unleash nuclear weapons of mass destruction around the globe if the surface dwellers do not stop their polluting of the oceans.

The American president sends his top team, the Event Group to stop the oceanic terrorists whose actions are reminiscent of Verne's classic Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea. As they begin their counter thrust, the top secret American team is unaware that the Leviathan has a traitor inside their headquarters. This turncoat enables the enemy to take the fight to the Event Group with plans to kidnap the leadership, to insure the breakdown of command and control, and to use as hostages in the event of negotiations.

Using the Event Group in a modern day rendition of Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea thriller, David L. Golemon provides his fans with an enjoyable tale. The story line is fast-paced on land and at sea although very linear with obvious actions and reactions except for a late exciting twist. Fans of Jules Verne or Mr. Goleman will take delight in LEVIATHAN, an exciting story that pays homage to great French author.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Technical details incorrect...

While an interesting read, there are some quite glaring technical faults relating to submarines. The author, early in the book, mentions a Chinese submarine shadowing an oil tanker, "far beneath the sea", yet it has its periscope showing above the sea - periscopes are n...
While an interesting read, there are some quite glaring technical faults relating to submarines. The author, early in the book, mentions a Chinese submarine shadowing an oil tanker, "far beneath the sea", yet it has its periscope showing above the sea - periscopes are not long enough to reach the surface from "far" underwater. Another instance has the Leviathan goinng from "neutral bouyancy" to speed in a short time - neutral boyancy is a depth, not a (lack of) forward motion. Yet another has the Leviathan emptying her ballast tanks of air to bring her to the surface - I believe that would cause the sub to dive, not surface. Supposedly the author consulted with General Dynamics about the future of submarines -- perhaps he should have consulted about the PRESENT of submarines, as well. These mistakes really detract from the story. This was the first book by this author I've bought - I won't be getting any more.

posted by 3860709 on January 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Technical details incorrect...

    While an interesting read, there are some quite glaring technical faults relating to submarines. The author, early in the book, mentions a Chinese submarine shadowing an oil tanker, "far beneath the sea", yet it has its periscope showing above the sea - periscopes are not long enough to reach the surface from "far" underwater. Another instance has the Leviathan goinng from "neutral bouyancy" to speed in a short time - neutral boyancy is a depth, not a (lack of) forward motion. Yet another has the Leviathan emptying her ballast tanks of air to bring her to the surface - I believe that would cause the sub to dive, not surface. Supposedly the author consulted with General Dynamics about the future of submarines -- perhaps he should have consulted about the PRESENT of submarines, as well. These mistakes really detract from the story. This was the first book by this author I've bought - I won't be getting any more.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1