Customer Reviews for

The Lexus and the Olive Tree: Understanding Globalization

Average Rating 3.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Everything You Need in Your Global Arsenal

    The most thought-provoking reading that I have encountered in my life. The historical background he provides lays the foundation of our global system today. Every economy, every political system, every individual is involved in this interconnectedness of money, information, technology, and corruption. Everybody and nobody is safe. Nobody can escape the system. Friedman's perfect use of metaphors and his many global experiences gives much clarity and understanding in a world riddled with complexities and the unknown. Everyone must read, whether you are interested in economics or not, because the decisions of one country will somehow affect everyone else and we must know how to avoid the harm that some will cause as best as possible. You will not regret reading such a masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Test

    Test

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Makes the world a whole lot easier to grasp.

    With simple terms and a lot of economic terminology, Mr. Friedman made a connection between the day to day decisions and the global growth and decline of nations. When I took a serious look over my budget, at the circumstances that provoked and hindered my purchases, and at the development of my understanding in connection to these purchases, I saw how this book not only makes sense, but is a source for investment success. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a good read along with a major self reflection. Five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    Truly a classic on modern times

    Being a reporter, Freidman's style of writing is a lot more refreshing than those by 'frequent' authors with their numerous sequels. The analogies are well brought out and can easily capture the imagination/interest of readers from every walk of life and in any part of the world. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2002

    A must read

    This book provides a look at globalization and the world as it stands today. Not being a historian, this book does not delve very much into the history and development of globalization. So, if that is what you are looking for look elsewhere. Here is the history contained in the book in a nutshell: 1. The current 'Post-Cold War System' (being defined for what it isn't, not what it is) has been replaced by 'Globalization II'. Globalization I was interupted in 1914 by WWI and did not resume until the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989. 2. The current stage of globalization is largely the resut of the telecommunications revolution of the 1980s. Once again, this is not a history book. It is written much more in the Op/Ed style (befitting of a journalist) and is largely based on Friedman's experiences and insights as a journalist. He has a few original (to my knowledge) theories that I feel will stick around (The Golden Strait Jacket, Golden Arches Theory, etc.) Overall a very insightful book and highly recommended for ease of reading. It didn't quite change my view of the world, but brought it more into focus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2002

    The "New World Order" [sic] Defined

    Even if you have little knowledge of economics, "The Lexus and the Olive Tree" explains Globalization and its effects on the populations of the world. This work attempts to teach the reader many aspects of economics while at the same time giving economic explanations for various historical events. With Middle Eastern terrorists knocking on US doors, this is a MUST READ for any American. Could "Baywatch" be the reason behind the WTC tragedy?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2000

    Balanced, Insightful Review of Upsides and Pitfalls of Globalization

    Friedman shares his rich experience of traveling the world and interviewing people from all walks of life, with illustrative anecdotes on the effects of globalization. This book has prompted me to change my view of certain aspects of globalization, and has broadened my perspective. This book is a must-read for anyone trying to understand what's going on in the world today, and trying to make a living in societies very much in a state of flux.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2000

    A Practical In Depth Look at the New World

    The Lexus and the Olive Tree is a superb work showing the insight of what impact the globalization means today as the basis for the future. Mr. Friedman´s in depth knowledge of world affairs provides practical and concise information so that the reader can easily identify with the latest trends both in business and personal affairs. The book also brings out the social impact that the new world order will have in our societies. Very well organized and full of facts for practical use and research.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1