Customer Reviews for

Liar

Average Rating 3.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Liars

After reading the reviews posted here, I was compelled to write one of my own. Many readers are frustrated with the presence of lies within the writing, but then they say the characters are unbelievable. A little oxymoronic, no? You expect a believable liar to tell y...
After reading the reviews posted here, I was compelled to write one of my own. Many readers are frustrated with the presence of lies within the writing, but then they say the characters are unbelievable. A little oxymoronic, no? You expect a believable liar to tell you the whole truth. Interesting. The book was engaging, intelligent, and it held me to keep reading--solely because I wanted to know the truth. When I found that she lied, I always read faithfully on.

posted by jeffrey_stump on February 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Do not waste your time.

I love book. I love reading. And this is one book i wish i never picked up. It was well written and had an O.k. plot.....but truly i wish i never read the book. Its weird but not in a weird good book kind of way. Just take my advise this truly is a book you do not ever...
I love book. I love reading. And this is one book i wish i never picked up. It was well written and had an O.k. plot.....but truly i wish i never read the book. Its weird but not in a weird good book kind of way. Just take my advise this truly is a book you do not ever want to read. I dreaded trying to finish the book.

posted by NiKKi_Dee on March 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Liars

    After reading the reviews posted here, I was compelled to write one of my own. Many readers are frustrated with the presence of lies within the writing, but then they say the characters are unbelievable. A little oxymoronic, no? You expect a believable liar to tell you the whole truth. Interesting. The book was engaging, intelligent, and it held me to keep reading--solely because I wanted to know the truth. When I found that she lied, I always read faithfully on.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    In depth

    Great book but i think you need to be a certain level of deep to understand it. Great read and very cute!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Luuuuuuuuuv It;) (Press to read comment)

    This book is.......AWESOME!!! I Love how everthing seem so connected!!! Everytime you saw a chapter that said"After", it's a continuation for the next "After" you just read. (If i'm saying that right. LOL:) At first, you would think Micah was telling you the truth the whole time,but she was lying!! The thing that got me the most,and which they could have better on,was the werewolf thing. They could have made something else up,cuz really a werewolf. It doesn't even fit in with the whole concept. But on other hands, the novel was very good and it kept me on the edge of my seat (Like it literally did. Like i gasped and everything.......LOL). I highly recommend this book,hands down and i hope you enjoy it as much as i did. THX!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    5 stars for Liar

    I read this book to review for my library and I have to say, although there is some sex, it is an awsome book. The unexpected paranormal twist that is so popular right now flows relly well with the story and Micah just can't tell the truth, which keeps you guessing the entire way. Overall, great book. I Would definitly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Awsome

    I loved this book. It is a little slow paced at first and some parts are weird but it is a really good book once you start reading it in my opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    origional twist on a popular subject trend with the teens

    Sorry about the headline, I was trying not to give anything away. I read this for our school librarian to see if it was accepable for circulation at a high school library. It had an origionality about it that I liked. The cover is great it will get their attention. Though sex is mentioned it does not go into great detail about it. I believe they see worse on prime time tv. I think that the teens will enjoy Micha and some may be able to relate to her feeling like an outsider at school and relate with how she deals with death. It is a good story about accepting yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    It ROX!!!

    I loved it! It was awesome. The whole meaning of the book blends together in her lies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    Liar

    In the book Liar is about a girl who lies a lot. She has a secret love with a boy he dies and she is blamed if you like drama types of books you will like this one. As you read my advice to you is read until the end even if it gets boring at parts.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Read it, you have to!

    I felt as if i was the character or if i was talking to her as a friend. This book is more realistic than any other i have read and i loved it so much that this is the only book i have ever written a review for( and i read a lot of books).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Wow This is too allthe one star or two star people

    I personaly dont know wat u people are talking about this is a really great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    I WANT ZACH

    HE BOYFRIEND WHO DIED IS AWESOME I SHOULD DATE HIM CUZ IM AN ANGEL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Good book

    Lol :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Dawn's bedroom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Liar to a new level

    Micah is a liar. She tells you that on the first page. But not anymore. She wants to tell you the truth about what happened to her friend Zach. As an investigation progresses, Micah navigates the rumors and harsh High School teenagers, while mourning her loss on her own terms. However, all is not as it seems.

    Switching from Before to After the death makes for very tense reading, with details coming out slowly. It is cliche to hear that the story will keep you guessing right up until the last page, but LIAR takes it to the next level and makes you wonder if what you read was really there at all. The reader will find themselves in an unusual place - unsure whether the narrator is reliable.

    This is an absolutely fantastic book that will make you want to tell all your friends about it, to get their opinion, to discuss with them the events and circumstances. Larbalestier has proven once again to be a top-notch writer for young adults.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2