Customer Reviews for

The Liar Society (Liar Society Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Missy's Reads & Reviews

You know what I miss? I miss those fun little high school mystery books that I used to read when I was a teen. The ones where you're just as clueless as the MC, so you're having to figure out and guess right along with the main character. You know what I'm talking about...
You know what I miss? I miss those fun little high school mystery books that I used to read when I was a teen. The ones where you're just as clueless as the MC, so you're having to figure out and guess right along with the main character. You know what I'm talking about, right? Well, fortunately for us, Lisa and Laura Roecker have brought that back with their debut novel, The Liar Society.

Set in a boarding school, this book has all of the potential to be a run-of-the-mill boarding school book where the main girl is popular with all the hot guys, but the mean girls don't like her and all she wants is a true friend... yadda yadda yadda. Yet again, the authors surprise us by taking the boarding school premise and making it so much more than that. We have a main character who's distraught by her best friend's death and, when receiving e-mails from said dead best friend, she does everything in her power to try and find out what the friend is trying to telling her. What ensues is a story full of adventure and mystery, with a hint of romance and wit added right along with it.

Kate is a wonderfully written MC and I love that they make her such a powerful female in this book - she's got the looks, the attitude and the wit. Plus, there's this sense of undying loyalty for her best friend in the book that just makes me all warm and fuzzy on the inside. I think Kate and her two sidekicks, Liam and Seth, are an amazing trio that work well together. Seth is that guy next door that you can always depend on and Liam is that bad boy that makes your little heart go pitter-patter. Their dynamic together is nothing short of amazingly perfect. I also liked that some of the characters weren't as shallow as they seemed as first and were developed extremely well through the story where it wasn't necessarily told that they weren't as horrible as you thought, you actually saw through their actions how they truly were. Of course, there were some jerks.. but it might surprise you who those jerks really are. Or not.

This is definitely more of a character-driven book, but the plot was not lacking in any way. I loved the use of the flashbacks to show Kate's relationship with her best friend Grace before she died. I also loved the boarding school with all of its rich history and detail. Kate's quest to find out about her friend is endearing and the ending is unexpectedly bittersweet. However, there is closure and a definite hint at another book to follow - one that I will definitely be picking up as soon as it becomes available.

posted by MissysReadsAndReviews on March 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good not great

It was good... once i started reading i kept reading and couldnt put it down... but when i finished it, i just felt like it was missing something. I wasnt satisfied with the end, i wish it would have ended with kate getting some justice and have anwsered some more of my...
It was good... once i started reading i kept reading and couldnt put it down... but when i finished it, i just felt like it was missing something. I wasnt satisfied with the end, i wish it would have ended with kate getting some justice and have anwsered some more of my ?'s. The storyline and plot were good and i found the characters believable, especially kate... even though at some points she seems crazy. So overall its a good quick read that i recomend though i doubt i will add it to my "favorites" book list

posted by 11298832 on July 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    a page turner for sure

    i read this book in a day. it is absolutely impossible to put down. it is a very interesting mystery full of riddles and secret societies. some of the phrasing was a little awkward and i would have loved a little more detail. but other than that stunning; ready for Liar Society 2(; haha

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Suspense and unanswered questions

    Liar Society is a great mix of teenage angst and suspense that really leaves you hungry for more. It starts out with Kate Lowry still mourning the loss of her best friend Grace who was killed in an accident at her private school. But getting an email from the dead girl spurs Kate into trying to solve what really happened to her friend. Along the way there are questionable characters and people who want to stop Kate from exposing all the secrets in this school. There are some flashbacks, but thankfully they are going back to the night that Grace died and what Kate was doing to give you more of a sense of the scene.
    The character of Kate does come across as a little whiny at times, but at other times she is very strong and she is driven by one goal...to get the truth out about Grace. The book finishes as a mixed bag for me. While she does not achieve her goal, she does win in other ways. She gets over her grief and she comes to grip that it was really just an accident, in more ways than one.
    If you like suspense, a little romance triangle thrown in there and a lot of private school drama, then this will be a good summer read for you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    A likable debut novel

    I was really excited to get a copy of this book in the mail, it really sounded intriguing. It did not disappoint. This is the debut book of writes Lisa and Laura Roecker and I can't wait to read more from this cool writing duo.

    The Liar Society takes place in Cleveland at a private school called Pemberly Brown. It is comprised of two school that came together and it has its many secrets. When Kate's friend Grace is killed in a fire she is completely devastated. Then she receives a email from her dead friend which begins Kate's search for the truth of what happened the night of the fire.

    The further she digs the longer the line of suspects and the more secrets get discovered. She ends up with a nerdy sidekick who has a crush on her in her quest to find the truth. Along the way she meets Liam, a bad boy type, and though she likes him she is not real sure she can trust him. It seems like everyone has a secret at Pemberly Brown.

    The characters in this book are pretty cool, even the not so nice ones. I love it when a book has those characters that you just love to hate. Okay, so I am also a sucker for the bad boy, who are not really bad, but just has a bad reputation. Liam is just that sort of character and I loved him. I think my favorite bad girl character would have to be Beefany..I mean Britney. She is sort of this hoss of a girl and so everyone calls her by her nickname behind her back, it sort of made me snicker the first time I read it. Seth, is the lonely nerd who works in the office at the school and also Kate's next door neighbor. Since she needs information that he can get his hands on she sort of has to let him in on things which makes him sort of her partner in trying to solve what happened. Now Kate, she is a pretty cool character. She is tough, smart and doesn't quit even when things start to get a little to dangerous. At first she is so extremely devastated because of her friends death. Its so bad that her parents made her go see a therapist because she was in such a depressed state. After the email, she becomes this girl with a goal and the determination to see it though even after she finds out more about The Liar Society and who all is involved.

    I would recommend this book to those who like books sort of in the style of The Lying Game, Rosebush and other types of school type mystery books. I very much enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    A new kind of Nancy Drew!

    THE LIAR SOCIETY, by Lisa and Laura Roecker, is a fast paced mystery that brings a new light to a female detective remnicent of Nancy Drew.

    I love that this book was co-written by two sisters, but while reading it you would never know. The chapters are seamless and keep the suspense until the very end. There has been a lot of early buzz about this book and after reading, I have to say that this one is well worth it. Even though it is a YA contemporary book, the mystery aspect makes it stand out among the rest. It was refreshing to read a book that I literally could not put down without thinking how it would end. I went back and forth so many times wondering who was the 'bad guy/girl' and I had no idea who to trust.

    Kate was a really fantastic character, she was definitely a great role-model for teen girls the way that Nancy Drew was for an earlier generation. Her faithful sidekicks, Seth and Liam, both vying for her attentions were dedicated and incredibly cute. Next door neighbor Seth was always honest with his feelings for Kate even when she constantly turned him down. His intelligence and connections within the school made him a valuable asset to the crime solving team. And typical bad boy Liam (swoon), with his valuable information from the night in question and faithfulness to Kate completed the trio. I loved the awkwardness and budding romance between Kate and Liam and I hope to see more of them in the future for this series.

    I'm not going to spoil the ending, but I have to say I was shocked. The secrets and lies that surround Pemberly Brown was definitely disturbing. The Roecker sisters ended the book enough to keep me satisfied but I anxiously await the next book to give me more answers to the startling questions I was left with.

    The Roecker sisters have a great talent for writing. They pulled off co-writing a book, creating amazing characters, and keeping up the suspense of this thrilling mystery. I look forward to anything they put out in the future. Fantastic book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1