Customer Reviews for

The Liar Society (Liar Society Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Missy's Reads & Reviews

You know what I miss? I miss those fun little high school mystery books that I used to read when I was a teen. The ones where you're just as clueless as the MC, so you're having to figure out and guess right along with the main character. You know what I'm talking about...
You know what I miss? I miss those fun little high school mystery books that I used to read when I was a teen. The ones where you're just as clueless as the MC, so you're having to figure out and guess right along with the main character. You know what I'm talking about, right? Well, fortunately for us, Lisa and Laura Roecker have brought that back with their debut novel, The Liar Society.

Set in a boarding school, this book has all of the potential to be a run-of-the-mill boarding school book where the main girl is popular with all the hot guys, but the mean girls don't like her and all she wants is a true friend... yadda yadda yadda. Yet again, the authors surprise us by taking the boarding school premise and making it so much more than that. We have a main character who's distraught by her best friend's death and, when receiving e-mails from said dead best friend, she does everything in her power to try and find out what the friend is trying to telling her. What ensues is a story full of adventure and mystery, with a hint of romance and wit added right along with it.

Kate is a wonderfully written MC and I love that they make her such a powerful female in this book - she's got the looks, the attitude and the wit. Plus, there's this sense of undying loyalty for her best friend in the book that just makes me all warm and fuzzy on the inside. I think Kate and her two sidekicks, Liam and Seth, are an amazing trio that work well together. Seth is that guy next door that you can always depend on and Liam is that bad boy that makes your little heart go pitter-patter. Their dynamic together is nothing short of amazingly perfect. I also liked that some of the characters weren't as shallow as they seemed as first and were developed extremely well through the story where it wasn't necessarily told that they weren't as horrible as you thought, you actually saw through their actions how they truly were. Of course, there were some jerks.. but it might surprise you who those jerks really are. Or not.

This is definitely more of a character-driven book, but the plot was not lacking in any way. I loved the use of the flashbacks to show Kate's relationship with her best friend Grace before she died. I also loved the boarding school with all of its rich history and detail. Kate's quest to find out about her friend is endearing and the ending is unexpectedly bittersweet. However, there is closure and a definite hint at another book to follow - one that I will definitely be picking up as soon as it becomes available.

posted by MissysReadsAndReviews on March 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good not great

It was good... once i started reading i kept reading and couldnt put it down... but when i finished it, i just felt like it was missing something. I wasnt satisfied with the end, i wish it would have ended with kate getting some justice and have anwsered some more of my...
It was good... once i started reading i kept reading and couldnt put it down... but when i finished it, i just felt like it was missing something. I wasnt satisfied with the end, i wish it would have ended with kate getting some justice and have anwsered some more of my ?'s. The storyline and plot were good and i found the characters believable, especially kate... even though at some points she seems crazy. So overall its a good quick read that i recomend though i doubt i will add it to my "favorites" book list

posted by 11298832 on July 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Missy's Reads & Reviews

    You know what I miss? I miss those fun little high school mystery books that I used to read when I was a teen. The ones where you're just as clueless as the MC, so you're having to figure out and guess right along with the main character. You know what I'm talking about, right? Well, fortunately for us, Lisa and Laura Roecker have brought that back with their debut novel, The Liar Society.

    Set in a boarding school, this book has all of the potential to be a run-of-the-mill boarding school book where the main girl is popular with all the hot guys, but the mean girls don't like her and all she wants is a true friend... yadda yadda yadda. Yet again, the authors surprise us by taking the boarding school premise and making it so much more than that. We have a main character who's distraught by her best friend's death and, when receiving e-mails from said dead best friend, she does everything in her power to try and find out what the friend is trying to telling her. What ensues is a story full of adventure and mystery, with a hint of romance and wit added right along with it.

    Kate is a wonderfully written MC and I love that they make her such a powerful female in this book - she's got the looks, the attitude and the wit. Plus, there's this sense of undying loyalty for her best friend in the book that just makes me all warm and fuzzy on the inside. I think Kate and her two sidekicks, Liam and Seth, are an amazing trio that work well together. Seth is that guy next door that you can always depend on and Liam is that bad boy that makes your little heart go pitter-patter. Their dynamic together is nothing short of amazingly perfect. I also liked that some of the characters weren't as shallow as they seemed as first and were developed extremely well through the story where it wasn't necessarily told that they weren't as horrible as you thought, you actually saw through their actions how they truly were. Of course, there were some jerks.. but it might surprise you who those jerks really are. Or not.

    This is definitely more of a character-driven book, but the plot was not lacking in any way. I loved the use of the flashbacks to show Kate's relationship with her best friend Grace before she died. I also loved the boarding school with all of its rich history and detail. Kate's quest to find out about her friend is endearing and the ending is unexpectedly bittersweet. However, there is closure and a definite hint at another book to follow - one that I will definitely be picking up as soon as it becomes available.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of the Snazziest Books of the Year

    When I first sat down to read this book yesterday, I only expected to read a few pages and then put it down until it was closer to its March release date, but before I knew it I was halfway done, and once you're that far, you can't put it down, right? Especially if it's as amazing as The Liar Society was? So, before I knew it, I was done with the book and dying to read the next, because if The Liar Society isn't one of the most thrilling and unique books out there, I don't know what is.

    The Liar Society tells the story of Kate Lowry, a girl who hasn't felt the same since her best friend Grace died last year. Kate feels there was more to Grace's sudden demise than told, but after a year of seeing a shrink, Kate's learned to be quiet about her theories. Well, until an e-mail from Grace appears in her inbox, telling her to contact Cameron, Grace's some-what boyfriend, so she does, and before she knows it, she's hooked on the case and finding out the truth, even if means finding out disturbing secrets about her crush Liam and recruiting her nerdy neighbor Seth to be her side-kick. But is Kate prepared for the truth? Especially if it means uncovering more than she ever expected? Only time will tell in this thrilling mystery!

    One of the things I loved most about this book were the characters, especially Kate. Kate is like a new Nancy Drew in the way that once she finds a mystery, she has a hard time stopping herself from seeking the truth, which is one of the main reasons why I loved Kate's character so much. Because with this trait, it was easy to see Kate was a fearless, smart, and witty character, one you not only didn't want to mess with but couldn't help but to root for. Along with Kate, came several other great characters, such as the charming and secretive Liam, a boy who's after Kate's heart if she'll let him close, and Seth, Kate's sidekick who managed to steal the show with his dweeby yet adorable antics time and time again.

    Another high point of The Liar Society was the plot at hand. The plot of this contained so many mysteries, twists, and turns, that even the most truth-seeking of readers won't be able to figure out just what happened until the very last pages- a very, very good thing, in my opinion. Better yet, I loved how Lisa and Laura Roecker put the perfect touch of romance in this, one that leaves you eager for more of it in future sequels.

    And this review wouldn't be complete if I didn't say at least once how amazing of authors Lisa and Laura Roecker are! They created such a great and believable world in this, one I hope readers, like myself, will be able to visit time and time again in the future.

    Wit, romance, suspense, and action- this book has it all! I seriously can't express in words just how much I LOVED this book. Lisa and Laura? You've kind of created a fan-girl in me with this- one who can't wait to read more books involving Kate, Liam, and Seth and anyone else you two dream up.

    Grade: A+

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    veronica mars meets nancy drew - only better!

    The Liar Society follow Kate Lowry, living in a prestigious boarding school in the aftermath of her best friend Grace's death. Kate is confused and lost, wondering what could possibly have turned life so horribly upside down when she receives an email from Grace, saying that she needs Kate to figure out what happened to her - and to be careful. Up until now, Kate was certain that dead girls didn't send emails, but now Kate has the chance to prove that Grace's death was more than the accident it seemed. Teaming up with the cute and nerdy neighbor, Seth, and the ultimate bad boy at school, Liam, Kate is determined to find the truth once and for all.

    I've been stalking and reading Lisa and Laura Roecker's blog forever, and when I say forever, I mean since the day I started my blog. Literally. Debut authors, Lisa and Laura are a sister duo, self-described as "The Hilton sisters - spray tans + brains - 4 inches + 20 (ok, 30) pounds / Cleveland, OH." Seriously witty and original, the sisters have created a mystery story in The Liar Society that's equal parts adventure, mystery and intrigue. Throw a little pinch of oh-so-cute romance into the mix, and The Liar Society is, essentially the epitome of a slam-dunk debut.

    The Liar Society presents one of the most likeable heroines I've ever read. Kate has these hilarious one-liners that are so fresh and fantastic that I want to slap myself for ever having read books with whiny little female MCs. Kate, Liam and Seth perfectly complement one another and add a dynamic of intrigue and fun to their already-developed personalities. Furthermore, I am pleased to say that, though set in a boarding school, The Liar Society is NOT rife with your stereotypical mean girls/rich students with all their baggage. Rather, the mystery fuels the plot, and the flashbacks that let us experience the friendship between Kate and Grace give us even more depth. You know what? Kate is like Veronica Mars - full of snark and sass, but with a mushy marshmallow interior hiding beneath her resilient personality.

    I am going to sing the praises of The Liar Society from here until the sequel, so help me God. A twist between Nancy Drew and Veronica Mars, The Liar Society is fresh and fabulous, leaving us hanging just a little with an ending I truly did not expect. I give it a 5 out of 5, and I want the sequel. Now. I would recommend this books to all YA fans, especially those who like mysteries and contemporary fiction.

    I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This, in no way, affected my opinion or review of this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Awesome voice - highly recommend

    This was one of those mysteries that I just could NOT put down! I heard there are two more books, and I am so getting them.

    Brilliant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Great book

    To the person who was disappointed with the ending--its a series...theres more.. great book witty main character

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Best book ever

    This book is the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    I loved this book!

    I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Amazing

    Bought it today and the first page had me hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Love it!!!

    This book is really good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Best Book Ever

    This book is very interesting. Nice and descriptive. Love this book. Im 13 so if your a pre-teen or teenage, you'll love it. Trust me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Hi

    Hi this is awesome i love it goodbye hope u enjoy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Liar Society Review

    This was the best mystery I have ever read. It had some romance (but not too much), it had friendship, secrets, and lies. These sisters really know how to write em'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Since when do the dead contact their besties????

    Since the liar society !!! It is an amaing book i loved the dangerous side of the book and the romance part i cant wait till da next book!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    I love this book i keep reading it over and over again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    The Liar society

    I lov this book so much its so interesting. Its kind of scary but very suspensful. I recka.end this book for kids in high school.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    MUST READ!!!!!!!!

    This a very very very goo bok and all girls should read it. It is very mysterious and really makes you want to continue to read. Again very good anf continue to read and come out with more books please!!!!!""

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    How many pgs is it?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    OMG!!!! READ THIS REVIEW!!!!!!

    Hi guys! FYI, this book is AMAZING!!!!!!! (So far at least.....i havent actually finished reading it yet). This is a definite must-read for all of you young adults out there. If you are someone who loves a little fiction, romance, mystery, and others of the like, then this is your book. Sooooooo, the story begins when Kate recieves this mysterious letter from her recently dead best friend Kate. Soon after, she realizes that maybe Grace's death wasn't an accident after all. In the letter, Grace tells Kate to "find Cameron.....he knows". It also mentioned one more thing. The letter warned Kate not to tell anyone about whatever she found out.......or else they would find her. And kill her.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Really good so far

    I also really hate when the story cuts off in the middle of a sentence but i will buy the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Mysterious

    This is a great book and very interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2