Customer Reviews for

Liar and Spy

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Middle Schoolers will be intrigued!

This book pulls you right in. And keeps you reading... Rebecca Stead includes just the right type of mysterious characters and modern day issues. The hero of the story is easily related to by many kids today. You will love the ending. I highly recommend this for classro...
This book pulls you right in. And keeps you reading... Rebecca Stead includes just the right type of mysterious characters and modern day issues. The hero of the story is easily related to by many kids today. You will love the ending. I highly recommend this for classroom reading, because it offers a lot of opportunities for interesting classroom discussion in the areas of Social Studies and Character Ed.

posted by ClearGlass on October 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

TO REVIEW TWO BELOW ME

YOU HAVE TO READ IT IS AMAZING!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Middle Schoolers will be intrigued!

    This book pulls you right in. And keeps you reading... Rebecca Stead includes just the right type of mysterious characters and modern day issues. The hero of the story is easily related to by many kids today. You will love the ending. I highly recommend this for classroom reading, because it offers a lot of opportunities for interesting classroom discussion in the areas of Social Studies and Character Ed.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    I read Stead's When You Reach Me when it came out, just before i

    I read Stead's When You Reach Me when it came out, just before it won the Newbery Medal. I liked it, but I didn't love it. So I figured going in to this one that I would probably like it but not love it. I was wrong. I loved it. I'm not sure if it was the characters, Georges and Safer their families or if it was the plot revolving around spying on one's neighbors and lying to one's family/friends, but I strongly suspect that I just loved the book as a whole. With a beautiful combination of character development and plot movement I found myself really interested in reading about Georges and his struggles with moving, bullies, and a new friend he doesn't 'get.' Stead also throws in a plot twist that I really did not see coming that really changed the way I saw the book and the story as a whole. It left me stunned and thoughtful. In my mind I went back and thought about the way Georges had been acting and how things turned out to be very different than I thought. It made me think about the way humans jump to conclusions so easily and so very often turn out to be wrong. I found this a beautifully written and surprisingly complex story despite what originally seemed like a fairly straight-forward plot. I really liked the writing. For me a well-written book is a book where the writing flows so smoothly that I pay little attention to it because I am so engrossed in the story. Liar & Spy is one of those books.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    !

    Rebecca Stead is an amazing author. The book is always better than the summary says

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Very Good Book!

    My daughter read this for her Children's Literature class. She enjoyed it so much,she insisted I read it as well. It was a fast paced read that touched on issues that many children go through; bullying, cliques, loneliness. It was all done with a slight hand. It was a wonderful book, and I'd recommend it to any pre-adolescent, and their parents as a way to open up conversation.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    Very good book, I loved it a lot.

    Very good book, I loved it a lot.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Bookworm/nerd

    Amazing. Its amazing. Like Harry Potter the author is able to pull you straight into the book. Here is a reveiw: 7th grader georges is having a rough time. They moved out of their house into an apartment.hes mum is working extra shifts. Hes best friend left him. But he meets a strange boy named Safer and his world gets a happier turn. Pleas read tthis book

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Knock knock!

    ((Whos there?))
    Interupting cow!
    ((Interupting co--))
    MOOOO!!!! MOOOOOO!!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Booktopia

    Love this book. Unexpected ending. But still awesome book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Grear book

    Even though i have not read this book, i can tell its a really good that is fit for anyone :)

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Why does no one put a headline? And use proper grammar?

    It's a very good book! I really enjoyed it.

    Find the 2 n's:
    mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmnmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmnmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Barnes and Noble should put a reply button on their reviews.

    Also, why do people roleplay and chat on these reviews? Go on a roleplay or chatting website.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Interesting and Fun

    Its a real fun book for all ages it is mostly about friendship and just being yourself. I think people could relate to the story easily

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Poop

    So it was a good book but i like pizza

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Liar and Spy

    I absolutely loved this book! There's a major twist at the end which nobody would expect. If you think the book looks good, I would say definitely give it a try if you are in 7th grade or younger.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    To 3 below me

    U should get minecraft!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Minecraft

    Get the game minecraft

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Loved book!

    I thought this book was amazing. Left you on the edge of your seat the whole time you read the book. It was also funny in spots!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    This novel was an absolute delight! I loved the clear, sensitiv

    This novel was an absolute delight! I loved the clear, sensitive voice with which Rebecca Stead (Newbery author of the marvelous When You Reach Me) speaks through each of these young characters, especially Georges. Full of humor, courage, and surprises, this is a refreshing & satisfying story I am so enthused to recommend. I can't praise enough the imaginative gift of this author; and, while I would love to hear more from Georges & his friends, part of the wonderful charm of this novel is the author's restraint in not packaging it as the first in yet another cookie-cutter "series of the month." Umami! (read the book; you'll get it.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Boring, very boring.

    This book was slow pased, that never lead to anything. If I ever recomend this book to anyone, I would recomend it to people with a ton of time and younger children whose minds love and need a lot of imagination. I thought it was an, okay, book. If you loved this book, dont take any of this personally, this is just my opinion on this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    I dont know?

    I havent gotten this book yet and i am wondering if ibshould. There are many good reviews and i have seen this book every where.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Awesome!

    Amzing book and well written! You have to read this!
    A Virginia tech fan

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3