Customer Reviews for

The Liars' Club

Average Rating 3.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Not for the Faint of Heart

    I just finished The Liars' Club last night. Her writing style was, at times, difficult to follow. This book is not for the faint of heart. The events she portrays are at times horrific. I found it difficult at some points, not because I found the situations she writes about shocking, but because they brought up similar memories of my own childhood. At one point I even considered putting the book down because I was flooded with so much backwash from the past. I am glad that I persevered and finished, because the ending was truly worth it. It spoke of healing and things were revealed that shone a different light on her Mother.

    I will say the book may not be for everyone. As I have experienced, some folks simply do not want to look in the face of those kinds of evils, those dark realities of life, and honestly, if given a choice, those of us who have experienced such things wouldn't want to either. I admire her courage for revealing not only these kinds of things, but such a personal intimate side of herself for the entire world to read. I am not certain I have that same courage, not just to share those intimate stories of my past, but simply to summon and face again those skeletons and red eyed demons.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    One of my top 5 favorites!

    I read this years ago, and it remains on my top 5 favorite books I've ever read. Karr blended brutal, sometimes disturbingly graphic, truths with humor and deep insight. She didn't hold back! The gruesome integrity of this book was stunning. I can't say enough good things about it. Really.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    Beautifully written, honest and thoughtful!

    I kept seeing this title as a recommeded read as I browsed through the internet site and read other's critiques. There is no doubt that this woman can write! Her story is told in a thoughtful manner, honest and intelligent. She doesn't want you to feel sorry for her life nor her circumstances. This book is outstanding and well worth the time it takes to read it! Even if you are not into biographies, read this one!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    This may be the best memoir I've ever read

    I heard Mary Karr started the memoir revolution with this book, but until I read it, I had no idea a memoir could be so fun to read--so funny and sad at the same time. I couldn't put it down. I've bought 8 copies since I closed it, and I'm ready to open it again. Wow

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Liars¿ Club by Mary Karr Theme: One major theme throughout this book would be survival of love because with everything they went through they still ended up together. Likes and Dislikes: Some things I liked about this book was the Mary and her sister did try pretty hard to keep their family together and help their mother. One dislike I had was the grandmother that I felt had driven the family apart in a sense she did help with the behavior of the girls but she pushed away their father and made the mother so set on pleasing the grandmother. This book should be read because it shows how a family can stay together. Overall Rating: On a scale of 1-10 1 being the worst 10 being the best. I would rate it a 7, because some parts were confusing with all the past and present tenses. Summary: Mary Karr grew up in Texas with her father who was never home much and her nervous (psychotic) mother. Her mother and father were always drinking and fighting, until they finally got a divorce. Mary and her sister had to choose who they wanted to live with. The father was the more responsible and dependable parent, but they chose their mother. Mary¿s mother still had her bad drinking habits after trying to shoot her new husband one night, Mary and her sister decided to go back to Texas to live with their dad. Mary¿s father prayed at night that their mother would come back. Mary¿s mother did eventually come back to Texas to supposedly get clothes but their father won her back. Mary and her sister both went off to college but Mary came back for holiday¿s and tried to stay in touch with her mother who got better with her drinking problems. On the other hand Mary¿s father had a stroke due to alcoholism and can only remember certain things and he can¿t function properly such as talking normally.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Mary Karr is a pervert who apparently gets off on writing about

    Mary Karr is a pervert who apparently gets off on writing about child pornography! I cant believe the SICK detailed scenes she portrayed in this book, graphic enough to make a sailor blush. It was on a list for my daughter to read from her English teacher. Thank God I read what she does! This is a disgusting book and the author should be ashamed of herself and locked up for child pornography!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Wow. Great writing. Great book.

    Karr's languageis a marvel that jumps from the page into 3-D power. Great storytelling. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Great story

    The Liars' Club is an amazing story about the childhood of a girl. This story tears me apart at times with how emotional it can get. Karr's writing style is amazing! She's a real work of art!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    The Liar¿s Club is a story about growing up poor in an East Texa

    The Liar’s Club is a story about growing up poor in an East Texas industrial town. It’s the tragic story of two sisters as told by the youngest and their deeply dysfunctional family. The whole book is so beautifully written I didn’t grasp how wrong everything was until it was summing up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Rambling? Is there a story in there?

    Maybe i am not giving it a proper chance, but i have to givenup on this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Supposed to be funny?? Ugh. Supposed to be funny?? Supposed to be funny??

    Full of literally nauseating details that made me reluctant to read it at all, let alone for my usual before bed reading. Ugh. Wish I could return it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Great

    Different, unique - not what i expected after reading today's "child abuse" memoirs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Excellent read

    Excellent read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not that impressed...

    I see that Mary Karr is a noted writer, but I found this memoir hard to follow. The memories and the coherence in the writing were disjointed and just not for me. I have read The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls so I found this memoir disappointing next to it. I highly recommend The Glass Castle - could not put that memoir down and was sad to finish reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Great read

    Mary Karr has a lyrical way of writing that is captivating. I loved the book and will plan on reading her latest, LIT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    BORING!

    After all the rave reviews for 'Liars' Club'-what a disappointment. I wish I had my $15.00 back. It is full of cliches and disjointed memories. Only people who have led a very sheltered life would be entertained by this story of Texas trash. I have heard the tired old jokes, stories, and expressions before. My life would make a much more interesting memoir!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2006

    Good if you like memoirs

    The Liars¿ Club is a memoir in which Mary Karr describes her difficult and challenging childhood. With an alcoholic mother who wavers in and out of sanity, and a father that would rather work overtime than to deal with his wife¿s outbursts, Mary and her sister, Lecia, are forced to quickly grow up. Mary and Lecia took care of their drunken mother on their own, and were put in near-death situations as a result of her drinking. As a child, Mary gets picked on because of the state her mother is in, and immediately develops an attitude in which she uses profanity and violence as a way to tell the world to leave her alone. Consequently, their family becomes the most feared and gossiped about family in their little town in Texas. Despite the circumstances that Lecia and Mary are put into, they stay with their mother through everything because they love her and don¿t want to see her die as a result of her bad habit. The major message in this book is that family is more important than anything else. The reasons behind the mother¿s actions will eventually be revealed to Mary and the reader, and they are all based on family ties. Even though Mary¿s mother put her in bad situations and didn¿t take care of her as a mother should, Mary still loved her. In a family, there is a tight bond where unconditional love is always present, but isn¿t shown until a family is put into a difficult situation. Karr¿s detailed account of her childhood is amazing. She remembers the smallest details so vividly, but still tells the story through her memory, which doesn¿t always hold all of the answers and outcomes of what happened. She makes the story feel as if it happened to you. The reader can feel her pain, anguish and embarrassment as she recalls horrifying experiences. Simultaneously, Karr¿s detailed accounts of her often boring life can lead the reader to also feel bored with the book. Not only are her most horrifying and challenging experiences included in the book, but she also includes all of the less captivating experiences in between. If you like memoirs, then this book is probably for you. It is hard to believe that Karr was put through so much as a child, and yet her family survived. After reading this book, it can make almost anyone grateful that they have a better life than she did, and make those with rough lives understand that anything can be overcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    absolutely terrific

    I read this book when I was in 6th grade, I think. Although it might not have been very appropriate for a 6th grader I found that I could not put it down. The characters were so vivid and different from any I had ever encountered in any book. I think that is why I liked it most. I recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2005

    Slow and depressing

    I found this book not to be very good. It was very slow, and I found myself falling alseep while reading it. I also found it to be very depressing. I would not recommend this book to anyone who is going through rough times.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Morbidly fascinating

    After reading Stephen King¿s ¿on writing¿ which mentions this book in the very first sentence, I wanted to see for myself. I found myself morbidly fascinated with Mary Karr¿s accounting of her childhood and captivated by her clear, lucid and semi-detached retelling of her past. The detailed snapshots, the underlying irony in word selections highlight the psychological distance we can acquire from trauma and make for a very interesting if sometimes uncomfortable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4