BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Liar's Poker: Rising through the Wreckage on Wall Street

Average Rating 4
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Amazing read

Michael Lewis does a great job the bring the experience of a Bond Trader in wall street to its reader. The book goes into good detail about the events that unfolded at Salomon Brothers during his time there, and gives you a whole new perspective on the industry. Defin...
Michael Lewis does a great job the bring the experience of a Bond Trader in wall street to its reader. The book goes into good detail about the events that unfolded at Salomon Brothers during his time there, and gives you a whole new perspective on the industry. Definitely worth reading

posted by 3988371 on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Mildly entertaining -- But Enlightening

The Bang for your Buck is in the last 60 pages; the rest is vanity.

posted by LidlessEyesWatchingDoor on August 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 195 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    Mildly entertaining -- But Enlightening

    The Bang for your Buck is in the last 60 pages; the rest is vanity.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    Amazing read

    Michael Lewis does a great job the bring the experience of a Bond Trader in wall street to its reader. The book goes into good detail about the events that unfolded at Salomon Brothers during his time there, and gives you a whole new perspective on the industry. Definitely worth reading

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    This might be my favorite ebook

    A classic! Lewis takes the reader through all the ironic twists of being on Wall Street in the '80s.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Glad I read it.

    I had to read this book for extra credit for my history class in college. To be honest, I didn't want to, but I had to and I'm glad I did. This was an enjoyable read, although the chapters were a bit long in my opinion. I recommend it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    foundation for finance

    great read even for beginners. hard to quantify greed in this world but this comes close. great intro for novices. i wish i read it sooner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    absorbing insight to 80s finance world

    as a finance major this provides a wonderful jump back into the 1980s at Salomon Bros...i read this after reading The Big Short but I will definitely go back and reread it again with a better understanding of Lewis' style and the mortgage bond market...a must read for any student in business...will be looking to purchase more books by Lewis...he has a unique style to put you into the atmosphere of the story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Not a very serious take on the subject, but entertaining

    I've read this book twice; once when it came out about twenty years ago, and again a few weeks ago. The difference twenty years of living makes is immense. As a young man, this writer's voice did not bother me, but at 43, I found him irritating in the extreme. The book is a decent insider's look at a time in America when stockbrokers were flying high, and for that, this book remains interesting, though I much prefer the excellent "Den of thieves".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2004

    Read this book!

    This book is well written and keeps you gripped well into the night. Liar's Poker was so good that I have decided to become an investment banker, so help me God.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2014

    Excellent work. Looking forward to reading his other offerings.

    Excellent work. Looking forward to reading his other offerings. Looking back now it is absolutely stunning to see how the junk/mortgage bond market was basically being created.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Loved It

    This book is so hilarious and gives a birds eye view of investment banking. A potentionally snoozer of a subject had me laughing at how audacious the powers that be eere in the book. Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Bulbasaurs

    20 P$

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Perfect

    As advertised

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Best book ever

    Loved it

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    great book

    this book by Micheal Lewis is follows a young intern all the way through Saloman Brothers on his way to millions, and his losing it. wether it is a speech with the bad kids in the back and the nerdy girl sitting front and center, or Micheal up and coming in London sellling some at&t stock to an angry German it is very discriptive. as the book begins you learn what liars poker is a game of wit and instinct. you learn of John Gutfriend the CEO of solamon a crazy man that will run around cutting off peoples tie's then just giving them $200 to buy a new one. it shows how snobby it can get on the Forty-first floor and that it was every intern's nightmare to get stuck with equites in Dallas. I have wanted to be a stock trader but this book has shown me where the real fun is, in Bond salesman. in the end it shows the demise of the company as the own rules they helped design come back to bite them in the butt. as other companies begin to buy up Solamon, it like many other companies back in the 80's fell to the great companies of today. ryan b.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    One of the best accounts of wall street I have ever read. Amazingly written, could not put it down. Michael Lewis made complex concepts easy to understand and his character analysis was unreal.

    MUST READ!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    interesting to read, learned about the way economy worked in those times, helps to understand how a "strong" market can crash.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    Liar¿s Poker: A Must Read for the Wall Street Fanatic

    The story of a young man in the right place and time, telling his life as a trainee working to be a very profitable bonds trader in the 1980's. The novel is perfect for the biggest enthusiast, to someone just beginning to be interested in the market. Lewis¿s emphasis on detail keeps you glued to the pages while he tells of the incredibly hectic life of a trader, and the childish man you must be to be one. The life at Solomon Bothers Trading was one of hell for a trainee and Lewis shows this brilliantly through his numerous anecdotes that will make you laugh hysterically but get you more intrigued as to what will happen next. This is one you don¿t want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    The Best Book Written About Wall Street

    This first-hand account of the craziness of the late 1980's on Wall Street generally, and at Salomon Brothers specifically, is both illuminating, as well as entertaining. During the duldrums of second year in law school, my good friend and classmate suggested that I take a weekend and read something both entertaining, as well as educational. He was very correct. This book is so well written and undeniably engaging, that it can be read over the course of a weekend. The book is one of my favorites, and I have read it and re-read it probably 4 or 5 times!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2001

    The Best Book on the Securities Industry

    I have read this book at least three times, and still flip through various sections on occasion. Lewis tells about the flaws of the securities business in a humorous manner. My favorite part of the book is the presentation by the 'Human Piranha'. If they ever made a movie version of Liar's Poker, Joe Pesci would be perfect for that part!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2001

    A must-read for students headed to Wall Street

    'Caveat Emptor', 'Eat or be eaten',were the rules of the bond trading world at Salomon Brothers as well as Wall Street at the pinnacle of 1980s- the greed decade. After reading this for the first time as a 16 year old high school student, Lewis' masterpiece didn't turn me away from Wall Street, it made me more interested. While reading the book, I found myself clued in as I was glued to it's pages. Lewis is not only a brilliant storyteller and salesman, he explains to the layman and young student how the rigged game of trading really works. An absolute eye opening must-read for those pursuing Wall Street careers. I've read it a at least a dozen times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 195 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10