Customer Reviews for

Liar's Poker: Rising through the Wreckage on Wall Street

Average Rating 4
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Amazing read

Michael Lewis does a great job the bring the experience of a Bond Trader in wall street to its reader. The book goes into good detail about the events that unfolded at Salomon Brothers during his time there, and gives you a whole new perspective on the industry. Defin...
Michael Lewis does a great job the bring the experience of a Bond Trader in wall street to its reader. The book goes into good detail about the events that unfolded at Salomon Brothers during his time there, and gives you a whole new perspective on the industry. Definitely worth reading

posted by 3988371 on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Mildly entertaining -- But Enlightening

The Bang for your Buck is in the last 60 pages; the rest is vanity.

posted by LidlessEyesWatchingDoor on August 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Glad I read it.

    I had to read this book for extra credit for my history class in college. To be honest, I didn't want to, but I had to and I'm glad I did. This was an enjoyable read, although the chapters were a bit long in my opinion. I recommend it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    foundation for finance

    great read even for beginners. hard to quantify greed in this world but this comes close. great intro for novices. i wish i read it sooner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    interesting to read, learned about the way economy worked in those times, helps to understand how a "strong" market can crash.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    Liar¿s Poker: A Must Read for the Wall Street Fanatic

    The story of a young man in the right place and time, telling his life as a trainee working to be a very profitable bonds trader in the 1980's. The novel is perfect for the biggest enthusiast, to someone just beginning to be interested in the market. Lewis¿s emphasis on detail keeps you glued to the pages while he tells of the incredibly hectic life of a trader, and the childish man you must be to be one. The life at Solomon Bothers Trading was one of hell for a trainee and Lewis shows this brilliantly through his numerous anecdotes that will make you laugh hysterically but get you more intrigued as to what will happen next. This is one you don¿t want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2001

    A must-read for students headed to Wall Street

    'Caveat Emptor', 'Eat or be eaten',were the rules of the bond trading world at Salomon Brothers as well as Wall Street at the pinnacle of 1980s- the greed decade. After reading this for the first time as a 16 year old high school student, Lewis' masterpiece didn't turn me away from Wall Street, it made me more interested. While reading the book, I found myself clued in as I was glued to it's pages. Lewis is not only a brilliant storyteller and salesman, he explains to the layman and young student how the rigged game of trading really works. An absolute eye opening must-read for those pursuing Wall Street careers. I've read it a at least a dozen times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4