Customer Reviews for

Liars and Thieves (Tommy Carmellini Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

WOW.!

Gripping, you just do not want to put it down...

posted by Driftwood74 on November 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I am glad I bought is Bargain Price

Our hero survives a massacre at a CIA safe house by virtue of being a late arrival. There are two other survivors. He spends the next 300 pages improbably surviving a number of near death situations and killing a couple of dozen professional killers - and fornicates wit...
Our hero survives a massacre at a CIA safe house by virtue of being a late arrival. There are two other survivors. He spends the next 300 pages improbably surviving a number of near death situations and killing a couple of dozen professional killers - and fornicates with every unattached female character in the book. Somewhere along the line the author realizes that a few events must happen in absence of the hero so the narrative goes back and fourth between first person and third person - that is a let down. We know who the villain is about 1/3 way into the story - by the cell phone records of couple of the corpses. After that it is not so much a 'piecing together a puzzle' as it is surviving improbable situations. When the novel finally ends - it is not because of the protagonist┬┐s effort but through a secondary character and the motive of the crimes - the 'Truth' that is being covered up is so far fetched that you lose the last bit of remaining fascination with the story - and it is not even of national interest it is personal! Two stars for a few witty dialogues. I am glad I bought the book in 'bargain price' section. Had I paid full price, I would have been sorry.

posted by Anonymous on May 21, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Must read

    Received a nook as a gift decided to read another author other than my usual suspects enjoyed this book a great deal

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Great read

    Easy, quick read. Good twists. And no crazy flash backs to get you confused.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    WOW.!

    Gripping, you just do not want to put it down...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    Thriller to the bone

    Whatcha gonna do when they come for you, bad boy? -Ian Lewis ¿Bad Boy Theme¿ This is the epigram of the book where Tommy Carmellini is our so-called bad boy. Tommy represents how men are usually viewed in other word their stereotypes. This book has a great irony in our main character, and ending. The book is strongly recommended by me guys it includes violence, action, sex, some comedy, and a happy ending. The book is for the people that love straight to the point story there in not much wondering going on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    I am glad I bought is Bargain Price

    Our hero survives a massacre at a CIA safe house by virtue of being a late arrival. There are two other survivors. He spends the next 300 pages improbably surviving a number of near death situations and killing a couple of dozen professional killers - and fornicates with every unattached female character in the book. Somewhere along the line the author realizes that a few events must happen in absence of the hero so the narrative goes back and fourth between first person and third person - that is a let down. We know who the villain is about 1/3 way into the story - by the cell phone records of couple of the corpses. After that it is not so much a 'piecing together a puzzle' as it is surviving improbable situations. When the novel finally ends - it is not because of the protagonist¿s effort but through a secondary character and the motive of the crimes - the 'Truth' that is being covered up is so far fetched that you lose the last bit of remaining fascination with the story - and it is not even of national interest it is personal! Two stars for a few witty dialogues. I am glad I bought the book in 'bargain price' section. Had I paid full price, I would have been sorry.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Good Read!!

    Fast moving, intriguing, and surprising as any good mystery should be. Had a hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Highly recommend.

    Stephen Coonts gives us a continuing series with this book. BUT, he does not leave out his old faithful characters. You will not put this series down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Take it or leave it

    First book of this author that I have read, not sure if I will try another. There is so much random killing and violence, with not much rhyme or reason. There is very little character development; the action is nonstop, but that's not necessarily good. The main character seems to be indestructible and yet has no super skills other than luck and picking locks. I read to end, but almost didn't care how things came out. It was readable, but I can't really recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My first Stephen Coonts book

    This was my very first book I have read by Stephen Coonts and I have to say that I enjoyed it. I like reading books through first person. I never read any of the Jake Graffon series so the only thing was they dont really describe Tommy's past or history that much. The story is great, a great thriller, lots of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    Quite possibly the worst book I ever read!

    The only reason I'm giving this one star is because there's no option to give it zero!! The characters were dull, and the storyline was full of holes. I'm still not sure how everything came together at the end. I only finished it because I felt like I had to! Thank goodness it was on the bargain rack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2005

    Awesome Book!

    Stephen Coonts 'Liars and Thieves' is an excellent book. I love the writing style Coonts uses. Tommy Carmellini is a hero with an unusual edge. He's the bad guy you can't help but like. Excellent book! I highly recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2004

    How about a Jake Grafton, Jr. instead?

    This was a good, fast-paced yarn, but not up to the standards of the Jake Grafton series. Plus, Mr Coonts could really do with a proof-reader as I found a few inconsistencies throughout the book. I wish that the author followed Harold Coyle's formula with a young son/younger naval officer (an F/A-18 pilot, perhaps) to carry on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    Fun Technothriller !

    Liars and Thieves is a departure from Coont's usual style. But, hey! He is the author creating the characters, and he has the right, therefore, to take creative liberties! As a result, the reader experiences a (much) lighter reading adventure with lots of clever dialogue laced with comic relief than in previous Coont's novels. Some well loved characters of previous Coont's novels are absent, and Jake Grafton takes a backset by playing a minor role, but the novel still has great plot twists(albeit stretching the limits of realism) and suspense. It is a zippy read - great for summer vacation! Word of caution: don't count on it to keep you occupied at the beach for a week. I couldn't put it down and read it in two days!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2004

    Fasten Your Seat Belts When You Start This Book!

    While I was sorry to see that Jake Grafton has been replaced as the hero in Coonts' latest book, Liars And Thieves, the author takes you on a 'thrill-a-minute ride that should only be read with your seat belt on.' Tommy Carmellini, the new hero (who has appeared as a minor character in Coonts' Cuba) is a smart, talented, witty, CIA agent and ex-burglar who will likely become as popular as Jake Grafton. Liars And Thieves provides enough action and excitement to leave you gasping for breath and wanting to turn the pages as fast as you can. My only criticism is that on a few occasions the plot required me to stretch my limits of credulity a bit too much. Putting this minor flaw aside, the plot, which involves Carmellini helping a beautiful ex-girlfriend who is being blackmailed and of his being asked by the CIA to investigate a massacre at a safe house that was (supposedly) protecting a former KGB archivist who defected with important secret files. is a book Coonts fans and fans of suspense thrillers in general should enjoy very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    A winner

    Former burglar Tommy Carmellini now works for the CIA. His current assignment is to inspect security at the Greenbriar River Facility, a CIA safe house in the Alleghany Mountains in Virginia. When he reaches his destination, Tommy finds the complex under attack. He manages to kill a goon, rescuing translator Kelly Erlanger and a suitcase of KGB files....................................... Kelly informs Tommy that the resident of the safe house, former KGB archivist Mikhail Goncharov obviously had information that someone wants kept buried. Now someone wants Tommy and Kelly dead and willing to murder anyone associated with the operative including his partner Willie the Wire and his former lover Dorsey O¿Shea, who just asked him to steal some porno tapes starring her. With the assailants in pursuit, Tommy, Kelly, and now Dorsey flee to Rehoboth Beach where retired Rear Admiral Jake Grafton offers temporary sanctuary while the team tries to sort out why someone wants them dead................................. Carmellini in his first major appearance (bit player in CUBA) is an intriguing protagonist who provides an intriguing counterpoint to Stephen Coonts¿ prime superstar, Grafton. The story line is action-packed, but the conspiracy has been often told so it somewhat lacks freshness even with several interesting twists and a fine cast. LIARS AND THIEVES will entertain newcomers which the author¿s fan base will enjoy, but not at the quality of a Grafton led thriller....................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3