Customer Reviews for

Liberal Fascism: The Secret History of the American Left, from Mussolini to the Politics of Meaning

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Devastating

I have long maintained that International Socialism (aka Communism) and National Socialism (aka Fascism)are simply 2 sides to the same totalitarian coin. After all what is 'Nazi' except a shortened term for 'National Socialist'. Goldberg proves what has always existed i...
I have long maintained that International Socialism (aka Communism) and National Socialism (aka Fascism)are simply 2 sides to the same totalitarian coin. After all what is 'Nazi' except a shortened term for 'National Socialist'. Goldberg proves what has always existed in our plain sight-that the Fascist movement of the early and mid 20th century was, in fact, a totalitarian 'Progressive' political phenomenon originating out of the utopian left, with a distinct 'Progressive' political agenda (i.e. minimum wage, public housing, worker protections, healthcare and even a proto-enviromentalism). It was never some reactionary reply of 'conservatives' to European Liberalism. With precision and scholarly detail he traces the early intellectual origins of Fascism in Italy and makes the vital point that Hitler and the Nazis were simply an anti-semitic strain of Fascism, unique to Germany, and that Fascism itself is not, per se, racially bigoted, but rather totalitarian, socialistic and communitarian. More importantly, Goldberg pulls the curtain back on the 70 year myth which former 'Progressives' (n/k/a 'Liberals')have constructed in America to hide their past sympathies with Fascism pre-WW II and, more importantly, to hide their adherence to Fascist methodolgy in the present-albiet with a gigantic federal government masked by a nanny state smile.(Goldberg's jacket cover of a big yellow smiley face with Hitler mustache is a riot and makes a devastatingly useful counter protest symbol-lets hope it shows up outside the Democratic convention in Denver this summer) Begining with President Wilson and thru FDR and even 1930's Hollywood, American Progressives of the era expressed an overt admiration for Mussolini's ability 'to make the trains run on time'. The Nazi death camps made such pre war intellectual associations politically poisionous in post WW II American politics. As a consequence, that association had to, and in fact, has been convieniently erased from the collective American historical memory post WW II by an all too compliant academia and media and, worse, dishonestly transposed upon the American Conservative movement without any historical basis. Such that today 'Fascist' and 'Nazi' have been wrongly conflated into 'Republican' and 'conservative' for the intelectually lazy and simple minded. Goldberg demonstrates how this modern misconception can only stem from a severe ignorance of the history of ideas in America and Europe and, specifically, from a complete ignorance of the roots of 'Fascism'. Goldberg also lays out how contemporary echos of this Fascism prevail within the the Liberal movement today, most particularly in the modern Democratic party's ceaseless effort to construct a cradle to grave nanny state-all for 'your own good'. From Hillary's Universal Healthcare to Al Gore's Global Warming zealotry Goldberg shows how today's Liberal Fascists seek to aquire political power so as to construct a 'Brave New World' of socialist utopia all for the 'collective good' but, unfortunately, at the expense of the individual freedoms bestowed to us all by the founding fathers in the US constitution. This book is a must read for anyone interested in the truth of where the Progressive/Liberal movement has been and where they would like to take us-all the while with a smile of course!

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

partisan at best

Heres the problem with the whole facism/liberal concept of the book. Facism didn't creat liberalism, it took from it as a way to appeal to the worked over masses. Things like socialism, where people are provided jobs and food'though remember commuism and anarchy were ta...
Heres the problem with the whole facism/liberal concept of the book. Facism didn't creat liberalism, it took from it as a way to appeal to the worked over masses. Things like socialism, where people are provided jobs and food'though remember commuism and anarchy were taboo in facist circles, think about that' we're used as the building block and then they threw in nationalism and that supreme authority of the state over everything, not just the economy. Where facism goes astray is putting the group and the state above the rights of the individual, just because you have a secular style government with free-health care, and that curbs big industries strangle hold on society, doesn't create a system we're individualism is crushed. If anything it helps it because we don't become tied down on what we want to do because 1 percent of the population controls 40 percent of the wealth, and since we don't have money we can't purse the dreams that we want.

posted by Anonymous on March 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Well thought out.

    Anyone of the chapters in this book could serve as a primer for a complete history. I was initially worried that this would be a Republican talking points review. It is not rather a look back as to how we humans give up our freedom. This book isnt for anyone who likes either Republican or Democrat diatribes rather it is for anyone who loves liberty and is in search of its preservation. I feel sorry for those reviewers that found this book unreadable. Understanding let alone accepting some basic principles of this book could cause the reader to suffer the affects of ther political apostasy. It would be much easier to live a lie.

    14 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2008

    Just the facts ma'am.

    Fascinating presentation of politics of the last century and the ideological pedigree of many current prominent individuals and organizations. A must read for any informed citizen.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    Concise, True & Relevant

    Contrary to the mindless, historically inaccurate negative reviews of this title on this site this book is a MUST read for any serious cultural historian. Backed up with extensive footnotes to his facts, Goldberg has surgically dissected the lies, distortions and fallacies of what is modern liberalism. Seeking respite in failed ideology, the left will loathe this book ardently because it exposes their corrupt and corrupting culture of hatred and lies. Absolutely one of the more important books of the early 21st century, this book will be viewed in the future as one of the larger truths written about the American way of life in the late 20th/early 21st century. The left howls when their own filth bites them, expect them to rail ceaselessly about this work. A+++.

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Devastating

    I have long maintained that International Socialism (aka Communism) and National Socialism (aka Fascism)are simply 2 sides to the same totalitarian coin. After all what is 'Nazi' except a shortened term for 'National Socialist'. Goldberg proves what has always existed in our plain sight-that the Fascist movement of the early and mid 20th century was, in fact, a totalitarian 'Progressive' political phenomenon originating out of the utopian left, with a distinct 'Progressive' political agenda (i.e. minimum wage, public housing, worker protections, healthcare and even a proto-enviromentalism). It was never some reactionary reply of 'conservatives' to European Liberalism. With precision and scholarly detail he traces the early intellectual origins of Fascism in Italy and makes the vital point that Hitler and the Nazis were simply an anti-semitic strain of Fascism, unique to Germany, and that Fascism itself is not, per se, racially bigoted, but rather totalitarian, socialistic and communitarian. More importantly, Goldberg pulls the curtain back on the 70 year myth which former 'Progressives' (n/k/a 'Liberals')have constructed in America to hide their past sympathies with Fascism pre-WW II and, more importantly, to hide their adherence to Fascist methodolgy in the present-albiet with a gigantic federal government masked by a nanny state smile.(Goldberg's jacket cover of a big yellow smiley face with Hitler mustache is a riot and makes a devastatingly useful counter protest symbol-lets hope it shows up outside the Democratic convention in Denver this summer) Begining with President Wilson and thru FDR and even 1930's Hollywood, American Progressives of the era expressed an overt admiration for Mussolini's ability 'to make the trains run on time'. The Nazi death camps made such pre war intellectual associations politically poisionous in post WW II American politics. As a consequence, that association had to, and in fact, has been convieniently erased from the collective American historical memory post WW II by an all too compliant academia and media and, worse, dishonestly transposed upon the American Conservative movement without any historical basis. Such that today 'Fascist' and 'Nazi' have been wrongly conflated into 'Republican' and 'conservative' for the intelectually lazy and simple minded. Goldberg demonstrates how this modern misconception can only stem from a severe ignorance of the history of ideas in America and Europe and, specifically, from a complete ignorance of the roots of 'Fascism'. Goldberg also lays out how contemporary echos of this Fascism prevail within the the Liberal movement today, most particularly in the modern Democratic party's ceaseless effort to construct a cradle to grave nanny state-all for 'your own good'. From Hillary's Universal Healthcare to Al Gore's Global Warming zealotry Goldberg shows how today's Liberal Fascists seek to aquire political power so as to construct a 'Brave New World' of socialist utopia all for the 'collective good' but, unfortunately, at the expense of the individual freedoms bestowed to us all by the founding fathers in the US constitution. This book is a must read for anyone interested in the truth of where the Progressive/Liberal movement has been and where they would like to take us-all the while with a smile of course!

    14 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Very Informative and Important Book

    I am often asked by students why the modern-day 'political spectrum' positions Socialists on both the left and the right. If it does nothing else, this book will answer that question and show that the political spectrum begins on the far left where individual freedom is minimized and ends on the far right where individual freedom is maximized. This book helps to clarify the common misperception.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    Truth Hurts and everything you know is wrong

    I started out left of center when I left High School. As I've grown older I've been mgged by reality and have been forced to the Right. This book was alarming, disturbing, shocking and enlightening. It woke me up to a sorry reality we face in America, that what we are being taught in school may not be the whole truth, but is, in fact, Liberal spin designed to indoctrinate, rather than educate. I found Goldberg's notes and biblyography (Which takes up a huge chunk of the book) to be thurogh and his facts well documented and hard to ignore. <BR/> The reality is that this is the gateway book for other eye opening books I have since read which have confirmed what Goldberg has stated in his book. Fascism and Communism are essentially the same thing, whether the totalitarian loons on the left want to admit it or not. Naturally those fully indoctrinated will reject this book. I would be suprised if any of them honestly read the book or if they just said they did so they could attack it with red herrings and ad homenum attacks. If they doubt the truhfulness of it all there's a massive bibliography to sort through. You can check his sources yourself, I did, and it has made me fully aware of the crisis we now have in indoctrination... I mean education. Next on your list of books to read should be Cleon Skousen's The Naked Comunist. There is no Utopia on the left, only 100 million dead bodies and totalitarianism, and whether by National Socialism, or International Socialism totalitarianism is totalitarianism. After all A German Shepard is not a Malamute, but they're both dogs nontheless.

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2009

    Excellent explanation of Fascism.

    Goldberg does a great job of explaining a very hard to understand topic. You can learn something on every page. His writing style is very readable.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The road to Fascism is paved with best intentions

    There are a few things that we've learned as kids and have since taken for granted: the sun rises in the East and sets in the West, the birds fly south in the Winter, and north in the Summer, there are four seasons, seven days in week, etc. One of these truisms that almost no one questions is that communism is a left/liberal ideology while fascism is a right/conservative one. And while communism to this day has maintained a certain level of respectability and even moral high ground in some circles, labeling someone a fascist is the lowest form of insult, and something that many conservative thinkers are constantly subjected to. Therefore it came as a bit of a surprise to me to discover that fascism is in fact, when looked at objectively and without the baggage that it has assumed in popular perception, a quintessential left-of-center ideology. Granted, "Nazi" is in fact a shorthand for "National-socialist," but for the better part of last seventy years hardly anyone thought to emphasize the "socialist" part of the label, only the nationalism by which it was widely known. In the light of that Jonah Goldberg's book comes as a revelation that has profound effect on one's perception of the world. It is equivalent to discovering that the sun rises AND sets in the East. I was at first rather skeptical of the premise of this book, but the exhaustive, detailed and persuasive historical evidence that was presented in the book put all my misgivings aside. It documented many of the fascist tendencies and full-blown policies of some of the darlings of American left: Woodrow Wilson and Franklin D. Roosevelt. It shows that aside from the extermination of Jews, there are hardly any policies of German National-socialists that differ substantially from any other socialist movement of the time, or even today. And herein, according to this book, lies the greatest danger for the modern western democracies. By demonizing fascism as a phenomenon of the right, it leaves open the unimpeded encroachment to many fascist policies under the guise of socialist and other liberal movements. These movements don't necessarily want the full-blown fascist dictatorships installed, but they are certainly progressing in that direction. That's why they are referred to as "liberal" fascists - fascists with a smiley face.
    Jonah Goldberg does a remarkable job of presenting his ideas and impressions to the modern reader - always backed by facts, never overdoing the rhetoric. The book covers somewhat the similar ground as the legendary "The Road to Serfdom" by F. A. Hayek. This latter book was written in the middle of WWII, and had some of the same perceptions as "Liberal Fascism." Its thesis was to warn the Western democracies against implementing many of the social programs that led to the rise of fascism and communism in Europe at the time. It is sobering to see that many of those warnings are still relevant today, maybe even more so than in 1940s. We live in the world where both fascism and communism are rapidly recede in people's memory, and it is easy to think that what led to them could not possibly happen again. "Liberal Fascism" is a sobering reminder that the road to fascism is indeed sometimes paved with the best intentions.
    One final note: many of the current-events books out there don't age well, and their relevance diminishes almost as fast as that of many periodicals. This is certainly not t

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Only through understanding History can you understand today

    Goldberg takes issue with the vocal left who today hurl accusations of "fascism!" at anyone they don't like. By tracing the origins of the dogma of fascism, his in-depth research traces the progressive movement world wide, revealing the 'any means justifies the end' mentality of those who would manipulate and force their view of the perfect society onto Americans in defiance of the will of the citizenry AND THE CONSTITUTION. The actions of the current administration and congress make sense in context of the historical progressive movement. This book ought to be read not only by every high school and college student but by every citizen who treasures his constitutionally guaranteed liberty.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    Great read

    The book is full of factual information and history. While it is not an easy read, the book contains a lot of good information that leads up to present day political ideology. It provides some insight upon which one can understand why some of our leaders have made the decisions that they have and what their overall goals for the future might be. The book contains critical information you will not find taught in our schools today.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    Required Reading

    This book should be required reading before High School graduation. Liberal Fascism is should be titled American History 101.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was mind awakening

    Great book. I thought it would be cheap, trendy crap when I first saw the cover, but it changed by understanding of the world. When I was in sixth grade I never understood why they called fascism right wing. I argued with the teacher it seemed left wing to me. This is another great example of important things you did not learn in school. I have recommended this book to liberals and conservatives and ALL said they learned a great deal. The fabric of the world was remade by these progressives in the 1930s and then they tore the fabric of the world apart. Are we marching in step with history? Will our modern progressive politicians rip the fabric of the world apart because they know what is best for us? Or, is this a new, better fabric that we will feel good in? More important will our grandchildren be dressed in rags paying for our fabric? Read it and communicate with others from a new perspective.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    What socialist, big-government nannies don't want anyone to know!

    The book is an excellent history and indictment of socialistic, big-government programs. Finally someone defines what a facist is. Demonstrates what happens when a culture becomes lazy and wants government to do everything for them.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    it's good, because it's so true

    the author really hits the nail on the head here. i'm a life long democrat, who is saddened by his own party and the direction it has gone... right over the left-wing cliff. we need to move back to a moderate/center position to be taken seriously again. hopefully, books like this will awaken people to how crazed my party has become.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    An insightful, outstanding book!

    For all the liberals who love to bandy about the accusations of ' nazi' and 'facisist,' this book is the answer. I always knew liberals were the true examples of modern day facisism and socialism, but I needed an argument based on facts. Thank you.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    OK - well researched

    Look - don't fall for the one star reviews - they're political. The first thing they say is everything bad is right wing and everything good is left wing - it's very tiring and very untrue. Right wing attitudes can be traced back the European nobility and families of good social standing. Right wing attitudes were embodied in Germany within the officer corps, they eventually tried to kill Hitler - something the left seems to skip over.
    The French revolution actually gave us the terms right and left for political persuasion. The left would have you believe Hitler was a right wing guy - however this runs up against a brick wall when you read Hitler's speeches and his socialist mandates. The book has been well researched and is so complex and complete that you will end up reading it two or three times - all this means is that it's very complete and intricate in the analysis.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    Goldberg Shines!

    Jonah Goldberg's research about the origins of fascism and how it applies to modern day politics makes this a "must read" for the political junkie. Whether you describe yourself as a conservative or a liberal, this book is very thought-provoking and fascinating. It's an appropriate read for anyone who is interested in an honest account of American and European politics, spanning from the early 1920s to today.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    Get smart

    READ what we're in danger of losing...and becoming. Read, learn, and protect this great republic: The United States of America!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    3rd Most Important book, behind the Bible, and Atlas Shrugged.

    This should be a must read for any serious student of History, Government, and our society as a whole.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    historical comparison to liberalism and fascism

    jonah goldberg has done a remarkable study on liberalism and compared it with a very fasinating historical documentation of fascism and from his research he has found some intresting and cold similarities: both cold organizations are intrested in trying to abort life and push secular humanism and push laws that are anti christian and anti fire arm legislation which is the untimate aim to take private freedoms away from citizens. those who dont remember history are condemed to repeat it. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4