Customer Reviews for

Liberal Fascism: The Secret History of the American Left, from Mussolini to the Politics of Meaning

Average Rating 4
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Devastating

I have long maintained that International Socialism (aka Communism) and National Socialism (aka Fascism)are simply 2 sides to the same totalitarian coin. After all what is 'Nazi' except a shortened term for 'National Socialist'. Goldberg proves what has always existed i...
I have long maintained that International Socialism (aka Communism) and National Socialism (aka Fascism)are simply 2 sides to the same totalitarian coin. After all what is 'Nazi' except a shortened term for 'National Socialist'. Goldberg proves what has always existed in our plain sight-that the Fascist movement of the early and mid 20th century was, in fact, a totalitarian 'Progressive' political phenomenon originating out of the utopian left, with a distinct 'Progressive' political agenda (i.e. minimum wage, public housing, worker protections, healthcare and even a proto-enviromentalism). It was never some reactionary reply of 'conservatives' to European Liberalism. With precision and scholarly detail he traces the early intellectual origins of Fascism in Italy and makes the vital point that Hitler and the Nazis were simply an anti-semitic strain of Fascism, unique to Germany, and that Fascism itself is not, per se, racially bigoted, but rather totalitarian, socialistic and communitarian. More importantly, Goldberg pulls the curtain back on the 70 year myth which former 'Progressives' (n/k/a 'Liberals')have constructed in America to hide their past sympathies with Fascism pre-WW II and, more importantly, to hide their adherence to Fascist methodolgy in the present-albiet with a gigantic federal government masked by a nanny state smile.(Goldberg's jacket cover of a big yellow smiley face with Hitler mustache is a riot and makes a devastatingly useful counter protest symbol-lets hope it shows up outside the Democratic convention in Denver this summer) Begining with President Wilson and thru FDR and even 1930's Hollywood, American Progressives of the era expressed an overt admiration for Mussolini's ability 'to make the trains run on time'. The Nazi death camps made such pre war intellectual associations politically poisionous in post WW II American politics. As a consequence, that association had to, and in fact, has been convieniently erased from the collective American historical memory post WW II by an all too compliant academia and media and, worse, dishonestly transposed upon the American Conservative movement without any historical basis. Such that today 'Fascist' and 'Nazi' have been wrongly conflated into 'Republican' and 'conservative' for the intelectually lazy and simple minded. Goldberg demonstrates how this modern misconception can only stem from a severe ignorance of the history of ideas in America and Europe and, specifically, from a complete ignorance of the roots of 'Fascism'. Goldberg also lays out how contemporary echos of this Fascism prevail within the the Liberal movement today, most particularly in the modern Democratic party's ceaseless effort to construct a cradle to grave nanny state-all for 'your own good'. From Hillary's Universal Healthcare to Al Gore's Global Warming zealotry Goldberg shows how today's Liberal Fascists seek to aquire political power so as to construct a 'Brave New World' of socialist utopia all for the 'collective good' but, unfortunately, at the expense of the individual freedoms bestowed to us all by the founding fathers in the US constitution. This book is a must read for anyone interested in the truth of where the Progressive/Liberal movement has been and where they would like to take us-all the while with a smile of course!

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

partisan at best

Heres the problem with the whole facism/liberal concept of the book. Facism didn't creat liberalism, it took from it as a way to appeal to the worked over masses. Things like socialism, where people are provided jobs and food'though remember commuism and anarchy were ta...
Heres the problem with the whole facism/liberal concept of the book. Facism didn't creat liberalism, it took from it as a way to appeal to the worked over masses. Things like socialism, where people are provided jobs and food'though remember commuism and anarchy were taboo in facist circles, think about that' we're used as the building block and then they threw in nationalism and that supreme authority of the state over everything, not just the economy. Where facism goes astray is putting the group and the state above the rights of the individual, just because you have a secular style government with free-health care, and that curbs big industries strangle hold on society, doesn't create a system we're individualism is crushed. If anything it helps it because we don't become tied down on what we want to do because 1 percent of the population controls 40 percent of the wealth, and since we don't have money we can't purse the dreams that we want.

posted by Anonymous on March 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    Decent Handling of the Subject

    Goldberg does a decent job of discussing the Leftist origins of Nazism and Fascism. The book is hurt however, by Goldbergs well known Conservative status. For a scholarly look at the same subject matter, from a man outside of the American Political system read 'Three New Deals: Reflections on Roosevelt's America, Mussolini's Italy, and Hitler's Germany, 1933--1939' by Wolfgang Schivelbusch.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    An insightful, outstanding book!

    For all the liberals who love to bandy about the accusations of ' nazi' and 'facisist,' this book is the answer. I always knew liberals were the true examples of modern day facisism and socialism, but I needed an argument based on facts. Thank you.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    OK - well researched

    Look - don't fall for the one star reviews - they're political. The first thing they say is everything bad is right wing and everything good is left wing - it's very tiring and very untrue. Right wing attitudes can be traced back the European nobility and families of good social standing. Right wing attitudes were embodied in Germany within the officer corps, they eventually tried to kill Hitler - something the left seems to skip over.
    The French revolution actually gave us the terms right and left for political persuasion. The left would have you believe Hitler was a right wing guy - however this runs up against a brick wall when you read Hitler's speeches and his socialist mandates. The book has been well researched and is so complex and complete that you will end up reading it two or three times - all this means is that it's very complete and intricate in the analysis.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    Goldberg Shines!

    Jonah Goldberg's research about the origins of fascism and how it applies to modern day politics makes this a "must read" for the political junkie. Whether you describe yourself as a conservative or a liberal, this book is very thought-provoking and fascinating. It's an appropriate read for anyone who is interested in an honest account of American and European politics, spanning from the early 1920s to today.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    Get smart

    READ what we're in danger of losing...and becoming. Read, learn, and protect this great republic: The United States of America!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    3rd Most Important book, behind the Bible, and Atlas Shrugged.

    This should be a must read for any serious student of History, Government, and our society as a whole.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    Interesting, & something I already knew

    While I see that this book has made raving, frothy-mouthed crazies out of the Leftist, I read it myself. Good book that points out the obvious and the Left doesn't want to admit it. The Right also needs to realize that facism and communism both have wicked comparisions to both major political parties! The best thing about this book is: The way the Left squirms and the fact that maybe the word 'fascism' can be taken out of the Left's vocabulary and pointed back at them.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    historical comparison to liberalism and fascism

    jonah goldberg has done a remarkable study on liberalism and compared it with a very fasinating historical documentation of fascism and from his research he has found some intresting and cold similarities: both cold organizations are intrested in trying to abort life and push secular humanism and push laws that are anti christian and anti fire arm legislation which is the untimate aim to take private freedoms away from citizens. those who dont remember history are condemed to repeat it. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    Looney Tunes

    A COMPLETE WORK OF FICTION-very poorly written. Extremely bizarre book--not a word of logic or truth in a single chapter--

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    Excellent

    Brilliant

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    An Instant Classic Groundbreaking A Must-Read. TruthFest 2008!

    This is an amazing book. Along with 'The Naked Communist' by W. Cleon Skousen, this book is the best book detailing the truth that has been hidden by over a half-century of propaganda, misinformation, and history revisionism. If you care about the truth, and have any interest in discovering the roots of 21st Century leftist ideology, or don't believe that Fascism & the German Nazi party represent conservative values in any way, shape, or form, or what you have learned about politics in public schools just doesn't seem quite right, this book is for you! A MUST READ!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    I expected something original...

    For anyone seriously considering reading this book, please take this into consideration. This title is by no means a balanced historical account of the progressive and liberal movement, nor is it a balanced historical comparison of fascism and the left-wing. This book is nothing more than right wing propaganda, written by Jonah Goldberg a right wing editor for the right wing 'National Review.' As hard as it is to admit it, yes I did read the book. what first got my attention was the cover, which looks as if it came out of something from Mel Brooks head. obviously, I wasnt going to take this very seriously, but as my mother always told me... Dont judge a book by its cover. so i read it. I laughed... i cryed... and I laughed some more. on page 201 I finally realized that if I continued, any sense of reality would evaporate from my head. So I stopped, gathered whatever was left of my thoughts, and came back to the real world. The author tries desperatly under so many levels to paint progressives and liberals as well... Nazis. Mr. goldberg takes so many historical references completely out of context and basically through a childs mind compares fascism to progressives the same way you would compare, any sport that uses a ball would be considered basketball and nothing more. Its unfortunate our country is infected with this much polarization. Future generations will undoubtly suffer because of it.

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    Ideoligically corrupted theory...

    As a student who majored in history and studied twentieth century European history extensively, I was interested to read Goldberg's controversial take on fascism. Goldberg's gross distortion of historical facts, which he consistently bends to fit into his indeological mold in the attempt to marry the concepts of political progressivism and liberalism with fascism is so absurd it requires a completely ideologically corrupted mind to accept. I know the issue of organic food as fascist has been treated with satirical mockery, but it illustrates the absurdity and small minded nature of Goldberg's larger assertion. This book is a representative of the distortion of history in favor of ideologically driven perspectives.

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Great summary of the real evolution of the modern left, as oppos

    Great summary of the real evolution of the modern left, as opposed to the Orwellian version foisted on us by academia. Excellent sourcing throughout the book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Excellently researched; demolishes many myths

    Unlike 5860277 I actually understand the translation from German of NationalSocialist Deutsche Arbeiterspartie: "National SOCIALIST German Workers' Party." Goebbels said "When we defeat those Bolsheviks, we'll show those Russians how to do real socialism." By the logic of 5860277, lions are vegetarians because they kill cheetas and hyenas. Like lions, Nazis killed communists not because Nazis weren't socialists too, but because they were competing for the same turf. Goldberg explained this, and 5860277 still didn't get it. Maybe he (she?) can't actually read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    A guy who muddles through the English language

    Firstly I'd point out the consistency of the reviews you see on here for this book they are all pretty much either 5 stars or 1 star with nothing in between but the 5 star ones seem to be remarkably similar as though at least some share a common author.

    Fascism is right wing, socialism is left. The guy that wrote the book and the people who like it are in denial witch ain't a river in Egypt.

    The only intolerant viewpoint in evidence is the view of the neo-right wing ideologists. If you don't like getting called fascists you might want to stop calling people that don't share your point of view socialists or mantra of the day you are all repeating.

    The author is representative of the species that will write or say pretty much anything to make a buck and hence has no issue with muddying the waters in the American political debate. Just as National Socialism was a corruption of the term in Germany so is this book and it's title.

    Not worth the money or the time and the author just shows his reactionary colors and his actual similarities to the propagandists of the right from the 1930s by misconstruing and misleading deliberately.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    learn how the liberal movement has shaped our world

    this book gives a clear history of the liberal influence in the 20th century.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    Couldn't be more true-Riveting

    Makes a stong case how liberalism today shows sure signs of old fascism.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

     

     

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Whose left is it, anyway?

    FYI...In England, the conservatives are called the leftists. Load of bosh. Left-leaning does NOT equal Fascism, thank you!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6