Customer Reviews for

Liberation of Alice Love

Average Rating 3.5
( 498 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(155)

3 Star

(151)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love

Despite the heroine's insecurities, this is a thought-provoking coming-of-age novel that delves into the process of figuring out identity.

posted by 7329639 on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Dull and overly long

This book was far too long, and I found myself skipping pages here and there. It was unsatisfying as a read, and I never understood the lead character or the unlikely conclusion as far as her friend Ella was concerned at the end of the book at the outcome of the chase....
This book was far too long, and I found myself skipping pages here and there. It was unsatisfying as a read, and I never understood the lead character or the unlikely conclusion as far as her friend Ella was concerned at the end of the book at the outcome of the chase. That seemed strange to me, and not as a plot factor, but in general. I also would have liked more deeply developed characters in Alice, Nathan, and even Julian. I think I would have liked more a love triangle development between the three rather than how Julian chose to approach the situation. (I would have liked Alice to choose the other guy had things been different, but she chose the one she did, and that was that). I think it would have made for more interesting reading, too. Of course, that's me and other readers may not agree. Alice's chase for justice with trying to find her former friend was exciting, but the conclusion to that felt tacked on, and we never understand more than a surface level Ella with no deeper explanation as to why she had stolen Alice's identity, among others. I just never was that interested in all of this, and I didn't like Alice's lying and so forth and justifications, but that's not a writing flaw but something about the character I just didn't like. I never quite saw Alice's "liberation," though, and I didn't like the woman she was trying to be in that change. That woman lied, manipulated others, and hid things from the people around her, plus pretended to be something she wasn't, and it all rang false to me. I think Alice went in a destructive direction with her overall change, but in the end she was rewarded for it in terms of the man coming back into her life that she ended up with, no real consequences for Alice and Ella in either of their scenarios, and no sense of maturity, development, or growth in any particular direction.

posted by TracieTN on December 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Dull and overly long

    This book was far too long, and I found myself skipping pages here and there. It was unsatisfying as a read, and I never understood the lead character or the unlikely conclusion as far as her friend Ella was concerned at the end of the book at the outcome of the chase. That seemed strange to me, and not as a plot factor, but in general. I also would have liked more deeply developed characters in Alice, Nathan, and even Julian. I think I would have liked more a love triangle development between the three rather than how Julian chose to approach the situation. (I would have liked Alice to choose the other guy had things been different, but she chose the one she did, and that was that). I think it would have made for more interesting reading, too. Of course, that's me and other readers may not agree. Alice's chase for justice with trying to find her former friend was exciting, but the conclusion to that felt tacked on, and we never understand more than a surface level Ella with no deeper explanation as to why she had stolen Alice's identity, among others. I just never was that interested in all of this, and I didn't like Alice's lying and so forth and justifications, but that's not a writing flaw but something about the character I just didn't like. I never quite saw Alice's "liberation," though, and I didn't like the woman she was trying to be in that change. That woman lied, manipulated others, and hid things from the people around her, plus pretended to be something she wasn't, and it all rang false to me. I think Alice went in a destructive direction with her overall change, but in the end she was rewarded for it in terms of the man coming back into her life that she ended up with, no real consequences for Alice and Ella in either of their scenarios, and no sense of maturity, development, or growth in any particular direction.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    does not live up to its potential

    I thought this book had potential. The book is about Alice Love who leads a very well organized life is a victim of identity theft from someone she thought was a friend, She tries tracking the thief down.

    However, the book does not make good on a promising premise. The book raises questions that it does not answer. Alice bends rules and starts telling lies as the book progresses. The book leaves unanswered the question of whether this is a good thing. Are we supposed to feel nice women finish last or is there some benefit to leading a moral life? The book never resolves Alice's moral dilemmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    A tad boring

    Started out really slow and never fully got into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    ...

    Although this book had a great plot, I found myself skipping pages. It drug on. It was almost like "get to the point already!" I hope this helps.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Disappointing Ending

    As far as free books goes, this was so so. I did enjoy Alice's search for Ella and the "adventure" she went on but ending was such a disappointment. I would have like see the characters and their relationships developed a little bit more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Kind of boring very disapointed how it ended.

    Disapointed how it ended

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Liberation of Boring Alice...

    This novel was so boring it wasn't funny. I kept hoping it would get better, more exciting, or even just develop the characters better but no such luck. I didn't even finish reading it, that's how boring it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Minimal entertainment

    The book was ok at first but as I read on it started to drag on. It was really a very boring read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Would not recommend

    This book was too long. At least 100 pages could have been cut out. The ending left a lot to be desired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    It was ok

    The beginning few pages need rewriting, but the ending was a nice surprise. There is alot of extra detail in this book that does not need to be there and the removal, would pace the book better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3