BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Liberation of Gabriel King

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Keeps Kids Engaged/Great Discussion Starter

Frita and Gabe are likeable, believeable characters. K. L. Going does such a wonderful job with her writing. My students LOVE this novel, and it really helps them understand racial issues during the Civil Rights Movement.

posted by teachnrun on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I HATED this book!!!

This book is about a chicken who is afraid of everything. It's not really about a chicken, but you get my point. He makes a list about every thing he is afraid of, and it has about 100 things, not kidding! This book had a weak plot, and very weak ending. It was recomend...
This book is about a chicken who is afraid of everything. It's not really about a chicken, but you get my point. He makes a list about every thing he is afraid of, and it has about 100 things, not kidding! This book had a weak plot, and very weak ending. It was recomended to me by the SC Junior Book Award Nominee list. I was completely let down. It took me forever to finish because it was so boring, but in the end I finally got to the last page. But I do have one good thing to say about this book, it had a great example of how your parents can influence how you judge other people when growing up in a racest household.

posted by Anonymous on March 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Keeps Kids Engaged/Great Discussion Starter

    Frita and Gabe are likeable, believeable characters. K. L. Going does such a wonderful job with her writing. My students LOVE this novel, and it really helps them understand racial issues during the Civil Rights Movement.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    i just finished this book and i love it. my friend told me to read it and i loved it. it really shows how friendship is important.i loved the whole story and would reccommend it to anyone! :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    The Liberation of Gabriel King

    I loved the Liberation of Gabriel king because it shows how friendship can over come anything no matter what your race is. It was recomended to my by my mother who is a librarian and I would definetly recomend it to anyone else who is in need of a good book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    Good

    This is a great book about a boy who has just finished 4th grade. He was born a chicken. He goes through the summer with his best friend 'Frita Wilson. P.S. His name is Gabriel King'and they make lists of everything they are afraid of. Then they go one by one and face their fears.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2005

    ThE bOoK In My EyEs!

    This book was AwEsOmE! I would recomend this to everyone above the age of 12. It shows some great points of what life was like before the 1990's and what you sometimes have to do to make things change or put things in your own hands. I am so glad this book found me!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    New - Classic

    Gabriel King is afraid of just about everything. He even has a list to prove it. Number one on the list is 'fifth grade'. The reason being is that is when he will move to a new wing of the school and be reunited with number 2 and number 3 on the list! Bullies. So, it's understandible he does not want to move up to 5th grade. Fortunately for him he has a wise beyond her years best friend in Frita Wilson. She encourages Gabe to make a list of all his fears and she will help him conquer them over the course of the summer. The story takes a more serious turn as we learn that on the top of Frita's list is the KKK, and that the leader is none other than the father of Duke Evans, AKA #2. Frita's fear is very real as she and her family are African American. Yet it's not all heavy, there are lots of laughs, fun, and wonderful scenes bringing back fond memories of childhood. Even if one wasn't around during the summer of 1776, the time this story takes place. This is a book I could see in schools in the curriculum. It's uplifting and friendly and has a great lesson, yet that lesson doesn't take over the book, it's simply part of it. Wonderful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Awesome

    Best book ive ever read. im only 125 pages in and its awesome. I have to read it for a book club and so far my group loves it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    I HATED this book!!!

    This book is about a chicken who is afraid of everything. It's not really about a chicken, but you get my point. He makes a list about every thing he is afraid of, and it has about 100 things, not kidding! This book had a weak plot, and very weak ending. It was recomended to me by the SC Junior Book Award Nominee list. I was completely let down. It took me forever to finish because it was so boring, but in the end I finally got to the last page. But I do have one good thing to say about this book, it had a great example of how your parents can influence how you judge other people when growing up in a racest household.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Awesome

    I am 12 years old and i am home schooled. I had to choose between 2 books for next year. I choose The Liberation of Gabriel king. I am not done with it yet but it is a great bookso far and i hope you get a chance to read it! If you love books then you will love this book! I recommend this book for all ages. If you read it, enjoy!!! :)


    By: Tatum Hodges*


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    okay book

    I didn't enjoy this book very much. It's mostly about a boy would is afraid of some bullies in his nieghborhood and then Gabe(the boy) and his friend waste their summer trying stupidly face all of their fears.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Great Read

    I used this book for Literature Circles in my fourth grade classroom. My students loved the book, as did I. It has fabulous learning lessons and wonderful vocabulary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1