Customer Reviews for

Liberty Defined: 50 Essential Issues That Affect Our Freedom

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A must read book!

If you are just waking up from 20 plus years of not knowing what this government's being doing to the American people, then this book will be the coffee you need to stay awake! Enjoy the read.

posted by IRONCLAD on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Intruiging!

Dr. Paul's ideas are provacative, but that's all they are. They really can't hold up in the real world.

posted by 5804037 on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    Everyone with a slight interest in politics should read this book.

    This is a really great book even if you don't agree with everything Ron Paul says (I certainly don't, even if you flat out disagree with the majority of his opinions. The thing about this book is that it's extremely thought provoking, and that's something that more Americans need. Something to promote thinking on the subject. As a people, we're too caught up in the Pundits and their platforms, and their opinions. But how often do we really sit down and think about all of the subjects that make up politics?

    Sure, most of us hold many ideals, about how the country should be run, about foreign and domestic policies, about taxes and the economy. But why do we have these ideas? Have we ever really though about it?

    Seriously, read this book. Use it as a tool to fuel your mind, and thing for yourself.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    A must read book!

    If you are just waking up from 20 plus years of not knowing what this government's being doing to the American people, then this book will be the coffee you need to stay awake!

    Enjoy the read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ron pauls liberty

    "liberty defined" is ron pauls newest book and it has 50 of americas top issues spelled out in clear detail and how ron paul stands on them and how thse issues are a challege to the constitution Iam greatly looking forword to this book because it will clearly show were ron paul is on these issues. so many times people dont have a clear platform from there candidates or politicans on were they stand on their principles this amazing book will show were ron paul is on the main issues that effect our country. great gift idea for a family or friend and since ron paul is a possible running candidate for 2012 this book will make intresting reading.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Recommended...a good read

    After seeing Ron Paul on Meet The Press, NBC's Sunday morning political hour, I was impressed, so I purchased his book. There are fifty topics, so it's a book that can be picked up for short spurts, according to your area of interest. His views are classic American, and solid. The man draws his philosophy from his many walks of life, and politics aside, his views are sensible. This book will not disappoint.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    Must read for the newcomer to politics

    I have become an avid Ron Paul supporter over the past few years, simply because I truly feel like he is the one politician who is sincere in everything he does and his policies and initiatives make complete sense, in my opinion. To understand Ron Paul is to understand a little bit of who he is. First, he is a physician from Texas who has been in congress for 20 years. He has always been a Republican but runs on the libertarian premise of social and economic policies. He has also ran for president and is again in 2012.

    This book briefly covers 50 issues that he sees are the most serious issues facing Americans today. Now, this book isn't for those who require or who are expecting depth and explicit examples and details over the issues. This is a book that just covers the top of certain issues, from abortion, to foreign aid policy, etc. He gives his view and his cure, along with some past examples of what hasn't worked in each chapter.

    I do wish each chapter was a few pages longer, but that would be a pretty stout book. So, if you're wanting to know a little bit about Ron Paul, or simply, a different perspective on specific issues we are facing today, then check this book out. It's definitely something that from time to time I will crack open when something is going on in our country just to refresh.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Introduction to Libertarian Constitutionalism

    Paul is an excellent writer. He is a far better writer than he is a public speaker. In this book, his ideas and views are presented in clear fashion.

    Ron Paul is a libertarian constitutionalist, by which I mean he is philosophically a natural-law libertarian and practically a strict constitutional constructionist. His form of libertarianism, although not the most radical form of libertarianism, is probably one the most influential. (Other forms of libertarianism include anarcho-capitalism and Objectivism, just to name a couple.)

    This is not the first book I would recommend on either libertarianism (see Bergland's Libertarianism in One Lesson) or on constitutionalism (see Barnett's Restoring the Lost Constitution). However, it serves as a good introduction to the libertarian-constitutionalist views that characterise Paul and a great many of his supporters.

    I would recommend this book to (1) those interested in public affairs generally, and who are already at least vaguely familiar with libertarianism; (2) those interested in the views of Ron Paul, regardless of their familiarity with libertarianism; and (3) those who are libertarians interested in deepening their understanding of libertarianism.

    This is not to say that every person, or even every libertarian, will agree with Paul on every issue covered. I certainly do not. Nevertheless, his views are intriguing, and his presentation compelling. Even on issues where one already agrees with the good doctor, one will find a few surprisingly-fresh rationales for the viewpoints considered.

    Finally, everyone---whether liberal, conservative, or libertarian---will agree with Dr. Paul on something.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Intruiging!

    Dr. Paul's ideas are provacative, but that's all they are. They really can't hold up in the real world.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Common sense

    Ron Paul clearly defines liberty and his policies on major issues other candidates skirt around. Intelligent and sensible.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Life Changing Book

    This book has changed my life. I recommend this book to anybody who wants to better understand liberty.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    50 Essays on Government

    Ron Paul is our modern day Thomas Jefferson. His in-depth consideration of each of these 50 issues ahould be a must read for anyone interested in reasoning out a solution to such major issues of our time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Pick this up if you have some cash on hand

    This book will make you think twice about everything you thought you knew.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Job Defining Principles

    Basic intrinsic principle and core beliefs of Dr. Paul are outlined chapter and verse. However it is necessary to extrapolate, as readers, the practice of Dr. Paul's theory. I.e. He effectively presents the starting points, but not the conclusions.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2011

    Clear and Concise, Timely and Profound

    In Liberty Defined, Paul applies concepts of liberty to fifty often controversial issues and is not afraid to step on any of the third rails of politics; the topics start with Abortion and end with Zionism. The chapters are short and concise, which often leaves the reader wanting more. But the book is not designed to explore any specific topic in depth, and Paul gives references at the end of many chapters to provide the reader with more information. Despite the laundry list organization, the common theme of liberty provides the framework for each topic. Paul¿s perspective of looking at an argument from the standpoint of liberty will likely make readers uncomfortable when they realize how their views have been shaped more by partisan politics and media hype than a consistent grounding in premise and reason. Paul explains the premise of liberty underpinning each topic and applies logic and reason to reach conclusions which are often refreshingly commonsensical. In the chapter ¿Patriotism¿ Paul defines it as obedience to the principle of liberty rather than blind obedience to the state, and reminds the reader of Samuel Johnson¿s quip, ¿Patriotism is the last refuge of a scoundrel¿. Many of those scoundrels voted to eviscerate our 4th Amendment rights and had the arrogance to call it the Patriot Act. Paul¿s warnings of the security state pervades many of the chapters, and as he points out in the first paragraph of the book¿s introduction, we need to know not only what liberty means, but also to recognize it, and to recognize when the opposite of liberty is sold to us as a form of freedom. In the chapter on Empire, Paul outlines the destructive transformation of the Roman Republic into Empire, and in his brief reference to Cicero¿s failed effort to save the Republic, we see perhaps Paul¿s identification with Cicero as a lone crusader against an inevitable tide. Paul¿s clarity and prescience in matters of foreign policy is matched by his depth of understanding of monetary issues. Unique amongst his Congressional peers and fellow presidential candidates in predicting much of the current financial implosion, his chapters on Austrian Economics, Keynesianism, Monetary Policy, and Moral Hazard should be must-reads for anyone ready to find out what is really going on. Liberty Defined is not the typical feel-good, self-aggrandizing book of a candidate in a presidential campaign. Imagine most any other candidate (Repub or Dem) campaigning for the presidency and addressing these same topics, and one can imagine the creativity summoned to fabricate answers after carefully weighing how said answers would ¿play¿ to the voters. Paul, the ultimate political iconoclast, has never put popularity before his philosophy, and this book is obviously not the ghost-written product of a campaign consultant. This book will be helpful as a reference: Frustrated that the last debate was mostly theatrics with no substantive discussion of the issues? Confused about how a particular controversial topic should be analyzed, or where candidate Paul stands on an issue? Read the chapter and be enlightened. With its brief topic-oriented chapters, Liberty Defined is useful on many levels, and will be valuable to those who don¿t want to take the time to read the entire book. Liberty Defined is the perfect book to introduce Ron Paul and to provide balance for those who only know of him through the often dismissive and derisive comments of the

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    ABSOLUTE MUST READ!!!

    If you're like me, you can't get enough of Ron Paul. The man is principled beyond belief in this modern world of lies, compromise, complacency and fear. If you haven't heard of the man, or you have and you're wondering why the media calls him a nutjob - then PLEASE do yourself a favor and our NATION a favor and READ THIS BOOK! He literally defines liberty with this book and does so in a manner that doesn't intimidate your intelligence, but rather unravels a mountain of myths and propaganda that you've been fed your whole life. If you logically examine each point made in this book, and you have a basic understanding of how freedom & governments actually work in opposition to eachother, this book will fortify your beliefs and help you to realize that Ron Paul is the best chance for America to survive itself before needing a forceful revolution to restart. If you haven't heard a speech by Ron Paul, please do so, because as awesome as this book is, there's still so much you can learn about the leader of the Liberty Revolution. RON PAUL 2012!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Enlightening read. As a seventeen year old, I find it hard to wa

    Enlightening read. As a seventeen year old, I find it hard to wade through the knee deep political jargon of the age, but Ron discusses the 50 'issues' in a concise and informative manner that is relatively free of jargon. The more I learn about our government and our overarching policies, the more I detest the way things are currently run.

    RP 2012...or 2016...or 2020... And if all else fails,

    RandP 2024! Haha.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    This book gave me more knowledge and confidence on multiple topi

    This book gave me more knowledge and confidence on multiple topics.
    Everyone who wants to know how our freedon effects our lives on strategic issues must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Not a sharp mind.

    This was not a book by a great thinker.

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Geeat read

    Liberty sounds good to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4