Customer Reviews for

Liberty and Tyranny: A Conservative Manifesto

Average Rating 4.5
( 532 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(385)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

95 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

A seminal work on modern conservatism

I just finished Liberty and Tyranny and I have to say that it really heartens me as a conservative. Finally, among all the hype and histrionics of the Obama era, comes a voice that reconnects the modern conservative movement to its ideological and philosophical roots. ...
I just finished Liberty and Tyranny and I have to say that it really heartens me as a conservative. Finally, among all the hype and histrionics of the Obama era, comes a voice that reconnects the modern conservative movement to its ideological and philosophical roots. Now, more than ever we need this voice for the values upon which the country was founded. Every conservative needs to get this book.

posted by winstonsdad on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

46 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

stark reminder of my communist past

It is shocking for a person, born and raised in a communist country, to be able to emmigrate to the best country of the world and 20 years later to witness the same communists, only this time speaking American English, to invade and destroy the only outpost against that...
It is shocking for a person, born and raised in a communist country, to be able to emmigrate to the best country of the world and 20 years later to witness the same communists, only this time speaking American English, to invade and destroy the only outpost against that societal cancer, COMMUNISM.
I just cannot make myself grasp the idea my children and grand-daughetr would be the new victims, this time even in USA.
Please, fight against the Left, the way we fought them 20-30 years ago.

posted by 1171304 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 483 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    A seminal work on modern conservatism

    I just finished Liberty and Tyranny and I have to say that it really heartens me as a conservative. Finally, among all the hype and histrionics of the Obama era, comes a voice that reconnects the modern conservative movement to its ideological and philosophical roots. Now, more than ever we need this voice for the values upon which the country was founded. Every conservative needs to get this book.

    95 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    The right book at the right time by the right author.

    If you've had enough floating through your life wondering what is happening to your society and country, start with this book. Jefferson believed a government will always expand its powers until encroaching upon every facet of citizen's lives. Then, the people must stand-up and dissolve that government - reducing it to its original size and scope. That time has come for us.

    71 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    The Great One strikes again

    Mark Levin is at ground zero of the conservative movement. His studies and experiences have been brought out in a fantastic road map for people who truely believe and understand the views of the great men who founded this nation to reign in the overbearing hard-left ideologues who are stealing property (and liberty) from the people.

    This book could re-educate many people in our country, (and re-orient them with the ideas and philosphies that they were BORN knowing, only to be beat from their minds by the left-wing educational system and mainstream media) but as is typical with the hard-left, they will surely demonize it as extremist. I am still waiting to know how one becomes 'too' conservative - how can there be 'too much' life, individual liberty, or pursuit of happiness?? The left has positioned fascism (and Hitler, per se) as 'extreme right-wing' over many years to demogogue conservatives - unfortunately no one bothers to articulate HOW people like Hilter who controlled ALL aspects of people, property and industry can be equated with right wing conservatives who value the polar opposite of this. Levin clearly outlines conservative principals and cuts thru the clutter of the false names and demogogary that the media and hard-left interest groups use to demonize people with the values of our founders while sugar coating their agenda which intends to control almost every aspect of the lives of Americans.

    61 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    greater freedom and a greater cause to stand by our country

    "liberty and tyranny" is a very hard to put down best seller. mark levin has collected some wonderful conservative essays that show how our nation can stand back on its feet again and look for its core reagan principles that it seeks to find job and ecanomic prosperity and religious values again. this is a very special blue print for all voters to look once again to see what is needed in there country to get back again. this book would make a fine gift for a friend or family member.

    57 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This Conutry was Founded on Conservatism

    This country has not has a conservitive President since the great Ronald Reagan, for whom Mr. Levin worked. In these trying times, with the current admnistration sprinting to the far left as fast as possible, Mr. Levin's thoughts and ideas are a welcome respite from the continual drumbeat of drones in the liberal media. Mr. Levin's analysis and anecdotes serve not only to lay out what true conservatism stands for, but also give readers hope for the future that we can some day win this country back by working together to change the hearts and minds of as many people as possible.

    55 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    The most important political book of our time.

    In Mark R. Levin's new book, "Liberty and Tyranny", he gives a stunning and revealing account on the evolution that has taken America to where we are today. Levin is a Constitutional lawyer and scholar with a writing style that is clear, concise and supported with flawless research and documentation. He has articulated the concerns of millions on the alarming and repressive taxation process that threatens life in America as our generation has known it. The Conservative Manifesto he outlines is nothing short of historical.

    52 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    Constitutional John

    This man is a modern day combination of Thomas Payne, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, and the good parts of Alexander Hamilton! I cannot find a page that has an error or omission. This book tracks the intent of the American Constitution as it was intended.

    Thank you Mr. Levin, your an American Hero

    46 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    Hamilton and Jefferson

    I cannot believe the stupidity of people that make comments about what Hamilton and Jefferson "envisioned" for our country. I'm glad to see others recognize the error. It is so frustrating to see people spew nonsense from their liberal (tyrannical) pens/mouths without understanding anything about history. Hamilton and Jefferson not only differed completely in their political theories, but their theological differences were just as great. In only two areas were they similar, their inability to manage their own personal finances and propriety; especially Jefferson, and their relationship with Madison. Hamilton and Madison's theories were very similar early on in their careers, but as Hamilton became more of a proponent for central government, Madison merged with Jefferson on less central government, at least until Jefferson and Madison became Presidents! History doesn't change, buddy...it must be viewed as objectively as possible given all the facts as they become available. If you subject your opinions and thoughts of government today and try to push them together with what actually occurred 200 years ago, all you get are a bunch of puzzle pieces that don't fit together. Doesn't that describe our government today?

    39 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    A Reviewer

    It's obvious those that speak of Thomas Jefferson's and Alexander Hamilton's letters have never read them, as the two men were polar opposites of what their "intentions" for the country were. The reviewer is right about one thing, our current government in no way even closely resembles the intentions of either the Federalists nor the Jeffersonian-Republicans, much in part to the ever expanding socially spending federal government, exactly what Levin speaks out about. Anyone with any sense of history wouldn't use the writings of Jefferson or Hamilton to discredit this book.

    39 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good compliment

    Levin, the radio host turns to authoring in this book (not his first) to rail on the current crisis that we face in America-not just the economic crisis, but the fact that we've lost our way as a country. It's tragic that Levin gets bogged down with terminology like "conservatism" and "liberal" because, even though those are sometimes fitting, they're also extremely loaded terms. THe truth is that both conservative and liberal should describe the same person: a person CONSERVING the form of government our Founders created, which is a liberal (promoting high liberty) mindset. If you get around semantics, this book is a fantastic read for anyone interested in politics. Levin is a brilliant man and this book is somehting to seriously consider

    38 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Thomas Paine's Common Sense is to 1776 as Mark Levin's Liberty and Tyranny is to 2009

    You prove yourself to be very ignorant by saying that Mark Levin is not a Reagan conservative, when in fact, he served in the Reagan administration. Why is it so extreme to point out the values that our country was founded upon? And if the ideas of conservatism expressed within this book are so unpopular then why, pray tell, is this book a runaway #1 best seller? This is one of the most intelligent books I have ever read!
    I recommend this book to liberals and conservatives alike.

    35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Levin Kicks A$$!

    Like the master he is, Mark Levin carefully encapsulates Conservatism and expertly distills it into a readable manifesto accessible to anyone. He wastes no words and packs each sentence with usable information. This book is a must for anyone who wants to understand Conservatism. For those who already understand Conservatism this book is additional ammunition to use against the hoards of ignoramuses dragging this country into Marxist hell. Levin is informative, insightful, effective, and unapologetic as he tells it like it is: this country is built on Conservatism, this is the greatest country in the world because of Conservatism, and the only thing that will preserve this country is Conservatism!

    35 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Better than the crap that is displayed when you walk in the front door of the store.

    This is a must read. It is well written and is pure truth. After reading this book some people may be personally enlightened and may have a different opinion about what the "messiah" Obama is doing to our country. Drones and cool aid drinkers not not apply!

    31 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    Why this book is a must read and NOT just another conservative rant!

    Dr. Mark Levin has taken upon himself to writing a book that exposes the statist and what they stand for. Mark details the visions of the founding fathers and the framers of the constitution and how those visions and philosophy applies to today's society. This book is a must read for all liberty loving Americans. I highly recommend that parents and grandparents share this book with their children and grandchildren. Only a true patriot, like Mark, would have the courage to expose the hidden agenda of the Statist.

    30 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    never too old to learn

    Mark levin has written a book to remind us sleepers what we have forgotten, The struggle of our founding fathers to help create the greatest nation on earth. it didn't happen overnight there were so much life struggle,strife and learning behind this perfect constitution that no other nation in this world can ever compare to, That is why people sacrfice and struggle to come here and live, and enjoy our freedoms and liberties. We must stand together and make sure no one changes any thing about our constitution. It has been tried for years Freedom is not free.
    if you don't STAND for something you will FALL for anything.

    I recommend this book to all the boomers who forgot our history and need to be reminded.
    Dee Mesa,Az

    26 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    excellent read

    I understand with sadness why the liberals comment negatively on this book: they have no idea about what the constitution is all about not to mention they did not understand its content...... it possible with these guys.... and if they say that conservatism was in charge for the last 8 years, here again they were wrong: how about the first 6 years of the last 8 years and the last two years they were !!!!!! of which their supposed to be leader "obama" hardly entered the congress and attended any sessions......

    25 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The struggle to restore freedom and independence to our beloved country begins with this book Liberty and Tyranny. This is not about big government versus small government, its about free-market capitalism being destroyed by Obama's socialism.

    The Republican Party is in search for leadership, and this book does a great job filling that vacuum. It is the mantra of the true traditional values of America rooted back to its founding with the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution. This content of this book comes straight from the heart, as it opens our eyes to see how morphed and derailed our country has become. This book lays down the blueprint for how we will restore the original principles that our great country was founded on.

    24 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    LOVER OF THE AMERICAN CONSTITUTION AND ITS SIGNERS

    IN READING THIS BOOK,I REALIZE HOW FAR OUR COUNTRY HAS DRIFTED TO THE FAR LEFT OF CENTER,OUR FOUNDING FATHERS KNEW THAT LIMITED GOVERNMENT WAS ESSENTIAL FOR A FREE NATION,AND MR. LEVIN'S BOOK CLEARLY DEMONSTRATES THIS
    POINT THROUGH OUT.

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This a joke... right??

    I find it laughable that Mr. Levin can possibly defend or make a case for conservatism, especially after the last 8 years where we had a failed conservative president and congress. The author promotes conservatism as a way to freedom and liberty and yet, under conservative rule, this country has never seen so much of our civil rights and "freedoms" go down the toilet. With Conservative talk show hosts like Mr. Levin and "Fox Noise" running things, misinformation is running wild.

    22 out of 265 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must read

    I think every high school and college student should be required to read this book. It is well written, well reseached and very educational.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 483 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25