Customer Reviews for

Liberty and Tyranny: A Conservative Manifesto

Average Rating 4.5
( 486 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(346)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

96 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

A seminal work on modern conservatism

I just finished Liberty and Tyranny and I have to say that it really heartens me as a conservative. Finally, among all the hype and histrionics of the Obama era, comes a voice that reconnects the modern conservative movement to its ideological and philosophical roots. ...
I just finished Liberty and Tyranny and I have to say that it really heartens me as a conservative. Finally, among all the hype and histrionics of the Obama era, comes a voice that reconnects the modern conservative movement to its ideological and philosophical roots. Now, more than ever we need this voice for the values upon which the country was founded. Every conservative needs to get this book.

posted by winstonsdad on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

47 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

stark reminder of my communist past

It is shocking for a person, born and raised in a communist country, to be able to emmigrate to the best country of the world and 20 years later to witness the same communists, only this time speaking American English, to invade and destroy the only outpost against that...
It is shocking for a person, born and raised in a communist country, to be able to emmigrate to the best country of the world and 20 years later to witness the same communists, only this time speaking American English, to invade and destroy the only outpost against that societal cancer, COMMUNISM.
I just cannot make myself grasp the idea my children and grand-daughetr would be the new victims, this time even in USA.
Please, fight against the Left, the way we fought them 20-30 years ago.

posted by 1171304 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 388 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 20
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Sign Of The Times

    This was the first book I had read by Mark Levin and I had not heard his radio show prior to reading Liberty and Tyranny. I have to say that my impression of his work is very high - especially given this is his first book I had read! The author argues for an originalist interpretation of the Constitution of the United States and provides compelling, intellectual arguments to back up his beliefs. I particularly enjoyed "The Conservative Manifesto" as outlined in the book which serves as a logical blueprint for getting back to basics. I look forward to reading more of his work as well as listening to his radio program. Highest possible recommendation for those interested in politics.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    Incredibly Intellectually Stimulating

    Mark Levin's new book decisively accomplishes several objectives which I believe he embarked upon when the idea for writing this book first struck him. It is indeed educational - I learned more about conservatism from his book than from any other single source I have read. It is intellectual - he is adept at researching the history of conservatism in America and teaching us about the divergences which have taken place since our Founding Fathers first created and adopted the Constitution. It is provocative - indeed a timely piece while the country is undertaking a sharp turn toward soft socialism in preparation for more acute changes which I believe are planned for our near future. And finally it is insightful - his final thoughts on the prospective direction of conservatism in the United States...his "conservative manifesto"...and how to achieve it is intellectually intuitive as well as effectively abridged yet thorough. Congratulations to Mark!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    A timely and well written work

    I found this book to be lucid and cogent. Mr. Levin accurately depicts that the struggle is now, as it always has been, about liberty vs. tyranny, between individualism and statism. He does not spare the Republicans, which he refers to as neo-statists, anymore than he spares the Democrats, the statists, from their failure to adhere to the founding documents and fundamental principles America was built upon. Those who ignore his warning do so at their peril. The only way forward is the way back to the original and unalienable rights on which this country was grounded.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    Outstanding -- you have to read this one!

    Many books on Current Events seem to say the same thing. Not this one.

    Mark Levin knows his subject inside and out, the style has poetry about it, and, parts of it sound inspiring!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mark Levin is a Constitutional Attorney and Brilliant!

    I love this book. It is not only an educational book, it is also a guide to the conservative movement. Mark Levin is a Constitutional Attorney and a brilliant man. He has a wonderful, interesting, educational radio show for conservatives and liberals. His show is found at http://marklevinshow.com where you can download his daily shows for free. Enjoy and learn!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    A stirring history lesson and a logical view of the mistakes of the last 50 years! And the best part, it's based on facts that anyone can verify - if they dare to...

    This is a great book with loads of data and fact, not an opinion hit piece as it is likely going to be described by those on the left who won't actually read it.
    It uses actual history, not hysterical bias to focus on what policies were enacted, and how they have affected and are affecting life in America and the loss of our freedoms.
    I especially like the portion on global warming (or is it climate change?) and the story headlines - giddy good humor, based on fact...

    A must read for all Americans.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    love the book, here some ideas that conservatives we have to follow

    Love it, it is great to have some out there, who has the same believes that I have and been Hispanic and agree with the Great One. I will recommended to everyone who has an interest in the conservative movement.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Bravo, Mark!!!

    Absolutely fantastic read!!! Mark is spot on.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Good constitutional constructionist text

    This is a very well written, educational text. It reads like a (well written) textbook for an advanced civics class. This book is a tremendous reference for those that advocate the limited role of government.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enlightened, Educated Conservative Thoughts

    I found this to be a very enlightening, eye-opening book. It is written from a conservative point of view, so if you're a liberal, you'll likely find it frustrating. If you're willing to approach it with an open mind though, there is a wealth of information here to evaluate.

    The book shows heavy research and sites many sources, and gives a historical context to many key -- if not often forgotten -- conservative concepts. This book is ideal if you want a solid understanding of what it means to be a conservative and why conservatives believe what they do.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Winner !!!!!

    Very well written by a man with common sense. Hard to put down until the last page is turned. Highly recommended.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Mark Levin on Liberty & Tyranny

    What an excellent book! Mr. Levin displays his extensive knowledge and logic as usual. This book ought to be required reading for every national and state senator and representative. The book was well vetted and footnoted.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    Compelling!

    I was amazed as I read the book to find out the History of Conservatism I was not taught about in my education growing up. The principles throughout the book make sense and help prosper the U.S. as a nation. It really is not that tough to realize that big government and government run programs just don't work well, if at all.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One Stop Shop for Conservatism

    This book is not about Mark Levin, his radio show or his fans.

    Instead this book is a clear, concise and insightful substantive tome of modern Conservative literature. It takes the reader through all of the major political issues of the day and clearly articulates why the Conservative position is the best approach. Moreover, the Conservative positions are backed by years of historical precedent, examples and the principles of our Constitution and Founding Fathers.

    One of the best books I've read in a very long time.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WONDERFUL

    This book is a must read for every thinking American.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Liberty and Tyrany will rank as a classic work along side such greats as "God and Man at Yale". Simply put this work describes what a Conservative is, what they believe and what current modern progressive/socialists are and what they beli

    This is a classic work, going back to the founding fathers and the books and great thinkers that influenced them. It outline why our govenrment is set up the way it was and how it is now threatened by the modern progressive/socialist.
    Mark takes each major topic and examines it in detail and clearly outlines the conservative perspective, the logical reasoning behind this position, how the current socialist adgenda threaten this and finally he provides a prescription on how we can fight back.
    This book is THE GIFT we are giving to every graduate-birthday or other significant event this year and well into next.
    After more than 7 weeks on the NYT best seller list, there is a reason the main stream media want to ignore this book. It tells it to you straight.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    The Title tells you exactly what the book is about.

    This book is an excellent read. It is very well written and well researched. It opened my eyes to what is happening to America. It actually was frightening to me. We go about our lives not really understanding what is happening to our country or what we can do to stop the "Tyranny" and bring back our "Liberty. This book is a must read for all concerned Conservatives.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    A must read for all true Americans.

    Very enlightening and keeps your interst throughout. Levine's research is superb, he can back up everything he says. in the book. Really connects to the average American. Keep an open mind when reading this and you'll find that deep down we are all really conservatives. If we all felt this way, we could restore America back to its glory days.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    A Conservative Champion Educates America

    Mark has done comprehensive research into what our Founders thought and compared/contrasted it to what the left of today think and do. He highlights the differences and warns us of the loss of freedom which we are facing if we are not willing to defeat the statists. Very chilling material, but extremely important for all government-schooled individuals to learn before America becomes a gulag.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Every man wishes and dreams of freedom.

    Well done, Mark! A finely written expose on what it means to be part of the American Experience. I can only hope that 200 years (maybe 20) from now Americans still celebrate the sacred strength of individual freedom!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 388 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 20