Customer Reviews for

Liberty and Tyranny: A Conservative Manifesto

Average Rating 4.5
( 536 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(389)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

96 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

A seminal work on modern conservatism

I just finished Liberty and Tyranny and I have to say that it really heartens me as a conservative. Finally, among all the hype and histrionics of the Obama era, comes a voice that reconnects the modern conservative movement to its ideological and philosophical roots. ...
I just finished Liberty and Tyranny and I have to say that it really heartens me as a conservative. Finally, among all the hype and histrionics of the Obama era, comes a voice that reconnects the modern conservative movement to its ideological and philosophical roots. Now, more than ever we need this voice for the values upon which the country was founded. Every conservative needs to get this book.

posted by winstonsdad on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

47 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

stark reminder of my communist past

It is shocking for a person, born and raised in a communist country, to be able to emmigrate to the best country of the world and 20 years later to witness the same communists, only this time speaking American English, to invade and destroy the only outpost against that...
It is shocking for a person, born and raised in a communist country, to be able to emmigrate to the best country of the world and 20 years later to witness the same communists, only this time speaking American English, to invade and destroy the only outpost against that societal cancer, COMMUNISM.
I just cannot make myself grasp the idea my children and grand-daughetr would be the new victims, this time even in USA.
Please, fight against the Left, the way we fought them 20-30 years ago.

posted by 1171304 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 536 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    Finally.

    Dear Anne Coulter, Rush Limbaugh, Bill O'Reilly, Pres. George W. Bush, Vice Pres. Dick Cheney, Gov. Sarah Palin, and all you other myriad voices of today's Conservative movement:

    Please, I am begging you. Before you come out with a new book about Conservativism, or the evils of Liberalism, or do one more interview, or host one more show, please, please, PLEASE sit down with this book, a highlighter, a pen, and a pad of paper and TAKE NOTES ON HOW TO ARGUE YOUR SIDE OF THINGS IN A LOGICAL, COHERENT, COGENT ARGUMENT!!!!

    I cannot express how shocked I was to finally come across a modern-day Conservative who could present his argument in a way that was obviously well thought out, logical, and reasonable, instead of being a disturbing glimpse into an alarmingly prejudiced, hateful, xeno/theo-phobic, greedy, hypocritical, and callous mindset. I will admit that I am not very far into the book, having only picked it up today, but I can already say with absolute certainty that it does not matter if you are conservative, liberal, republican, democrat, independant, or none of the above: if you are even remotely interested in government or politics, you should read this book. It lays out the tennants of modern-day Conservativism in a way that is concise, blunt, and... effective, is the best way to put it. Already I have come to an understanding of the conservative mindset and views that has answered so many of my questions about the legitimacy (and sanity) of conservativism as a political philosophy.

    Now, no, I am not about to just take what he says as the gospel truth- I already have a list of topics I want to research to verify some of the claims Mr. Levin is making- and I am in no way saying that the views he presents in this book are the only versions of Conservativism out there, but I do have to say that it is nice to see a Conservative present an argument someone sane can listen to without fearing the loss of a few hundred brain cells because of it.

    Finally.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    High on information, low on readability.

    I've watched Mark on TV and listened to him on the radio for many years. He's funny, intelligent, and provocative to listen to.This book is none of those things. It reads like a torturous text book. I fell asleep at page 24 the first time I picked it up. I've tried to finish it on 3 more occasions, but have only managed about 1/3. It simply is too clumsy in style to keep my interest. The sad thing is that he has many great things to say, but they get lost in the delivery. If you like this book, or at least the subject matter, I recommend RELENTLESS: The Socialist Attack On American Freedom, by Edward J. Krigbaum. This book is extremely readable, and makes a very logical and understandable case, that we're being led down the path to socialism. What this author accomplishes that Mark does not, is to make you understand how deadly serious this threat is, and how to reverse it.

    16 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Be cautious

    This book does contain a warning, but probably not the one most readers were looking for. Readers should be wary of anyone, regardless of political persuasion, who shoots out rapid-fire declarations as if they were self-evident truth. Levin does not take the time or care to back up what he asserts is the obvious in this book. A writer like that is playing to instinct and not reason; the same way a horror movie tricks you into being scared of the boogieman hiding in the dark. If you're interested in reading the book, then by all means, read it. But remember that you are reading a manifesto that was written by someone who, from the outset, admits their position. Do not simply accept what is written in this book as well-researched fact.

    16 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    A must read for every American!!

    Mark Levin clearly explains what is means to be a Conservative. I believe that most Americans, regardless of which political party they associate with, will read this book and be surprised at how their own values are echoed in this book. It is imperative that each and every American citizen takes it upon his or herself to learn about the history of our nation's government and to also really study our constitution. Many of us take our personal freedom for granted. But we have to understand, the power of the federal government is growing and growing. The more influence the government has in our lives, the less individual liberty we have. We must not take lightly the value of our personal freedom. As Americans, we should feel empowered because we all have the opportunity to achieve anything we are willing to work hard for, both physically and intellectually. We must take responsibility for that which is within our realm of control, our own lives, and not surrender those responsibilities, and in turn the fate of our own lives to anyone else, especially to the politicians that run our federal government.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Sign Of The Times

    This was the first book I had read by Mark Levin and I had not heard his radio show prior to reading Liberty and Tyranny. I have to say that my impression of his work is very high - especially given this is his first book I had read! The author argues for an originalist interpretation of the Constitution of the United States and provides compelling, intellectual arguments to back up his beliefs. I particularly enjoyed "The Conservative Manifesto" as outlined in the book which serves as a logical blueprint for getting back to basics. I look forward to reading more of his work as well as listening to his radio program. Highest possible recommendation for those interested in politics.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Just another Conservative rant. With leaders like this, it is why they are lost.

    I've read many books by conservatives, and have noted a general decline to extremism over the past eight years. These are not Reagan conservatives. I found the book to be intellectually vacuous, focusing on the past to the exception of the future and failing to account for trends in technology and globalization which make these ideals more remote with each passing year. All things change over time, and this book demonstrated to me why conservatism seems lost.

    13 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    Incredibly Intellectually Stimulating

    Mark Levin's new book decisively accomplishes several objectives which I believe he embarked upon when the idea for writing this book first struck him. It is indeed educational - I learned more about conservatism from his book than from any other single source I have read. It is intellectual - he is adept at researching the history of conservatism in America and teaching us about the divergences which have taken place since our Founding Fathers first created and adopted the Constitution. It is provocative - indeed a timely piece while the country is undertaking a sharp turn toward soft socialism in preparation for more acute changes which I believe are planned for our near future. And finally it is insightful - his final thoughts on the prospective direction of conservatism in the United States...his "conservative manifesto"...and how to achieve it is intellectually intuitive as well as effectively abridged yet thorough. Congratulations to Mark!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    A timely and well written work

    I found this book to be lucid and cogent. Mr. Levin accurately depicts that the struggle is now, as it always has been, about liberty vs. tyranny, between individualism and statism. He does not spare the Republicans, which he refers to as neo-statists, anymore than he spares the Democrats, the statists, from their failure to adhere to the founding documents and fundamental principles America was built upon. Those who ignore his warning do so at their peril. The only way forward is the way back to the original and unalienable rights on which this country was grounded.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    Outstanding -- you have to read this one!

    Many books on Current Events seem to say the same thing. Not this one.

    Mark Levin knows his subject inside and out, the style has poetry about it, and, parts of it sound inspiring!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    More right wing drivel

    Amazing how Mr. Levin has once again written a book that reads just like countless others that portend to be protective of the constitution while all the while looking to destroy it and its MEANING. One need only read the letters and look through the archives of men such as Thomas Jefferson and Alexander Hamilton to know this is not the road they intended this country to go down. Bad enough we had sick-minded presidents such as Mr. Reagan and Mr. Bush trying to dumb down the promise of this country, now we have Mr. Levin and his latest constitutional-heretic rubbish. Thankfully I get most books for free to review - THIS one went right where it belongs - in the rubbish bin.

    10 out of 161 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Finally someone articulates frustration of the productive 48%

    People currently in power got there by promising the 52% that their lives will be bettered beyond what is possible and the cost will be passed on to the other 48% - and their children. The 52% gladly gave up their freedom and gave their blessing to the soft tyranny to proponents of big all-encompassing, all-absorbing government. Any dispute to the notion that country or the world can be improved only through exploitation of the productive class to appease the parasites was written off as greed and selfishness. Mark Levine's book finally gives voice to the 48% who got ran over by bogus premise of veiled socialism a voice and affirms what they instinctively knew to be right all along.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mark Levin is a Constitutional Attorney and Brilliant!

    I love this book. It is not only an educational book, it is also a guide to the conservative movement. Mark Levin is a Constitutional Attorney and a brilliant man. He has a wonderful, interesting, educational radio show for conservatives and liberals. His show is found at http://marklevinshow.com where you can download his daily shows for free. Enjoy and learn!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    A stirring history lesson and a logical view of the mistakes of the last 50 years! And the best part, it's based on facts that anyone can verify - if they dare to...

    This is a great book with loads of data and fact, not an opinion hit piece as it is likely going to be described by those on the left who won't actually read it.
    It uses actual history, not hysterical bias to focus on what policies were enacted, and how they have affected and are affecting life in America and the loss of our freedoms.
    I especially like the portion on global warming (or is it climate change?) and the story headlines - giddy good humor, based on fact...

    A must read for all Americans.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    love the book, here some ideas that conservatives we have to follow

    Love it, it is great to have some out there, who has the same believes that I have and been Hispanic and agree with the Great One. I will recommended to everyone who has an interest in the conservative movement.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    A Great Read!

    I've read this in my free time, and has really given me a better view of the government and economy.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Bravo, Mark!!!

    Absolutely fantastic read!!! Mark is spot on.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Good constitutional constructionist text

    This is a very well written, educational text. It reads like a (well written) textbook for an advanced civics class. This book is a tremendous reference for those that advocate the limited role of government.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enlightened, Educated Conservative Thoughts

    I found this to be a very enlightening, eye-opening book. It is written from a conservative point of view, so if you're a liberal, you'll likely find it frustrating. If you're willing to approach it with an open mind though, there is a wealth of information here to evaluate.

    The book shows heavy research and sites many sources, and gives a historical context to many key -- if not often forgotten -- conservative concepts. This book is ideal if you want a solid understanding of what it means to be a conservative and why conservatives believe what they do.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Winner !!!!!

    Very well written by a man with common sense. Hard to put down until the last page is turned. Highly recommended.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Mark Levin on Liberty & Tyranny

    What an excellent book! Mr. Levin displays his extensive knowledge and logic as usual. This book ought to be required reading for every national and state senator and representative. The book was well vetted and footnoted.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 536 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27