BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Library Lion

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love a book about NOT worshipping the rules.

    I love libraries and books.

    Rules are different.

    I love situations in which rules are shown NOT to be absolute.

    There can be no justice or good when rules are absolute.

    This is a wonderful book with a great story in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    A wonderful book with lovely illustrations - an instant classic for our family!

    We all really enjoy reading this book - my son (2 1/2 yrs old) especially likes acting out the roaring :). The lion, the librarian, and the illustrations are all deliciously charming...and I think the message is fabulous: rules are important but sometimes it's okay to break them when it counts. We've already gotten this book as a gift for friends who also praised it highly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Heartwarming Classic!

    The library is a birth place for imagination. It is a glorious retreat for action, adventure, silliness, any emotional excitement that exists. Knudson displays the comforting, homey feeling of a library through her Children's book, Library Lion. The librarian, Miss Merriweather, is apprehensive at first to the lion's presence, unsure if he can follow the rules of the library but soon she finds him to be delightful. Mr McBee, the library assistant is not so keen on the lion and does his best to act on his jealousy by ignoring the lion. The lion does his best to be helpful and kind to all while following all the rules. However, when an incident arises, the lion will have to decide whether or not to break a library rule.

    This story is heartwarming while teaching children about rules, jealousy, and what to do when a true emergency occurs. Knudson really knows how to write simply so all ages can enjoy and comprehend the story all the while creating and maintaining character development. One of the best things about this book, besides the story itself, is the classical feel that the illustrations lend to the story. I love how they make you feel like the book itself has been passed down from generation to generation. It adds that warm, comforting feeling to the audience. Knudson's Library Lion will always have a home on my bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Book

    This is one of my and my daughter's favorite books. She has been requesting it at bedtime since she was one. It is a sweet story of freindship and great for encouraging your children's love of books and storytime. We just bought a copy for my nephew.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Wonderful story

    This is a favourite book, which has been reread many times. Illustrations are great too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    We love this book!

    This was one of the random books my 2 1/2 year old pulled off the shelf at the library. We both love it and added it to our home library. The illustrations are wonderful, the story is sweet and teaches a little lesson about rules and why sometimes it is ok to break them. The style reminds me of books from 30-40 years ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    excellent book for 2 and up

    this is a rare book that young toddlers can enjoy without having everything pictured for them--a great first introduction to being read aloud to without pictures. don't get me wrong, the pictures are beautiful, evocative (wonderful depiction of emotion), with a touch of magical realism as with a real-looking lion is accepted as part of a library scene. but the storytelling and dialogue are first-rate. not to mention, of course, that gently underscoring the whole story is a quiet emphasis on the love and importance of books and reading.

    we've loved reading this book to our two boys since the older one was 2, and when i was asked to buy a book to donate to a ronald mcdonald house fundraiser, library lion was my first choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    Library Lion

    My son actually recommended this to buy for his younger sister. I thought it was creative and had wonderful lessons. A classic for young readers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    A lion in the library.

    It is a cute story about a lion that comes to the library and how much he enjoys being there with the children. There are rules to follow while in the library and what happens when you don't follow rules. The art work is beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    from a mom who loves to read

    My husband and I are avid readers and it seems our three year old son is just as interested. Library Lion is a favorite in our son's vast collection. Not only does he like it read to him but we love reading it. The story is so sweet, the message clear and the illustrations are lovely. Out of the blue my son said 'the lion in the library is helpful' Yes he is Sam, yes he is. This book is a must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    A delight!

    A pure pleasure to read - an endearing story and lovely illustrations. The Library Lion is an excellent choice for any reader, young or old, who loves the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    Library Lion Roars!

    An immediate classic and must have for any private or public library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1