Customer Reviews for

Licensed to Kill: Hired Guns in the War on Terror

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    WOW......

    I was a contractor in Bosnia, Kosovo, Croatia and as the contract reads 'other geographic regions, states and locales as required'. I was a contractor and loved it....This book is a must read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2006

    This book gives you the inside scoop

    I am a security guard and I read alot. Most books I only read once and get rid of them, this is one you will want to read over and over. Where the media leaves off, this books picks up. Licensed to Kill describes the key players in the exploding world of private military corporations. Pelton takes you into a world nobody else can. He actually meets the major players. Not only are the major PMCs and their execs described you are also taken for a ride along with Blackwater employees through Iraq. You will also get an idea of what the guys are like that are on the hunt for Bin Laden. Pelton also has an unbiased view and doesn't preach to you. Well, He is biased against Jack Idema, but that is probably deserved.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    EXCELLENT BOOK

    Well written and includes international merc companies. I would recommend the author to do a follow up book on corporations who hire these same companies to secretly battle unions and other corporations and local governments in the USA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Gripping tale, well written story

    Author defiantly paints a rich story from his experience . I didn't want to put it down. The worst thing about the book is that it had to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    Wow! But...

    Aside from an irritating conglomeration of alphabet soup designations that kept me turning to the glossary, there is something of a story here about mercenaries I guess (hey, let¿s call `em what they are). That¿s not bad and neither are they necessarily. There¿s no need to act as if they don¿t exist or haven¿t in the past. They¿re tough guys and Pelton is far braver than I to inject himself in their lives. On the other hand, one might weary of the seemingly psychotic joy of killing. Yep, war is hell and blood flows freely. Perhaps I¿m a bit old fashioned in my thinking that most of the time the American soldier doesn¿t thrill at killing. This book makes one wonder how these guys can live normal lives¿or can they? As for the writing, it¿s a bit jerky and in need of a good editor to smooth it out. Bottom line: Great fodder for a B action movie combining the ¿tough guy¿ talents of Tom Cruise (that might be a stretch), the former Terminator, Jackie Chan and a host of others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    Another military branch, U.S. Private Warriors

    Our newest branch of service is being created by US taxpayers via corporate America and we don't even realize what's happening. Well done and interesting book. As the author explains by hiring contractors we reduce the burden on our active/reserve/guard forces and put some distance between certain actions and events. If it goes bad, blame the contractors. Great following book to Bloody Business and Corporate Warriors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Wonder why some guys get books published and others don't?

    Pelton's chapters seem to fall into an ideally-balanced categorical spread. He has chapters on just about every kind of contractor there is: bona-fide mercenary, peace-nik cum gun-toter, hawk turned dove, and out-and-out charlatan. This seemingly perfect balance of different types of contractors exists truthfully only in book proposals in outline form. Perhaps Pelton was required by his editor to categorize the people he writes about into one of the above categories in order to show how thorough and balanced his research had been? His lack of footnotes and proof worries me a bit--where is he getting his info from? He doesn't give his readers the benefit of the doubt by providing any sources for cross-references/ing and fact-checking. How are we to judge that the people he describes are accurately portrayed? His book reads to me as if it may have looked better as a proposal than as it ended up after his advance was already spent...Some authors need to stick to what they do best: writing book proposals. Leave the actual book writing to someone who knows how to share sources and isn't afraid of speaking to more than just contacts from only one side of a story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2