Customer Reviews for

Lichgates (Grimoire Saga #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Some stories rely on a strong world (I'm looking at you, Tolkien

    Some stories rely on a strong world (I'm looking at you, Tolkien) and the characters in the story are just passable. Some stories rely on interesting characters, and those are the best stories.

    Lichgates has an interesting world, with factions that don't trust anyone and probably shouldn't, and all sorts of dangers. But what makes the book worth reading are the main characters, and naturally you root for them and wonder what you'd do in their shoes. Kara starts ignorant and powerless, and must mature and negotiate with those factions. And she fails, often, but in ways that I'd have failed too. Braeden starts as a know-it-all with much to learn, and he fails, often, but in ways that I'd have failed too. The other characters also have depth and change, otherwise you'd have two bright points on a flat canvas.

    Overall, a fun book. The author should charge more for it.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    Lichgates captivated me from the start and took me on a fantasti

    Lichgates captivated me from the start and took me on a fantastic journey into incredible worlds with wonderful, if sometimes scary, creatures and people. If you see a flash of blue from the corner of your eye and feel a kicking sensation in your gut, know that you might have just passed from the world as you know it into the extremely different world of Ourea. This is what happens to Kara just before her life changes forever. Still grieving for her recently deceased mother and worried about her father, Kara is unprepared for the storm of action, suspense, frightening experiences and highly dangerous responsibility that is about to enter her life. Along with Braeden, heir to the Stelian throne, she embarks on a complicated mission as the new vagabond. 

    I found the author's world building to be easily the strongest feature of this book. What an imagination! Although she includes known mythical creatures like griffons, dragons, and centaurs, she also adds a vast selection of her own unique creations. Two headed dogs that can serve as weapons as well as transport, and a creature that can pass through solid walls with riders on its back, are just some of these magnificent beings living in the kingdoms of Ourea.

    The truly bad guys, the Stelians, who seem to be into destruction, torture and control; and the soul stealing Isen make Ourea an unpleasant and extremely dangerous place to live in. The Yakona kingdoms, the Hillsidians, Ayavelians, Kirelms, and Lossians have their own problems and selfish goals. All this combined make the vagabond's mission to bring peace to the realm a very difficult one. The only beings who seem to be able to really assist her are the drenowith, shape shifting muses with some awesome powers. The question is: will they?  
    Kara has this to say about this torn and dangerous world:
    "I'm starting to wonder if there's anything in Ourea worth saving."

    The author does character development throughout the story and, at least the two main characters, Kara and Braeaden, show growth in their personalities by the end of this book. I highly recommend Lichgates to readers who want to go on a fantastic journey of beautiful but dangerous worlds. This is a thrilling five star read which you don't want to miss! (Ellen Fritz)

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    all good

    What an interesting world...it's hero a vagabond and female! Kara and Braedon struggle against private demons attempting to promote peace among the diverse Bloods found in hidden magical corner of earth reached by traveling through litchgates.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An interesting contemporary fantasy novel that brought out the i

    An interesting contemporary fantasy novel that brought out the inner classic fantasy geek in me. Growing up I read just about anything I could get my hands on but hadn’t really touched on that particular genre in quite a while. It felt good going back to it with this book and that’s a compliment right there.

    At first I can honestly say I wasn’t so sure about this book. Just starting off I wanted to snap Kara into reality. The steps she takes to get swept into the story were daft and just made me wonder if she was really going to be a strong enough character to make this book work. There was a moment or two that I wondered what I had gotten myself into with this book, but I’m glad that I pushed through.

    The author constructs the settings and landscapes in such a way that you feel that you are right there in the story and she does it in a way that does not distract you from the tale but makes you one with it. Kind of like a video game, you have the surroundings that put you into the game but the action is what has your attention at all times. You feel the stone walls, smell the musty and dank rooms, and see the greenery in all its stunning beauty.

    The characters interact with each other in a way that has stumped many authors. The banter, curiosity and everything in between are done so well that I’m surprised that the author hasn’t been signed by the big wigs in the book industry. A plus, no insta-love and thank goodness. Kara has been dealt a serious blow in life recently and doesn’t need that type of bond yet. The makings are there for an eventual full blown romance, but the baby steps towards it are perfect for all involved. Too many authors skip over the earning of another’s trust and just going for the full monty before it’s even necessary.

    The adventure is quite an extreme. Throwing everyday next door girl Kara in the world of Ourea and having her come out of her shell and become the person who is to bring peace in a land that is just riddled with destruction and is quite dangerous makes you think that the author is plum crazy but you get to feel and see the changes, the evolution of her and grow to really root for her and the mission.

    The monsters. Oh how I love monsters, especially the fantasy type. An author can do so much with them, tweak them to their vision and leave bits of them unknown so the reader can further envision what they look like. This author even goes that step further and creates her own. Love the monsters!

    I recommend this to all readers of fantasy. If you found it in a store it would be most likely in the YA/Teen section, but readers of all ages will find themselves drawn into the story and put off things so they can read until the end without much disruption. I commend the author for bringing me back to the fantasy genre and look forward to reading further in the Grimoire Saga.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Love it!

    Already bought next installment, just disappointed I have to wait til next fall to finish... if the fourth is even intended to be the last... S. M. Boyce is definitely an author that keeps you interested in the story and its characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Captivated from page 1

    I can not put into words how much I enjoyed reading this book. I couldn't put it down once I started reading it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    There is a reason why S.M. Boyce is a best-selling novelist. Bec

    There is a reason why S.M. Boyce is a best-selling novelist. Because she's more than an author. She's an architect of a new world.

    Welcome to Ourea. Boyce's fantastical world ignites your imagination and takes you on an exciting adventure. From the beginning, her heroine, Kara, opens the pages of a magical book and both you, the reader, and the protagonist are swept up in its awesome pages.

    Boyce is a master of characters and vivid story-telling. I fell in love with the world, the story and I couldn't stop reading. It had romance, intrigue, action and death. From lumbering trolls to murderous soul-stealers, I couldn't get enough of the monsters and I loved wondering what the creature would be to Kara: friend or foe? It's every fantasy that I've ever had as a child: disappearing into a different realm and discovering new powers and magical beasts (The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe or The Neverending Story or Labrynth).

    Leave this world behind and escape to Ourea. Thank goodness, the series continues!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Wow. Fantastic fantasy adventure.

    I must admit that the first few chapters did not wow me. I have now read a deleted first chapter on the authors web page and I believe she should have kept it as the beginning. There is not much to hook you into the main character at first. I am glad I stuck with this book it does get much, miuch better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    WOW

    THIS IS AN AMAZING BOOK!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Omg fantastic

    This is a surprisingly good book! I was hooked by the first hundred pages! Hurry up with the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    good book

    I would love to give this book five stars, but i found it difficult to enjoy when one character would be doing something important and then it would switch characters and by the time it switched back it didn't even explain what had happened.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Interesting world.

    I enjoyed the book and characters. I have read several books about people from our world and time entering other realms. The author did a good job but the book was slow from time to time. I will read he other books in the series and will look for oher work by this author. I also noticed that I don't have high expectations usually when it comes to free ebooks. Usually the grammar and spelling are terrible but with this book that is NOT the case. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    This book is was a little slow to suck me in, or I would have gi

    This book is was a little slow to suck me in, or I would have given it a 5 (I give out a 5 once or twice a year) - it's that good. Something different that takes you on a journey of the unexpected. The heroine is unexpected and not polished, but that is what makes her a believable character. I look forward to what the next book brings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Enthralled with this Saga!

    I cannot tell you how rare it is to find such a riveting saga! I am an avid reader, and a fast one at that. I get through series pretty quickly, so I am always on the hunt for a new and exciting one.

    This story immediately whisks you into another world, making sure not to leave you behind but always managing to keep you guessing about what could happen next. Boyce is excellent with her attention to detail and the realm she weaves for us, known as Ourea.

    I don not want to give any spoilers away, and seeing as to how I have read all the books already, I will simply end by saying: choose this saga. It will ignite your imagination, make you want to experience the romance within it pages and visit the world it brings to life!

    Also, Boyce is wonderful. I sent a tweet saying how much I love the books and got an immediate response. Nothing like making your readers feel valued than simple acknowledgement. I am patiently waiting for the next installment, so I can devour it, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Good story

    Good story and characters. Thanks to the author for a free nook book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    This is such a great read.  Boyce pulls you right into the story

    This is such a great read.  Boyce pulls you right into the story,, which keeps a grip on you until the last page, & has you looking to start
    the next book immediately. I love how she built the character's, & the relationship that they would have in their interactions w/each other.
    It was refreshing to see that the heroine, & the hero weren't thrown right in to a romance as so many authors do with their stories. Their 
    feelings of trust & blossoming love are something that they are each earning on their journey. . Boyce brings the world of Ourea to life bit
    by bit, and in such a way that you feel as if you are a part of it.  As she brings each character to life you feel like you are right there & know
    each  individual personally.  As I was reading, I experienced their anger, laughter, pain, happiness etc..  It says alot for the author when 
    the book transports you right into the middle of the story. You can't go wrong by reading this story. You won't be disappointed. I really look
    forward to reading not only the remaining books in this series, but any other books that Ms Boyce creates in the future.~~Sherry Hoernig~~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Wonderful story!!!

    This book really takes off!!! I could not put it down....this is a must read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Good read for fans of fantasy and Young Adult Fiction, especiall

    Good read for fans of fantasy and Young Adult Fiction, especially as a free Nook book.  The point of view switches back and forth between the 2 main characters, but keeps a good pace and does a good job developing both the characters as well as the fantasy world around them.  Although there is clearly a developing love story, I appreciate a book that develops a heroine that does not immediately fall in love and become entirely dependent on her male counterpart.  

    I would be willing to pay for the rest of the series to find out how this adventure ends.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    good book for everyone!

    Although it's a free version, but you can read it from the beginning to the end. A nice experience!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    You say this book has over 50 5 Star ratings. But I only see ONE

    You say this book has over 50 5 Star ratings. But I only see ONE!

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5