BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lick (Stage Dive Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 286 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

Great story, great characters, and lots of sexy scenes. Starts in as and goes to L.A. then ends in Portland. Good girl goes crazy in Vegas, accidentally gets married to Hot rocker and somehow through ups and downs stay married. I can only hope there is going to be a sto...
Great story, great characters, and lots of sexy scenes. Starts in as and goes to L.A. then ends in Portland. Good girl goes crazy in Vegas, accidentally gets married to Hot rocker and somehow through ups and downs stay married. I can only hope there is going to be a story for Mal, Jimmy and Sam. Plans are needed to be made;)

posted by 13gpb28 on November 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Good story....but

Cute story, but don't write a book based in the U.S. with characters from the U.S. that use terms that we don't use....like "I'll ring you" or "bloody"....I am a native Oregonian and the language left me cringing and took away from the story....

posted by PleaseJH on November 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Loved it

    I could not put it down. Was a great book. I hope there are more.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Unlike the rest

    Unlike others in the rock star romance category, this was had heart and humor. The characters seemed real. I look forward to future books in this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    this was good

    i really enjoyed reading this story. i am going to look for more of Kylie Scott books to read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Wonderful characters.

    I really enjoyed this story & these characters! Funny & heartwarming. Strong & likeable lead female . Don't pass up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I saw a lot of buzz about this title, so I had to grab it from N

    I saw a lot of buzz about this title, so I had to grab it from NetGalley.  I'm so glad I did because I was introduced to a group of guys that were more than the typical rock band living the sex, drugs and rock and roll anthem.  They had issues, they didn't deal with them and in the case of David a spur of the moment trip to Vegas brought him the only woman who wanted him for him.




    On her twenty first birthday, Evelyn Thomas take a trip to Vegas hoping to cut loose.  But a bottle of tequila and a sparse memories of the night before bring her face to face with a man she thinks looks familiar but can't really be sure.  Thinking puking in front of some random guy is bad enough, but she discovers that while in her tequila haze she not only got a tattoo but she also married her handsome stranger.  Now they both have to deal with the repercussion of their decision and decide if what they have it worth fighting for.




    David Ferris is not your typical rock God guitarist.  Sure he's extremely talented, hot as sin and tattooed, but he's got a gentle soul that is looking for someone to look past the fame, fortune and window dressings to see the real David.  He found that with a very drunk Evelyn in Vegas.  She didn't know who is was and didn't let him get too full of himself.  So he was rightly upset when he realized the next morning she didn't remember a single thing from the night before.  What David didn't realize is how hard it was going to be to leave Evelyn behind.  She had gotten under his skin and no matter what he might say or do to push her away, he can't seem to let her go.  She grounds him and makes him realize there is more to life than his band.




    Evelyn was a girl stuck living a plan that had been developed by her parents.  She was to graduate from college and become an architect, just like her dad...even if that prospect didn't make her happy.  Her night in Vegas might have made her a huge disappointment to her parents, but it brought Evelyn the one person that knew her life plan sucked and stood by her in decided what she wanted to do to make herself happy.  Evelyn also had a ton of insecurities when it came to her relationship with David and the lifestyle that he leads.  When the one thing he swore he wouldn't do looked like it happened, Evelyn convinced herself she didn't fit into David's world.  Evelyn had a hard time getting out of her own way, because she was so caught up in her own insecurities, but in the end she realized just what she meant to David and what he meant to her too.




    A great read that lived up to the hype online.  I can't wait to see what Diver is going to be next.  I'm hoping it's Mal, because I know there's a story there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    I am glad I ended reading this book. I was afraid it would be li

    I am glad I ended reading this book. I was afraid it would be like the other rocker books I've tried, with lots of groupies and
    unneeded drama, but it surprised me how much I like the main characters and I got such a kick out of Mal. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    Loved it!!!

    Loved it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2014

    Evelyn had her life all planned out. When she woke up after cel

    Evelyn had her life all planned out. When she woke up after celebrating her 21st birthday in Vegas, she found herself married to a gorgeous rock star but didn't remember any of it. David Ferris, guitarist for the band Stage Dive, is upset that Ev doesn't remember marrying him. He's drawn to her because she sees the man, not the rock star. David has a hard time trusting people who aren't in his inner circle. Their marriage is off to a shaky start and David and Ev have to decide if it's worth the struggle to make it work. I really enjoyed this book. The storyline has intriguing twists that will keep you captivated from beginning to end. The characters are will developed with unique personalities that adds humor and tension to this steamy romance. This is definitely a 'must read' - you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2014

    This was a good one. The character interaction was believable; T

    This was a good one. The character interaction was believable; The angst actually made my heart wrench; And, although the premise of waking up married in Vegas is nothing new, the way it was executed was refreshing different. I really enjoyed reading this. It was long enough to satisfy, but not so long I got bored. Fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Very enjoyable

    228 pages, full novel, first in series of four.
    This was my first book by this author. It was very enjoyable. The beginning premise is a little far-fetched, but i like the characters and wanted to see their story evolve. I definitely recommend and plan to enjoy the rest of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Anonymous

    Cute story! Makes me wish a had a rocker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    awesome story line-

    never got bored reading it-kept me interested and written beautifully the author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Fun Escape

    This is a purely entertaining read. As with any book, a person could pick apart character development and storylines, but I was entertained. I've read the second in the series and pre-ordered the 3rd. Worth the purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    I love Stage Dive! These guys are fantastic and I wanted to be f

    I love Stage Dive! These guys are fantastic and I wanted to be front row at one of their shows the entire time I was reading. Lick is David and Evelyn’s story. After a whirlwind night in Vegas, Evelyn and David find themselves bound together. This story follows Evelyn as she enters David’s chaotic rockstar world and tries to figure out what to do when what happens in Vegas doesn’t stay in Vegas.




    Evelyn was a great character. She didn’t fangirl over David the moment she realized who he was and what had happened. She understandably resisted and it made her feel a lot more genuine and easily likeable. David’s character was probably my favorite because of the crazy emotions he battled throughout the story. It was obvious from the beginning that he actually did care about Ev and her reluctance to let him in hurt him. The other members of Stage Dive were just as interesting and unique and I was left desperately wanting to know each of their stories. Especially Mal, who Kylie Scott endeared to us from the second we met him.




    Lick was fun, witty and smart. Kylie did a great job capturing me from the very beginning and keeping me invested in this couple until the end. The emotional component of this story was well designed and provided the perfect balance to the crazy rockstar antics that colored this book so vibrantly. Kylie told David and Ev’s story with feeling and humor, leaving me feeling absolutely delighted. Lick is the perfect summer/weekend read. It delivers a great story and loveable characters with heart and laughter. I can’t wait for the next book in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Rocked

    when i started this book i was excited to read cuz come one who can say they married a rock star i loved it !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    Lick is a good book, I believe Ev could have jumped to less conc

    Lick is a good book, I believe Ev could have jumped to less conclusions, but then it would have been a short book. I'm not usually into
    rock star books however I'd recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Good book

    Wanna chat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Loved this book

    This was a great book. I love how smooth the story flowed. Before I new it, I was at the end. Leaving me wanting more.

    It had me LOL and tense to see what would happen next. I can't wait to read the next book. Highly recommend you read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    What happens when; what happens in Vegas doesn't stay in Vegas?


    What happens when; what happens in Vegas doesn't stay in Vegas?
    What was supposed to be an exciting trip to Vegas to celebrate her 21st birthday turns Evelyn Thomas’ life upside down when upon waking up in her hotel room hung-over, not remembering the night before she finds herself married to Rock-N-Roll’s favorite son. And feeling like Alice down the looking-hole all of a sudden this nobody coffee house worker is paparazzi fodder.
    David Ferris might be a famous rock star but all he really wants is a good woman who really gets him and who won’t take him for granted. He thought he found love at first sight in a totally sexy fascinating package in Evelyn even if she is a country music fan. Until his heart breaks the next morning when he realizes she doesn't remember him, their getting married or anything from the night before.
    After clearing a few of their personal hurdles they decide to give their marriage a try and that’s when all hell really breaks lose.


    Kylie Scott’s debut for her Stage Dive series may be classified New Adult but will attract fans from many genres. Her illuminating and at times profound narrative flows beautifully is a fantastic mix of humor and drama but does contain a fair amount of timely expletives. The stars are a vulnerable under his steel façade lead guitarist and a bold barista who is much older than her years. The rest of the band make the perfect co-stars and give readers hints to future tales. The romance is perfectly imperfect and very believable, especially the paparazzi following a totally unprepared Evelyn. The love scenes are sensual, exciting and sizzling. And although there are terms that born and bread Americans would not use it didn't effect the feel or enjoyment of the read one bit.
    This is the first Kylie Scott novel I’ve read but I know it will not be my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Recommend!

    Great read for the girl who grew up day dreaming about falling in love with her favorite rock star. A good book to just step out of reality with for a bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5