Customer Reviews for

A Lick of Frost (Meredith Gentry Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 538 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(349)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 542 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Lick Of Frost- The greatest book along with Acheron!!!!(Shatika)

    A Lick of Frost by Laurell K. Hamilton is a great book. It is one of her best books in my opinion. The book is well written and very creative! Hamilton adds humor, suspense, magic, and action all together to make a great book. There are many reasons I like this book. The best reason is because it is unpredictable. You can never guess what would happen in one of Hamilton's books because she keeps you on your toes. There were a ton of reversals throughout the story. She also creates some of the best characters. For example I just love Meredith, Doyle, Frost, Rhys, Galen, Kitto, Mistral, King Sholto, Queen Andais, King Taranis, and Queen Niceven. She always remembers the different characters personalities and makes them all unique. She creates some of the best magical creatures also! She has a great story line and this specific book is the best one in the entire series! In this story Meredith was still fighting to become the queen of the Unseelie Court. She had to get pregnant in order to be queen. She finally did get pregnant with children. In this book she raised up ancient magic that caused her and all of the people of faerie to gain power. But in order for them to keep the magic there had to be a sacrifice. That sacrifice happened to be Frost. Frost was one of Meredith's bodyguard/ lovers. He also happened to be one of the father's of her children. He wasn't killed but he was turned into a white stag by magic. Meredith lost Frost in this book and that was what made the book sad. But I recommend this book for anyone who likes to read. This book deserves a big fat TEN!!! I really love it!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the book, love ths series

    I've been slowly but surely making my way through this series (fingers crossed that I will get Swallowing Darkness soon!) and I have never been disapointed!

    I've grown to love all the characters and I mourned the loss of one (I won't mention who) in this novel.

    It's a great book, great characters, love the plot and the writing style. I'm very happy with this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Warm rocks

    Frostclan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    I actually really enjoy the Merry Gentry series and would like H

    I actually really enjoy the Merry Gentry series and would like Hamilton to continue with it... however, I find the major plot point to be a bit of a disappointment









    STOP NOW IF YOU DON"T WANT SPOILERS AT ALL
    Having mulitiple people be the father of her twins is an extreme cop out. The whole point was that she would get 1 king... and the king may even be someone who wouldn't be a good king. This way Merry gets all the "men she loves" to be with her forever and always and it just seems forced. It completely negates any and all tension that Hamilton tried to build with the series. Also the sex scenes have gotten boring as there is no build up. THere is her talking about each man (in minute detail that she has given us time and time again) and then sex. And to me it seems like bad sex. I am rereading this novel at the moment because the first read I loved it, but upon rereading it, it just seems lazy. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Love all the the books in this series

    I enjoyed all of these books in this series.i loved the steamy romance her discriptions of them make you actually picture it except instead of it being merry you wish it were you lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    AWESOME!

    The whole series is a GREAT read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Full of typos

    I greatly enjoy these delightfully trashy books, but the number of typos in this one really ticks me off. If I'm paying the same as I'd pay for the paperback, I should get at least the same production quality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    One of her best yet

    Even though i wasnt as happy with all of the outcomes in this one i still feel like its one of her best books yet. There seemed to be a lot more tender emotion than what im used to seeing in either of laurell s series. If you like merry this is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Love the ending; wish the book had more action!!

    I really love this series, but I wish the author would spend more time on an actual plot then having Merry and one of her guards yet again wade through their emotional turmoil. Every book has discussed who does Merry love more and how the less-favored men handle their pain. This is a considerably smaller book than the rest of the series; it felt more like a building book to the next where all the issues will be dealt with in the next novel. Overall, if you’re looking for a good story that will keep you turning the pages, try this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    You can't pick your relitives...

    This book was a big mix of GREAT things and HORRIBLE things. You get a better glimps of the level of insanity Merrys family has reached, highs and lows for her and her men and ofcorse trying to keep everyone from killing her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Definitely a quickie!

    I found this book on the bargain isle and decided to pick it up. I have heard that Laurell Hamilton is a good author to get into if you like fantasy/romance novels so i gave it a try. I didn't realize that this was the 6th book in a series so coming into it i was a little confused as to why it started out at a court hearing.

    I didn't have a hard time getting into the plot or the characters as there is lenghty description of each. The book was short and very easy to read, however, i think it would have had more of an impact on me if i had started in order of this series. I am however planning on starting at book 1 and continuing on.

    I enjoyed the passion and love that she shares for her lovers. Intriguing to read about gorgeous god-like men in love with a powerful and beautiful princess. It was fun to get lost in a total fantasy world such as the Seelie/Unseelie court.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Lies, Politics, and Sex in the Elven Courts

    Meredith Gentry, half-human, half-eleven heir to the unseelie throne, has taken a different path to power in a court that favors pain, death, and humiliation. Her path, aided by her need to beget a child, involves nearly constant adult interactions with her court, making her a favorite among the unseelie court guards who were forsworn from intimate relations under the current Queen Andais.

    Queen Andais, who has made Meredith her successor, provided Meredith produces a child, does not comprehend why Meredith has garnered such a large male following. Queen Andais tortures a beloved guardian of Meredith's, simply because the Queen is a fully evil unseelie ruler who finds pain entertaining.

    Meredith, who is still working on producing her own heir, has yet to select a King to her Queenship. It is understood this male should be the child's father, and Meredith has several leading favorites, one of whom is called, "Frost."

    Meanwhile, King Taranis, of the Seelie court, has lost his mind, and attempts to murder Meredith during an interview. He believes she will try to take over his court, which, from Meredith's perspective, is not a court of light.

    Ultimately this story is thin, lacking the body and depth of a well made story, and relying on various adult encounters to carry it through. If you like to dwell on the details of intimate fantasy encounters instead of plotline, this story is for you. It lacks some of the more fantastical adult elements found in the pure dark fantasy series. I will likely not read another book by this author, because I'm not impressed by this type of writing, nor interested in dwelling on fantasy intimacy. Many people do, though, so I would imagine this is why this writer made the NYT Best Seller list.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Laurell Hamilton is now my auther in residence!!!

    I have already been taken away by her Anita Blake series now I want to be a Fairy Princess!! I can't put any of her book down. I read them every where.... Lick of Frost was in no why ignorable. I read it in three days!!! It was filled with twist and turns and lots of HEAT!!!I just wish I had found Ms Hamilton earlier... she has a true talent for telling a story.. I can feel what I am reading ..she makes it so easy to fall in love, hate, or what to be her characters. Lick of Frost was great!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    The story is finally moving forward

    This book is a must read. The story line is finally moving forward from Meredith trying to have as much hot play time as possible to get knocked up. The ending is kind of a cliff hanger, I can't wait to get the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    fighting the uncle crazyness

    figered the crazy uncle would get even more crazy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite so far

    Wow, the Merry books keep getting better and better. I loved this one the best so far, and am moving on to the latest, Swallowing Darkness. This story was beyond imagination, the worlds and the characters that Ms Hamilton created will be some of my favorite of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Finally back on track

    I was putting off reading this novel since lately most of LKH's work has been mostly about sex with very little story. I was pleasantly suprised with this story and felt like maybe we are getting back to what makes us love both Merry and Anita that they are smart complicated women and not just 2 characters that need to have sex all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    To Short; Hope for another addition

    I really helped close up alot of open questions however i wished there was more of the previous charcters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story!

    I have all of the Merry Gentry series and while I have enjoyed all of them, the sex has been more interesting than the story in most of them, and it's interesting to find out when you go from one book to the next only a few days have passed. But, A Lick of Frost finally brings the story to the foreground and Laurell answers some question. The land of Faerie is a little surreal but that is what makes it so imaginative. I think this is my favorite so far. I love all of the characters and Ms. Hamilton's descriptive abilities are incredible. I am definately "elfstruck"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Awesom

    I love the way Hamilton has her characters grow, you just never know what turn they will take. And the combination of the action, suspense and romance is breath taking

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 542 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28