Customer Reviews for

A Lick of Frost (Meredith Gentry Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 541 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(352)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Lick Of Frost- The greatest book along with Acheron!!!!(Shatika)

A Lick of Frost by Laurell K. Hamilton is a great book. It is one of her best books in my opinion. The book is well written and very creative! Hamilton adds humor, suspense, magic, and action all together to make a great book. There are many reasons I like this book. Th...
A Lick of Frost by Laurell K. Hamilton is a great book. It is one of her best books in my opinion. The book is well written and very creative! Hamilton adds humor, suspense, magic, and action all together to make a great book. There are many reasons I like this book. The best reason is because it is unpredictable. You can never guess what would happen in one of Hamilton's books because she keeps you on your toes. There were a ton of reversals throughout the story. She also creates some of the best characters. For example I just love Meredith, Doyle, Frost, Rhys, Galen, Kitto, Mistral, King Sholto, Queen Andais, King Taranis, and Queen Niceven. She always remembers the different characters personalities and makes them all unique. She creates some of the best magical creatures also! She has a great story line and this specific book is the best one in the entire series! In this story Meredith was still fighting to become the queen of the Unseelie Court. She had to get pregnant in order to be queen. She finally did get pregnant with children. In this book she raised up ancient magic that caused her and all of the people of faerie to gain power. But in order for them to keep the magic there had to be a sacrifice. That sacrifice happened to be Frost. Frost was one of Meredith's bodyguard/ lovers. He also happened to be one of the father's of her children. He wasn't killed but he was turned into a white stag by magic. Meredith lost Frost in this book and that was what made the book sad. But I recommend this book for anyone who likes to read. This book deserves a big fat TEN!!! I really love it!

posted by Shatika on April 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Full of typos

I greatly enjoy these delightfully trashy books, but the number of typos in this one really ticks me off. If I'm paying the same as I'd pay for the paperback, I should get at least the same production quality.

posted by 5685634 on January 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Definitely a quickie!

    I found this book on the bargain isle and decided to pick it up. I have heard that Laurell Hamilton is a good author to get into if you like fantasy/romance novels so i gave it a try. I didn't realize that this was the 6th book in a series so coming into it i was a little confused as to why it started out at a court hearing.

    I didn't have a hard time getting into the plot or the characters as there is lenghty description of each. The book was short and very easy to read, however, i think it would have had more of an impact on me if i had started in order of this series. I am however planning on starting at book 1 and continuing on.

    I enjoyed the passion and love that she shares for her lovers. Intriguing to read about gorgeous god-like men in love with a powerful and beautiful princess. It was fun to get lost in a total fantasy world such as the Seelie/Unseelie court.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    The story is finally moving forward

    This book is a must read. The story line is finally moving forward from Meredith trying to have as much hot play time as possible to get knocked up. The ending is kind of a cliff hanger, I can't wait to get the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Finally back on track

    I was putting off reading this novel since lately most of LKH's work has been mostly about sex with very little story. I was pleasantly suprised with this story and felt like maybe we are getting back to what makes us love both Merry and Anita that they are smart complicated women and not just 2 characters that need to have sex all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story!

    I have all of the Merry Gentry series and while I have enjoyed all of them, the sex has been more interesting than the story in most of them, and it's interesting to find out when you go from one book to the next only a few days have passed. But, A Lick of Frost finally brings the story to the foreground and Laurell answers some question. The land of Faerie is a little surreal but that is what makes it so imaginative. I think this is my favorite so far. I love all of the characters and Ms. Hamilton's descriptive abilities are incredible. I am definately "elfstruck"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    A very surprising Ending!!

    Finally what was expect it was delivered it by this story too bad that it wasn't as long as i expected a lil disappointed about that but the story was still outstanding love it i can not wait until the next book comes out soon i hope !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2007

    Fantasy and Romance Reader

    L.K.H. really outdid herself with this new entry into the Merry Gentry series. The book had a great plot, much more so than in Mistral's Kiss 'which I found a little lacking'. There was less sex and it was short ( I finished it in like 4 hours), but it finally had a clear concept of where the series is heading. A great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    A delightful Read

    A Lick Of Frost is book six in the continuing saga of the faerie princess Meredith Gentry by the very prolific writer Laurell K. Hamilton. This book quickly picks up right where the last story ended but is even more enjoyable and well focused. I found it to be a delightful read filled with lots of turns, surprises, and twists. And that's not even mentioning the plotting and intrigue. If you enjoy stories about faeries, politics, and dark intrigue, then you'll love A Lick Of Frost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2007

    Finally...

    ...a book with a story to tell. And what a story! The only bad thing about this book is that it was way too short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    Thank Goddess

    I loved loved this one. I was just sadden by the lost of Frost I love him. I can not wait to read the next one and see what is going to happen with the babies. Good Job on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Very well done

    The main thing I was looking forward to this book was more plot development, and less focus on sex. I got this. The story progresses quite a bit, which was, frankly, needed - the constant sex may have had a purpose plot-wise, but it was getting old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    A good, but 'lightweight', read.

    I have read all of the 'Merry Gentry' series, and generally like it better than the 'Anita Blake' series, as Anita seems to get harder and more weird with every book. I liked the action in 'A Lick of Frost', but was a bit disappointed in how short the book was. You just get past the lengthy (and somewhat overdone) part about the attorney interview and settle in for the good, action-packed stuff and the book is finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    Just when I was ready to give up on the Merry series, Hamilton out does herself with this 'A Lick of Frost!' Even though the title relates to Frost, it has more to do with Rhys, actually, who is my favorite character. 'Frost' actually has a plot and a point. I was very surprised and elated when I finished, except it's kind of a cop out ending...though I cannot wait to see what happens next! Hopefully this trend of good writing continues with Anita Blake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    Worth the read

    Finally the story starts to go some where.Its a great book I would recommend it to all the addicts of this series. Definitely a page turner its a little sad at the end but you truly will want more. I can't wait to see how the story continues to unfold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    I finished reading Lick of Frost and I had to write a review. This is not the type LKH book she has been writing lately. The book was good. The story line moved along quite a bit and conflict was even resolved. Prose was decent not to much time was spend describing how hot the men were 'okay we get it they are hot'. First sex scene was at least a hundred pages into the story 'thank God'. If your following the Merry Gentry series and you lost interest, this will bring you back. LKH--Keep up the good work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Much Better

    If you thought that lately Laurell was getting more into the sex than the story, this is better. Theres no sex till like a hundred pages in. And I read it in one day, I got in trouble like in every class because I was reading it and wouldnt put it down! The one thing that I didnt like though was that she started to throw in some of Anita's love problems into Meredith, and that to me is a No-No. Anita's love problems need to stay out of this book. The ending was sad though, started crying. I want frost back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    A reviewer

    I've been following both series of Anita Blake and Merry Gentry and I've gotta say that I love all of them. This newest one that LKH came out with though was too short. I was so into it that I didn't want it to end. I hope like everyone else who's been reading the Merry Gentry series, that this book was not the last, because if it was then I would be horribly dissapointed. Hopefully the next book is longer and as thrilling as this one was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7