Customer Reviews for

Lidia Cooks from the Heart of Italy: A Feast of 175 Regional Recipes

Average Rating 3
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I love Lidia!!!

I have been waiting for this cookbook for months. The recipes are authentic and easy to follow. My family adores everything I make from her books. Well done, Lidia!

posted by 2121429 on October 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Interesting

This cookbook is fine for reading, but for the American cook, most of the recipes are very involved and complicated. I bought it because I saw Lidia cook rice dishes on T.V. and they sounded good. I haven't tried them yet. I guess if your a really into it Italian cook...
This cookbook is fine for reading, but for the American cook, most of the recipes are very involved and complicated. I bought it because I saw Lidia cook rice dishes on T.V. and they sounded good. I haven't tried them yet. I guess if your a really into it Italian cook this book would be great.

posted by 632357 on December 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    I love Lidia!!!

    I have been waiting for this cookbook for months. The recipes are authentic and easy to follow. My family adores everything I make from her books. Well done, Lidia!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite Cookbook this year!

    My husband and I are huge fans of Lidia's cooking shows. This is my second Lidia cookbook and I LOVE IT. We've been having the best time trying out a new recipe at least once a week. We live in a rural area of New Jersey so we don't always have the best luck finding exact ingredients but we've learned to improvise for the items we can't find. Ignore the nay-sayers...if you like to cook and you like simple delicious food like your Nonna would make...BUY THIS BOOK!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Kitchen Must

    This cookbook follows the TV series Lidia's Italy recipes. It is arranged in a way that you can easily look up a recipe that is taken directly from the series. As a reference book for the series, it's great. It's concise, informative and displays many colorful pictures of the dishes she prepares. The instructions are easy to follow, and the ingredients needed for the many delicious dishes will be easy to find in most supermarkets. If you are a PBS cooking show watcher, this one is a must for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    True Italian Cooking

    Purchased as a Christmas present for my sister who has been to Italy and is an excellent cook. She adores Italian food and especially enjoys preparing Italian dishes for family and friends.

    When I asked if the cookbook was useful I was given a resounding YES! The recipes are delicious and easy to accomplish. She really loved the personnel touch of Lidia discussing the regions from where the recipes originated. If you know someone who loves to cook Italian Food or has been to Italy and would like to cook Italian, this is a good recipe book for them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Interesting

    This cookbook is fine for reading, but for the American cook, most of the recipes are very involved and complicated. I bought it because I saw Lidia cook rice dishes on T.V. and they sounded good. I haven't tried them yet. I guess if your a really into it Italian cook this book would be great.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    Take me to Italy!

    This book has so many wonderful pictures of the true Italy. The travel section makes me want to get on a plane and I have tried some of the recipes and they are easy and my kitchen smells fabulous.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    I have been cooking since I was five and always need new recipes.

    This book is filled with great recipes for the true cook! I just love her and all the info gives on the different sections of Italy and the people in the villages. I look forward to her next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Wonderful

    In the week I have had this book, I have tried four recipes from the first region featured (Trentino-Alto Adige): Country Salad, Spaghetti in Tomato-Apple Sauce, Whole-Grain Spaetzle, and Beef Braised in Beer. All were so simple that I feared the results would be boring, but all turned out to be delicious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good

    I absolutely love Lidia and her cooking. Again, this cookbook is heavy on the fish/seafood recipes, so you must be a seafood lover to get the most out of this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    Have watched all the episodes of Lidia that are in this cookbook and wanted to have "hard copy" of them. Always have good luck with her recipes. Ingredients are easy to find and most recipes are easy to prepare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    One of Lidia's best!

    excellent companion to the pbs show

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    TOURING ITALY

    Another tour of Italy and its magnificent history. Lydia has continued my imaginary visit to the places where I always wanted to visit. Recipes are clearly presented.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Lidia Cooks from the Heart of Italy

    Don't waste your money. Cookbook was very disappointing. It might be okay as a gift. Recipies are not practical. Lidia, sorry but this is not one of your better cookbooks.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4